We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Every time we visit Puerto Rico we try to escape for at least one day to El Conquistador. We booked the room via the hotel website for $199 + Taxes and it included a $50 Credit to be used at hotel.

We had a Garden Room viewing the tennis court. Very nice. Unfortunetly the room was next to a staff room that during the night very loud carts where being moved which made it a challenge to sleep for an amour or so, But with the nice soft heavenly beds I felt KO.

The view from EL Conquistador to the Atlantic Sea is breath taking. Palomino is a gem. We order to bushwhacker and they where delicious.

Well until next year...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,776
    2,297
    1,163
    688
    402
See reviews for
2,792
1,978
84
881
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here the week of New Years. It was packed, as expected, mainly with families. This resort is definitely for families with young kids - the casino was replaced with a game room, there's a water park, and it seemed like almost everyone had a child with them. The place is huge, we had to take the funicular to our room, cool at first, really annoying by the end when we would have to wait 10 minutes for it to come. The rooms are nice, I don't know why people say they are outdated, ours in Las Brisas were huge with a really nice balcony. The ferry to Palomino island is a great experience, the beach is gorgeous and its a cool island to explore. The food is pretty good too, it's just really expensive. There is definitely a huge drop in quality for the less expensive restaurants, I recommend you leave the resort, even without a car, take a $10 cab to La Estacion right outside the gate - food was delicious. Overall we had a good stay at this resort, spectacular views and lots to explore, but the food, drinks, and rooms are overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I traveled with our 3 grown sons (ages 21, 19 and 17) to El Conquistador December 23 - 30 and had a really nice week! Being a Hilton Diamond member, Maricely could not have been more accommodating, working with my husband before our arrival. We rented a large jeep from Avis near the airport - this proved to be MUCH cheaper than paying the shuttle fee to/from the hotel, and allowed us the opportunity to leave the resort at our convenience. We paid the extra $5/day for valet parking, rather than self-parking (which we read was quite a distance away).
We had 2 adjoining rooms in the Brisas wing, both with large bathrooms and balconies overlooking the ocean and Palomino Island. We loved having the convenience of the Starbucks and shopping downstairs, as well as the restaurants, bars and pool tables/shuffleboard table. We had breakfast at the buffet each morning, but only because it was free due to my husband's diamond status. (We never would have paid $25 per person for the small amount that we eat for breakfast.) We also had access to the gym, which included @ 6 treadmills, plenty of weights and a few other machines.
Palomino Island is really nice, with plenty of water sports, basketball, soccer, ping pong and a variety of other activities. There is an open-air restaurant where you can get lunch (we would place our order and take it back to our beach chairs) and working bathrooms on the island. The water was beautiful and there are plenty of lounge chairs. Because it was a very busy week, we purposely took the ferry over on the first trip (9 a.m.) to ensure that we could secure chairs along with a hut for shade. The large iguanas roaming around the island were fun to watch!
We went to Happy Hour at Drake's (upstairs from the hotel lobby) every day, where our boys played pool and we were able to visit with other families staying at the hotel. The two female bartenders were wonderful! We had a delicious dinner at the Italian Restaurant, El Piccola, one night. Our dinner at Chops was very good, but was over-priced and we were seated in a back dining room that had too many lights on and had many young noisy children in it. We were unable to sit anywhere else because they were at full capacity. This was a disappointment, as was Ballyhoo (down by the marina) which was much more casual, but sub-average food. We did venture off-site on three occasions for dinner: El Estacion was delicious and has a great outdoor dining area, as well as a cute little bar. (After taking a right out of the compound, the restaurant is about 1/2 mile down on the left.) Our favorite restaurant was so good that we went on 2 separate nights: Calizo (about 1/4 past El Estacion, on the right) was fantastic! Jose and Hector made our visits so special, and were both very attentive. Order their Sangria ... so good! And their seafood paella was outstanding, with a whole lobster tail, clams and mussels. A big hit with everyone!
The resort definitely looks a bit "tired" in different areas, and could certainly use some updating. However, the VERY friendly staff (from parking, to check-in, to cleaning staff, to buffet hostess, to boat crew), beautiful weather and wonderful people you meet will transform you into a relaxed guest in no time at all!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Connecticut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is probably one of the biggest resorts I have been to. It is an entire village located on the top of a cliff with a private marina (accessible through a funicular), a beautiful private island (with 10' ferry transfer every hour from 9am to 5pm), 3 pools, a water park, golf courses, tennis courts and much more.
Well maintained, with beautiful/amazing views and surroundings. Tons of food and restaurant choices (including an in-house Starbuks) from affordable to expensive. Our favorite was the restaurant facing the private marina.
Recommend an Ocean Front room at the LA VISTA wing or at LAS BRISAS. The 2 other wings are very remote and you have to take a Funicular to reach (Las Olas and La Marina).
Probably one of the best 4* resorts in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chayato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Save your money!!! The food is overpriced and mediocre at best. The management is incompetent and the place badly needs a facelift. Very disappointed with the entire week there.
The private island is the only thing this resort has going for it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jaxcouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Came back from 6 nights in Las Brisas wing of El Conquistador with my family. Signed up for the waterpark package for the kids. The property is gorgeous but when you take a closer look at the facilities, it is clear that they need to put millions of dollars into the resort for a major facelift...particularly in the rooms. Las Brisas was supposed to be the "nicest room"....décor is from the 70's....yes, bathroom is large but shower had old tile with dried rust dripping down (they attempted to re-grout). There were tiny ants on the tv console (they sprayed). And, there was a brown hole in my mattress (they brought a new one). Palomino island is fantastic for kids-so much to do. Kids played ping pong, basketball, did SCOUT adventure hunt, etc. Beach was fantastic. Pools and waterpark were nice too. We ate dinner only 2 nights on property..the other four we ate out in Fajardo. NYE dinner at Chops was delicious but $$$$.
I felt that the room rate was way too high considering the quality of the actual room. Resort gave me some room credit for all the nasty things in my room, as they should've. The hotel was fully booked so they couldn't move us to any other room. Game room was great for kids after dinner and the icecream shop was nice to have on site. Again, beautiful grounds, we had great weather....Property needs serious TLC. They should replace the ripping and stained carpet in the hallways to start....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMF31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The resort sits up top a cliff overlooking the ocean, breathtaking views. Palomino Island, the resort's private island/beach is amazing. Water is crystal clear, coral reefs everywhere, hiking trails to the top of island leads you to even more spectacular views. This is where the positives end... I believe the resort formerly was a Wyndham resort and hasn't been renovated in quite some time. The resort is very dated, no infinity pool, rooms show a lot of age, water damage on the walls, very musty and damp, etc. The food options are limited on the resort, fine dining is anything but over priced average at best food. Cafe's, breakfast buffet, and pool side bar is morbidly over priced and the food is average at best. If you have a car or taxi, 5 mins from the resort are local hole in the wall bakeries that serve amazing deserts and sandwiches on sweet breads and not to mention are significantly less than on the resort. You really are paying for the Waldorf-Astoria name when staying here. Would I come back, probably not... I would be ashamed to classify this resort as part of the Waldorf-Astoria family of hotels and resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor or same as the lobby with atleast a partial ocean view. Lower floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,778 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing