We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Paradise" What a beautiful resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"Paradise" What a beautiful resort!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just completed a six day and five night stay at the El Conquistador Resort. The resort is beautiful and the service from everyone was excellent. Miguel, VIP Guest Experience Manager, made our stay perfect with his caring and great service. Marilyn, front desk representation, also went out of her way to ensure that our vacation and celebrations were recognized and made very special.

Our suite was spotless and spacious. Everything was in working order. We experienced no problems with any of our requests to housekeeping. Our requests were always filled promptly. Kathryn, our suite keeper, was very efficient and friendly. We also had excellent room service delivery from Rafael. The views from the patios in our suite were breathtaking.

We did not find navigating the resort to be a problem. There was never a long line at the funicular down to the marina or the ferry to the island.

The pools were also beautiful, immaculate and there was plenty of shade. We discovered a secluded hot tub which overlooked the ocean.

Thank you Miguel and Marilyn again for making our stay very special.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Marina are far from the Lobby and Pools. Main Building higher level beautiful view of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Island2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Guest Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to see you had such a memorable experience during your recent stay at the resort from the hot tub with the ocean view to the friendliness of our team member. We hope to welcome you back to "paradise" again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,818
    2,313
    1,168
    690
    405
See reviews for
2,818
2,008
84
889
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is very nice, the rooms are spacious, clean, and nice. They also have a little water park: "The coqui water park", with some slides and a crazy river that you can enjoy. Also the hotel have a private beach: "Palominito". you need to take a boat to get to the beach and it is included with your stay, the water is so clear and nice and you can rent kayaks or eat or walk through the little island, is really nice. The only thing it is a little expensive but sometimes they have offers, overall, it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenzuog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for sharing your review from your stay in November. We are happy to see that both of you enjoyed your overall experience including the many activities at Palomino Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great hotel,good location if your looking for to gateway from the city crow,I spend there four days there this is my second time at this hotel,like the staff great people,the only inconvinience we have was the self parking ligths was horrible you can not see at night and also we dint feel secure because was so dark back there the we have to make sure we come back to the hotel before dark.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank 53harryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review and candid feedback. Your comments have been shared with our management team for review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your weekend getaway at the resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

having read the reviews posted by others we were questioning booking the El Conquistador - so glad we didn't back out though! the resort is beautiful, the amenities outstanding! the only reason that I didn't score "excellent" is because there are some areas that need some TLC. I've read previous post about a mildew smell yet we didn't experience this at all. Food is pricey yet typical for a resort. In the 7 days we were there we had dinner outside of the resort twice, pricing was comparable to the resort. Palomino Island is not only beautiful but also offers something to do for everyone! My 19 year old son was kept entertained by renting a jet ski, paddle board, pick-up games of basketball while we relaxed on our beach loungers. Hiked up to the top of the Island as a family - views are outstanding! would definitely go back.
We rented a car in San Juan, $165 for 7 days plus $10 in gas, which gave us the freedom to explore. Highly recommend kayaking bio-bay, pick a night that the moon is at its smallest (we had crescent). The hiked to La Mina Falls in the rainforest is a MUST! take the time to get off the path in certain areas to swim in the small pools, and once you get down to the fall climb the rocks to head further down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyExperience976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Guest Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to see that you and your family had a memorable vacation from enjoying the many activities and experiences at Palomino Island to also exploring the beauty of the nearby attractions of the rain forest and biobay! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I expected this to be an awesome place because it's a Waldorf Astoria resort. Unfortunately, the rooms did not measure up. The hotel is in an absolutely beautiful location and the beach island is a great added perk. But, the rooms were nothing special in my eyes. The food was also very expensive and only ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSandStyleSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for sharing your review from your stay in March. Since your stay we have been working on a variety of enhancements to the public areas and guestroom corridors as well as new offerings from a food and beverage standpoint as well as offers on food and happy hours. We are happy to see you enjoyed the beauty of the resort's location and Palomino Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband - who is severely handicapped, in a wheelchair- and I, took a few days to just get away from home. In his condition, we really didn't think we could do much. Wrong! From the very moment we arrived to El Conquistador, we were treated like VIP. Everyone, and I mean everyone, was so helpful, attentive,diligent, serviceable, we were able to do so many unthinkable things in his condition. Everyone helped us way beyond duty. Took us everywhere. Just asking a question was enough for anyone to leave whatever they were doing, take my husband's wheelchair- very heavy, indeed, and take us all the way to the ferry to Palomino Island, where we were received as if we owned the hotel. We were delighted. Everyone's effort to get my husband to the shore, enjoy the beautiful cristaline waters, help him with everything, was overwhelming. So sincere, genuine people you don't find easily. The second day we got lost looking for the pools. Someone asked us if we needed help and I just mentioned we were trying to find the pool area. He didn't tell us how to get there. He personally accompanied us all the way, took the elevators, guided us right to the pool area, insisted on finding a shade for my husband, took care of everything until he was sure we were fine and comfortable. I just looked at his name tag - Dermot Connolly- and thanked him. What a surprise when later we found out he was the managing director of the El Conquistador Resort. He is the living example of the excellent service all the hotel employees honor. We are so happy we chose El Conquistador Resort. We will be going back every single time we can, whether it is a whole week or even if it's only a couple of days. We are delighted and really felt it was a vacation in Paradise. There is so many persons we want to thank for making this experience memorable for both of us. Jorge, from baggage to Palomino, Juan Enrique, from the ferry, we will be forever grateful, ran like crazy to help my husband when he fell, Emmanuelle, also for his help from the ferry to the beach, Leo at Palomino, looking for all ways to take care of my husband and make his visit enjoyable, Tito, at baggage and so much help. And last but not least, Managing Director Dermot Connolly, for being a contagious example of the excellent VIP service everyone receives from arrival to "hope to be back soon". Only one thing would have made the vacation more than perfect. Our last day we saw a gentleman on a Mobility Scooter. If we would have known the hotel makes arrangements for renting them in whatever size or weight requirements, it would have been just perfect. Next time. Thanks to all at El Conquistador for an unforgettable vacation. See you soon.

Room Tip: We asked for a wheelchair accesible room, without bathtub, roll in shower, and a special bariatric s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lidia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a raving review of your most recent stay at El Conquistador. I am happy to hear about the excellent service you and your husband received from all of our employees. Our goal is exceed all our guests' expectations. Thank you again and so glad we will be seeing you and your family in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
438 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have stayed in this location two times in the past 3 years. I was hoping that during my most recent stay in January, 2014 that the hotel would have updates. Unfortunately, it is still in desperate need of help. The room is spacious and clean, the bathroom was excellent, however it just smells of mildew. To help, I would leave the balcony slider open which was okay. But keep in mind the level of humidity in PR, so it makes the room sticky very quickly. With that said, the property really is beautiful. Flanked by the rainforest on one side, and the beautiful waters on the other, it really is magnificent. The staff is genuine and friendly. And if you like really strong coffee - you will love theirs! Also note this property is about 1 hour from the airport.

Room Tip: If you are there for a convention, having a room at the Marina will be very inconvenient as you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 150hotelnightsayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay and of course for returning to the property a second time in 2014. I can tell you that we are constantly doing deep cleaning of the rooms in an effort to combat some of the elements of being in Puerto Rico. We are also in the process of replacing all the hallway carpets in both the Olas and Las Brisas building at the resort. We thank you for your loyalty and hope to see back at El Conquistador in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,883 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing