We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my Favorite in PR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my Favorite in PR”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at many hotels in PR and El Conquistador is one of my favorites for a couple of reasons. The first and most importantly is the private little island (Palomino) that you have access to while a guest at the hotel. The hotel has a nice Ferry that takes you there. The ferry runs every 15 min. until 5 or 6pm. At the island, there is a casual rest. and bar. They also have water equipment (snorkels, etc.) to rent as well as jet skies, hobbie cats... Second, the hotel's surroundinds are nice and some of the views are breathtaking. I always medidate at a certain spot on the grounds of the hotel because the view and energy is just Amazing. The rooms are also clean and modern. However, I don't usually eat breakfast or dinner there cause is overpriced. But if you are ever in PR and you can afford a stay at this hotel Go For It!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We appreciate the time taken to provide feedback from your most recent stay at El Conquistador Resort. It is great to hear about the pleasant stay that you experienced. Please visit us again very soon. We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,904
    2,359
    1,194
    705
    421
See reviews for
2,932
2,056
85
897
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

our stay was great and the staff very professional and friendly. the staff at the brisas restaurant did an outstanding service especially Rafael and Stacey. We are already planning our next stay at El Conquistador.

Room Tip: stay at the marina, it might take a little longer to get to the room but the view and the bay is bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmynaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback from your recent stay at El Conquistador Resort. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and so glad to hear of your intent to return very soon. To us, that is the best compliment you can provide. We are eagerly awaiting your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We really enjoyed staying here and I would definitely stay here again. We were only in Fajardo for a short period of time and had so much to do that we actually didn't get to spend a lot of time enjoying the amenities of the hotel. We only ate at the hotel once (at the restaurant that overlooks the pool) and we were not impressed. We enjoyed having access to Palomino Island from the hotel and spent some time over there (which I would say is the best reason to stay at this hotel). We had a rental car which we were happy to have and went on a bio bay tour with Kayak Puerto Rico and a Culebra day trip with East Island Excursions which were both great and a quick drive from the hotel. If you are out in Fajardo dont miss out on Culebra- it was so great. We did not upgrade our room to an ocean view and really didnt miss it- the view on the other side of the mountains was just as great. the hotel was incredibly clean and the one minor issue we has was addressed quickly and with good customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKenzieReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We really appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at El Conquistador. The resort can be a perfect gateway to many activities on the east side of the island including the Yunque Rain Forest, Culebra, Vieques, and the Bio Bay. So glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of these during your stay. Hope to see you back in Puerto Rico and at El Conquistador very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

First off this place is huge! But fear not, they have a lift system in place to take you from one part of the property to the next. There's also ferry service to Palomino island which is great. A kid friendly water park. Close proximity to the ferry to Culebra or Viequez. Business center, game room, a few restaurants and it's very own Starbucks. My room was way bigger than most comparable hotels in San Juan and the stay was enjoyable without compare!

Room Tip: I'm not the type to stay in the room all day so I guess I didn't need the ocean view... but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
It is a pleasure to hear that we won your heart and loyalty. We certainly strive to do that with each and every guest. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, as we know you have many options out there. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here for many years. Unfortunately, the El Conquistador continues to decline. The first room we were given did not have a working air conditioner and the hot tub in the lower pool area was broken, cold only. I had to wait over an hour for a manager to approve a new room. The next room had air conditioning issues also. Long first night and no discount or credit was given while I wasted my first vacation day. The spa in the upper pool area was hot but over a foot of water low and was not clean or filtering water. The food was not very good this trip and very expensive. I have to say, I can not recommended this hotel any longer. Don't waste your money. Stay at the Gran Melia or Wyndham Rio Mar they are half the price and much cleaner and newer with better service. We had a great time at Palomino Island. We had fun in Culebra. The hotel was a huge disappointment.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing a detailed review. We appreciate you being a returning guest.

We are sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay. Your candid comments have been shared with our management team. We are continuing to work on various enhancements throughout the resort and public areas to new food and beverage offerings and specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is huge and you have to be prepared to do a good walk to reach your room. I loved the trolly ( I had to take the trolly to go to my room, how cool was that!!!) and view and theferry to the island. Breakfast was expensive and average water park

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Shilpa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Guest Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay and the unique experiences at the resort from the funicular (tram) to your room to the ferry ride to Palomino Island.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

They offer so much to do here.
Everybody is nice, friendly and helpful.
The location is great - the view is beautiful.
Just had an aqua gymnastic class with Rita. She is great and I had a lot of fun doing my exercises with her.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel77479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for your review. We are glad you had a great experience during your stay with us from enjoying the on-site amenities and the friendly service from our team to the unique aquatic spa wellness class!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,199 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing