We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to be Renovated ASAP!!!!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs to be Renovated ASAP!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I would like to say that when I checked and got to the room I had about 30 dead masqitos in the room beware!!! They changed my room but later on that night the TV wasn't working and after we got that fixed the a.c stopped working and they tried fixing but couldn't!!! Anyway this place needs to be Renovated and put in t.l.c !! It's rundown and needs a lot of work!!! The scenery is beautiful but the pools need to be more cleaner and taken care of!!! Also beware they don't allow coolers in the hotel for some reason and parking cost money here $21 for valet!! Also the price you see does not include resort fee and tax which add up to another almost $50 depending on what rate you get!!! Another thing is if your gonna go kayaking at night for the illumination.... whatever know that it's 5 min walking from the hotel and that you will only pay $50 instead of $75 from my experience I did not see anything only got into the trees and bitten lol so good luck!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to see that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. Your candid feedback has been shared with our management team to better enhance our guest experience. The resort is currently working on a variety of enhancements from new lobby furniture to new carpeting as well as new menu offerings.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed the overall setting of the resort - thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,724
    2,258
    1,137
    674
    397
See reviews for
2,708
1,951
83
871
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

When we arrive at location, Our room was ok, bathroom was clean .The property is beautiful and includes many shops, restaurants and bars.

The hotel restaurant (Chops steakhouse) was very good, clean and the food was top quality too. The creme brule at the italian restaurant was delicious . Bella vista cafe a nice bar/restaurant overlooking pool and the ocean-, we had a good time there thanks to Leydi.
Another bar we went to, was the martini bar. What a beautiful bar with an even more beautiful
terrace, and great service. the best dirty martini Ive tasted. But in this particular day we decide
to go in, order some cigars .Were sitting outside, smoking having a good time. The server
came out to ask us if we needed anything,but we only wanted to smoke in the terrace.. Then a woman with dark hair, a very loud tone and an attitude came to our table to say that we needed to drink if we wanted to keep the bar open.( apparently , they were having a slow night thats why the bar was closing 10:30.) One of my friends told her we only wanted to finish our cigars and then we would leave, but she, and in a very unprofessional way, insisted that she needed to close the bar and that she would give us 10 minutes to finish our cigars!. So I asked to speak with the manager. she laughed, and said, "here you have it in front of you". Her name was Desire (we saw the name tag) . No complains about service ,servers were nice, but this so called manager needs to get away from this hotel. She was rude! Not even an apology.
We took advantage of the complimentary boat ride over to Palomino Island where you can ride horses, swim , jetski, etc.
OVERALL, it was a good experience. Food was a bit pricey, but delicious.
Thanks to all the staff. Especially to Jorge, Leydi, Jelisa, Jose, and Tito who looked after us so well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveTorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at El Conquistador and for taking the time to share some of your feedback from your stay. It is great to hear of the great dining experiences and other good service that was provided to you. I do want to apologize for the bad experience you had with one employee as this kind of response is not what we strive to be at El Conquistador. We certainly do appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back at El Conquistador very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was after a long and busy work day. I just got home and he told me "Let's go eat" and I said "OK". After reading previous reviews on the restaurant, we decided to give it a shot and in 35 minutes we were in one of the greatest resorts in Puerto Rico. Just the fresh air you're able to breath and the view were worth the drive, but it was just the beginning. We got to the restaurant and the great attention and service started. I can't find the perfect words to describe it, but it was a great night. I love the decoration and the atmosphere there, but the food...OMG...the food is so amazing. From appetizers to dessert, it was a delicious experience. All the elements in every dish worked perfectly and then, although I always go for creme bruleé, I was strongly advised to try the chocolate cake...and believe me, it is The Chocolate Cake and was the perfect ending!!! To all that I must point out the excellent service we received from Jorge and Wilson, both of them took care of our wonderful evening. As I started my review, it was after a long and busy work day, but as soon as I got there I forgot about my day and tiredness...It was worth it...it was therapeutic!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Wow...what a raving review of Chops Steakhouse! Thank you for sharing your feedback and we love when our "Locals" come and visit the restaurant. Hopefully you can come back again soon and stay at the property while you are here.....a weekend that includes Palomino Island can be very relaxing! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Second time @ El Conquistador. 1st time for business in 2011 (during Hurricane Irene) and this time for REST!
Awesome Front Desk Staff Otto who check us into a room with a breathtaking view which was needed for "rest and relaxation" and Marisol who checked us out... Marisol was patient and took time to review and explain our bill and was very personable... she made you feel as if you already knew her!
Great servers at the pool and Virgin Burger...Landsy was the most gracious and, humble server that I have ever met...genuine: , loved her job and attentive to our every need. Natalia was so very professional and very personable and friendly. The food director approached us to inquire about a new sandwich the Tripalato, which was fantastic...taking the Cuban to a new level! Lunch and Dinner was awesome and the prices were not outrageous if you are used to traveling and visiting nice resorts..
We loved the El Conquistador and will refer this resort to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Guest Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Brenda,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you returning to the resort for your second stay. We are happy to see that you were able to get the rest and relaxation you were looking for and that you were able to not only enjoy the on-site amenities and the food but also the warm hospitality from our team members! We hope to welcome you back for your third stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a good time...private island makes this place unique. Not sure if this is worth $400 a night though as there were plenty of negatives. The food was below average, too greasy and expensive. Room were a little old, but everything was nice and clean. No complains about service.

I don't like places that nickel and dime you and this hotel fits into that bracket.

One more negative was we took a trip to the small desolate island - Palominito just off their private island. The jet ski operator forgot to pick us up and we were stranded there for more than an hour. We kept calling the hotel but they seemed to have lost control of the situation. it was bad, but we received no apologies when we got back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelllholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Guest Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review; we appreciate your candid feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced while jet skiing. Since your stay in January we have been working on a variety of enhancements throughout the resort public areas and guestroom corridors and meeting space. In addition, our culinary team has been working on new food and beverage offerings throughout our restaurants and cafes to better enhance our guest experience.

We are happy to see you enjoyed your overall stay and Palomino Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

500 acre huge resort with beautiful grounds. Staff was very friendly. Kids loved water park and island beach. Beach a little rocky/corally in places. No beach on main island have to take fairy to Palamino Island. We used HHonors check-in desk which was pretty quick but the main line to check-in and when we checked-out seemed to take 20-30 minutes. It was nice to have an Enterprise rental car on-site. Took a Jeep to the rain forest. Driving wasn't too bad just have to expect that someone will pull out in front of you without signalling just like crazy drivers in the States. Went to the Kiosk off of route 3 on Sunday night to dinner and parking was very difficult. Kiosks seems like a biker/late teen hangout.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Guest Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Jeffrey,

Thanks for your review. We are delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at the resort from Palomino Island to Coqui Water Park. We are happy to see you explored the beauty of Puerto Rico while visiting the rainforest! We hope to welcome your family back during your next trip to Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience spending time with friends and family for a beautiful wedding. Many amazing views from the hotel and the private island that you have access to. There are endless things to do and many different pools to choose from.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Public Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Brian,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see that both of you had a delightful time at the resort. I am glad your friends and family were able to not only enjoy the wedding festivities but also the various on-site amenities and activities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
26.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing