We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beautiful beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful beautiful beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife, our 2 year old daughter and I just came back from a highly enjoyable 4 night stay at El Conq resort in Fajardo! This resort is very family friendly which was our main priority. Everyone has kids and no one seemed bothered by ours! The resort has fancy restaurants as well as your basic burger joints but the food is good everywhere. The views are the main attraction of this property and they do not disappoint. The only reason I did not give a 5 star review is because there is quite a lot of walking involved from parking to the beach. Also, the beach (private island) and water park close at 5 which is a bit early if you ask me. We were living on the resort so what are we suppose to do after 5? The water park is a bit expensive (should be free) but go after 4 pm and its half price! We loved the resort and PR in general and will definitely go back one day!

Room Tip: Call and discuss what you are looking for because its a huge property and every area has its own pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,772
    2,294
    1,161
    687
    401
See reviews for
2,783
1,976
84
881
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

First off know that this resort is huge and the overall rating of the property may reflect the room location and "era" of the make over. We were originally in the pool view four story side of the complex to the right of check in and due to an order "mildew or mold" only stayed in the room one night before having to move. In other hotels if there is a problem with the room they ask if you need assistance and offer to move you - neither of which happened at this property. The new room while noisy due to location by elevator and lobby was convenient and definitely a step up from the initial room that we were given. Being a diamond Hilton member I thought that a room upgrade should have been more forthcoming instead it was not until I complained that the room originally assigned was not habitable. Also the cable tv wire in the original room was broken??? They had to fix this as well as we could not get any tv stations.

The pool areas and there are again a multiple of them are a plaintiff lawyers dream - all surfaces are extremely slippery and very poorly labeled. Navigating the bathrooms around the pool takes the balance of a trapeze artist. Aside from the waterpark area which you pay extra for there is not a lot of kids activities. They should really break out the three main pools to adults only, kids area with slide and other activities and mixed use pool. There is no music at any of the pool areas, which is much different vibe than at the Marriot in the Condado area of San Juan (a different review). The only bright spot of the main pool area was the bar and wait staff and manager who went out of there way to ensure that everything was to your liking. The food and drinks at the pool bar were of an extremely good value considering the "Waldorf" name and compared to other resorts including the aforementioned Marriot. The breakfast buffet was just OK and if not given as free would not have eaten there. There was limited changes of the breakfast menu and a lot less options than the Marriott. Hilton staff should go see what a great breakfast buffet looks like by visiting the Marriott in Condado or St. Thomas. Avoided the other restaurants at the hotel and chose to ate out at some delicious local area places. I would suggest that you rent a car and explore from this hotel so you are not trapped. Too many places within 5 to 15 minutes to mention.

The kids enjoyed the water park but keep in mind there are only 3 different slides. There is no beach directly at this resort so you take a catermeran over to their semi-private island where you can sit and swim in the ocean and there is food and beverages on the island but we did not try any of the food there.

They advertise a spa program for kids but it was almost $200 - what a joke and disappointment for my 10 year old daughter when I told her she could go. They have a kids crusade type scavenger hunt that when you collect all the bands (be prepared for some hiking) you get a waldorf one - not much of an incentive and my kids choose to keep the multicolored bands. They really need a kid concierge and a daily list of activities to keep the kids busy. Sample menus from the various restaurants would also help.

If this resort was refreshed and repurposed it would indeed be a 5 star property, but as it sits, it is below average. I would return just to see the pool "splash" bar folks, Ivan, Kathy, Angel and Andreliz to enjoy their company, food and drinks.

Room Tip: Ocean view as opposed to pool or garden view rooms seem to be the most up to date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellmore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This resort is beautiful. The views are breathtaking! It's a side of Puerto Rico I was so happy to experience. We will definitely be back. There are multiple pools my favorite being the salt water pool at the main hotel. We kept coming back to the splash bar to see Mr. Jose Lopez who was great!! He helped make our stay enjoyable!! Thank you Jose!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillians39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Good: Beautiful views, Hilton Honors, private Island, great Water Park, Starbucks within resort. The bad: rooms outdated, food awful and super expensive, had a huge palm tree blocking my ocean front room.

Room Tip: families stay by the Marina, close to water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Awyman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at the El conquistador. The location is stunning. We have a very spacious one bedroom that gives our teenage boys plenty of privacy and room to hang out. Every employee is very friendly and accommodating but I want to point out the extra attention we received from Jose Lopez and Juan Villafane at the splash bar. My son wanted a milkshake (which they don't serve there) and Jose went out of his way to go get him one from another bar. When the bar was out of the vodka we wanted, he quickly went to restock it. Overall it's been another great vacation. The only con is that the property needs some freshening up. Obviously, the salt water and humidity take it's toll quickly but a fresh coat of paint would be an easy fix.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreaster32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel El Conquistador is absolutely AMAZING! When we decided to go to Fajardo, PR we booked another hotel (Fajardo Inn) which ended up being a nightmare. Completely disoriented (our first time in PR) leaving that unpleasant place at night we did some online research and found out that a lot of people was giving a nearby hotel called El Conquistador many good reviews. We had no reservation there however, we headed to El Con praying that we could find some accommodation for our week (or at least for that night). Fortunately we got a gorgeous room with the most breathtaking view I have ever seen from any hotel! Thank you guys! Not just that: the staff is friendly, nice, helpful, kind, always willing to make you feel happy and comfortable. Besides, the hotel has plenty of things to do, many nice areas for children, teens, adults, you name it. The pool is HUGE and so well-designed, with a lot of chairs, towels, toys to play, good music, good ambience, great food and beverages. My husband and I would have been in the pool the whole day if our plans to go around the island had failed. Better yet, we would have been the WHOLE TIME on their private island, Palomino. WOW! What a beautiful place! And only for us, the guests :) :) There is a funicular (how cool is THAT?)) to go to the hotel marina to take the boat to Palomino . Well, the view from there...the view..the view....something to die for!
I also have to mention the good restaurants (my favorites were Las Brisas and the Italian). At Las Brisas we had breakfast everyday, so yummy! Thanks to the hostess STACEY who made us feel like home, giving us the same table every morning with the perfect view upon our request :) Thanks to the servers , Jose, Andy, Yajaira, so KIND and PATIENT answering my annoying questions haha... YOU GUYS ROCK! The tasty omelettes, the best MAIZENA ever! I'm from Venezuela and it had been TWENTY years without trying one that good! Thanks a lot! that brought tears to my eyes :)
Thank you Jason from Cafe Bella Vista, the best waiter ever. thank you for all your advices, buddy. We appreciated each one of them :)
Thank you Jaime, you are the best doorman ever! Thank you for your help every time I almost fell getting out of the shuttle haha XD Thanks also for your recommendations. Yep, you were right: we had a LOT of fun on the catamaran to Culebra!
Thanks to one of the 'maleteros', Jorge. Very helpful. Thanks to the shuttle drivers for their kindness. The housekeepers, the front desk staff, the concierge, everybody doing the right thing to make our vacation so memorable. We'll definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms whose balconies are facing the marina and palomino island are the best, the view is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILuvSunTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is located on a beautiful cliff facing the gorgeous Palomino Island. The views are to die for. The restaurants owned by Waldorf were excellent and had great service. Those that were not owned by the hotel were not as friendly and did not provide a high level of customer service- you can ask at the concierge and they'll alert you to which are Waldorf-owned (even though you'll figure it out on your own very quickly!). We had great weather while we visited in June and never had a problem getting on the ferry to Palomino Island. It was a nice ride over and we loved spending time there. It is absolutely beautiful and if you stay at the hotel, you must go! The pool was okay but nothing special. Our rooms were very old and not updated. The hotel property itself could stand an update- some parts have been modernized but some are still very old. The bar that's called "21" was not fun at all- it was packed with children! We could not enjoy ourselves because crying kids were dominating the dance floor and screeching so loudly that we could not enjoy conversation. There should be another area designated for adults only and not allow kids in it (just like you'd expect at a bar). There are plenty of things for children to do here so it is very family friendly. We enjoyed hiking in the El Yunque Rainforest and exploring Old San Juan. I highly recommend both. We had a nice time during our stay and really felt the staff were helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlabella16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,769 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing