We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms are tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“rooms are tired”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I'm not really sure how this resort received a Waldorf moniker. The rooms are very tired to say the least, carpeting that is stained and outdated, air conditioning that barely works if at all, ceiling fans that don't work. I went through 4 refrigerators in less than 3 days and none of them worked. The furniture looked like it was straight out of the 70's, white vinyl sofas with striped pillows, all that was missing was shag carpeting.

Now that being said, the rest of the resort was in much better shape. The golf course is beautiful, although very over priced as is everything in PR, so you just deal with it. The staff in the restaurants and bars were very good, Drakes Martini Bar and the Italian restaurant had the best people working there, they really took good care of me during my stay.

The private island is very nice, but if you go during the off season it's not very well staffed.

The reception area needs more employees that are actually working, there were plenty of them standing around doing nothing, but only 1 person working. It took almost 30 minutes for me to check in when I was the only person checking in. I'm a Diamond Member with Hilton, and I've had better check in experiences at Hampton Inn's in the middle of nowhere.

There is a bar called 21 that is so loud you can't even hear the person next to you if you're trying to talk. They play only local Spanish music there and it's so loud I could barely order a drink when the "DJ" was playing. A lot of fun games etc... in this bar, but go before they crank up the salsa music to save your ear drums.

Room Tip: Beautiful resort, nice people for the most part, very overpriced for food, drinks etc... average dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maestro64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,906
    2,358
    1,194
    705
    421
See reviews for
2,932
2,056
85
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raceland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Pros: This property offers great views of the atlantic and the carribean ocean! There are several pools, restaurants and a water park. There is an arcade and various activities planned throughout the day. If you like Golf, the course looked gorgeous. People (other than front desk and concierge are friendly. Look at the picture which was taken from the resort itself. It says it all!

Cons: The parking fees is outrageous for the price you pay to stay here. It should definitely be included in the resort fees. Second, its way too far from the san juan downtown area. You definitely have to rent a car or be ready to pop a LOT of money for the daily tours. Most people that stay there don't mind paying that kind of money, I guess. Third, there is no beach to take a morning stroll. The beach is a short boat ride away (one of the few things that are included in the stay).. However, I have seen better beaches. Fourth, Front desk people are not friendly at all. Its not that they did anything wrong. But none of them even smile! You are almost hesitant to ask anything. Fifth, they need concierge who knows something about the local area. I had better knowledge and maps than they did. The bellman was more friendly and had useful information than the concierge!

Tips: RENT a car!! You are going to need one. This review is not for the average person that says there since most of them can afford to :-) Its mostly aimed at people who splurge once in a LONG while and aren't used to paying fees for every little thing!

Summary: Great place if you can afford the extra fees. Definitely needs some friendly front desk personnel..

Room Tip: If you take a garden view room to save money, don't even bother. If you don't have an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinku928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I took my family to El Con b/c I was there last year and wanted them to experience the beauty. I'm so glad I did and they were so blown away by all the kind staff members but most of all by the wonderful service by the front desk lady (Giovanni) and exceptional service by Manny Melendez! Manny was commited to ensuring my family and I had a wonderful experience and we did. The breathtaking oceanviews and phenomenal customer service definitely means I'll come back and bring more family! Only drawback was the casino was gone and replaced by a game room with fees. But I guess it saved me a little more money in the end. Great trip!!!

Room Tip: You'll definitely want an oceanview room on a higher level. And if you're staying with a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KyPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We would stay here again for sure.

Pros:
- Excellent service from front desk, restaurant servers and staff, scuba shop, and the GM of the hotel literally was everywhere during our stay popping in to make sure things were in order
- The private island time
- We stayed in an ocean view suite which was amazing. Two balconies, a bar, a living area, 2 bathrooms. Very beautiful and spacious
- Breakfast for platinum Hilton members is free and very nice.

Cons:
- The food and drinks are expensive. And for the price, the food is just OK, especially the lunch options. You can easily spend $40 at lunch just eating a wrap/sandwich and a drink for two. We explored Puerto Rico for food options and had the best food off of the resort and much cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

very kid friendly but rooms needed updating and nowhere near what i would have expected from a waldorf. Disappointed had to pay extra for waterpark at hotel with three cute slides.Compared to the Coral hotel at atlantis.hibachi restaurant way overpriced steakhouse nice.private island and pools very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

hotel was expensive, quality of room was average. beach was a ferry ride away, inconvenient with little kids. food was expensive and average quality. service was average. 1location is great, view from room las brisas was nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Jahanzeb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Staying here as we speak. Checked in on 12/25, checking out on 1/1.
We have full ocean view room. With taxes, surcharges, breakfast and intermittently working wi-fi it comes out to more than $650/night.
The view is great but the room is mediocre. No balcony to speak of, none of the amenities (bathrobes, etc.) one would expect in a Waldorf, the bathroom looks like one would find in a motel and, get this, the closet to hang your clothes is in the bathroom. The TV is 27 in (maybe), the decor is dated and the place doesn't look too clean. When we saw our room I called the front desk and asked to speak to the manager who refused, politely, to even discuss changing our room.
To prove the point that this is a place past its prime, the gym has 4 treadmills and 3 don't work.
This is a Caribbean resort that does not have a beach on site. If you want to go to the beach you have to take the resort's ferry to Palomino island. The ride is about 20 min but the wait can be close to 30 min.
Don't get fooled by the ads. It is not your own private island. The resort owns a small section of it with a nice, not exceptional by Caribbean standards, beach.
The rest of the experience is standard resort fare: nice grounds, lots of pools, bars, restaurants, generally friendly staff, etc.
Our rate includes breakfast which is served buffet style at Las Brisas restaurant. It's OK, nothing special. The first day we had to wait a while to get seated (for breakfast at a $650/night place, never happened to me before) and my girlfriend stood in line for 20 min at the omelette station.
We've had dinner at a couple of the restaurants so far, Bella Vista and Sting Ray. Food was fine and prices same as in NYC except that food in NYC is better at those prices.
All included a mediocre experience so far. We're happy anyway because we are at the beach in December but there are many better places to stay, I'm sure.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NY_PA_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,202 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing