We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Great stay for adults and kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is our 3rd year celebrating Easter at El Con. The accommodations are always comfortable and clean. We love the Las Brisas bfast and Stingray as well as the beach and waterpark which is exceptionally clean and well-kept. Staff this trip was very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Public Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for visiting El Con for the third time and for choosing us as your Easter getaway. We are happy to see you not only enjoyed the various on-site amenities but also the warm hospitality for our team members. We hope to see you again next Easter (if not sooner).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,676 - 3,682 of 7,744 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I decided to honeymoon at the El Conquistador. We cancelled after 2 days of bland, overpriced food, overpriced cocktails and a resort that overall has its best years behind it. Palomino island was beautiful but no beach on earth can be enjoyed while paying 15$ for pitifully small mojitos and cheeseburgers a step above McDonalds quality for an equally horrendous price.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your candid feedback. Your comments have been shared with our food and beverage department for necessary action. The resort is currently working on various enhancements including new lobby furniture and corridor carpeting as well as happy hours and food specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Staff is poorly manged, they are not hospitable at all, barely friendly, under staffed possibly. The actual hotel was mediocre at best, nothing to justify the price tag we paid. I assume since it was a Waldorf hotel it ould be top of the line. Nope!! Food: nothing spectacular, very greasy, fried food. steak house wasn't hat it should be. Alcohol: again with these island destinations, the alcohol is very cheap quality, and way over priced. Find somewhere else to stay in Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: the rooms are very spread out, so if you cant tolerate walking, make sure you ask to stay close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your candid feedback as it allows us to identify areas of opportunity. We are sorry to see we did not exceed your expectations. Your observations have been shared with our management team for action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at El con for 4 nights. Lovely property and beautiful views. We used our HHonors points to upgrade to Marina with a partial ocean view. Rooms are old and not on par with the property. They may not be contemporary but are neat and nice. It is good for families with kids. All at one place and accessible. But if you are looking to explore places, you either have to rent a car or take the tours.
Palamino was beautiful. El Cariba has nice food and we ate there for almost all of our stay. The concierge is helpful and always available for help. Enjoyed the stay!

Room Tip: Marina is close to the ferry, restaurants and has nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVacationExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for sharing your review with us and for being a valued Hilton Honors member. We are happy to see that both of you enjoyed your time at the resort including Palomino Island. Thank you for acknowledging the warm hospitality you received from our team including our Concierge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The property is beautiful with magnificent ocean views and friendly, helpful staff, however, there is no easily accessible beach and the island beach is small and takes some planning as getting there and back can be very time consuming. Also you will be charged for everything except your chair and towel on the island (want and umbrella? that will be $15).

Get a car and explore.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your candid comments and are happy to see you enjoyed your overall stay and the friendliness of our team members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the El conquistador for 6 nights over spring break. We had a beautiful view, stayed overlooking the Marina. Loved this location, with twin 10 year olds we were right next to the Coqui water park, and could see the ferry pulling in to take over to Palomino Island. The room itself was not fancy, and there was a smell of mildew in the hallway, but if you could overlook that, the view from our balcony was beautiful. The room was comfortable enough. Palomino Island was my favorite, found a beach chair under the palm trees away from the crowds, just spectacular. The main pool was nice, but overcrowded, impossible to get a chair unless you got there early. The people who worked there were all super nice without an exception, and even though the resort was crowded, most of the guest were also real nice and very patient. The funicular was a pain, always a wait, the gym horrible for such a big hotel. No Purell to be found anywhere. The food was expensive but we found The Stingray Cafe to be pretty good, and sitting outside by the marina made for a beautiful dinner. Take a cab to El Stacion, right outside the grounds, great food and atmosphere. Loved having a Starbucks on site! We had a wonderful 6 days, glad we stayed at El conquistador, but would stay elsewhere next time, just to be on the beach instead and experience a different part of PR.

Room Tip: Room 1322 by the Marina had a great view! Kind of away from things, but I would not have liked stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZul920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Since they are part of Hilton - it appeared most families had cashed in their HHonor Points and loaded up for the familiy vacation. The physical place is amazing with lots to do on property. But everything is overpriced and customer service is average - not 4 star. We stayed in a Marina Suite near the water park - highly recommend these rooms. It is a little bit of a walk to main property but was nice to ride the tram up/down. If you have a car - eat off property - many choices and all better food/lower price

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
26.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
30.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
8.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: £165 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing