We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for lunch and dinner”

Calizo Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Decor is very similar to Old San Juan in Puerto Rico, where brightly colored road brick Victorian tables, wooden decorations and a beachy touch to outdoor spaces, and also with air conditioned VIP lounge for everyone. Es con una decoracion muy parecida al viejo san juan en puerto rico, en su carreteras con ladrillos colores brillantes mesas victorianas , decoraciones en madera y un toque playero con espacios al aire libre, y tambien con salon VIP con aire acondicionado para todos los gustos.
Mexico Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent for lunch and dinner”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The food and service during our dinner meal was impeccable. What a lovely restaurant and staff. Inside or outside dining, both are very romantic. The food was so good. We also stopped by one day for a lunch of grouper nuggets, french fries cold cervezas and beef empanadas. This lunch was almost as good as dinner. Don't miss this place!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    124
    40
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The fritter apps are ok but the sauce makes up for the lack of punch from fritter. Had fresh grouper (two filets) with an amazing pair of sauces. The mahi mahi with scallops and a hybrid dirty rice and beans was great! Coconut flan for dessert and the mojitos are on point. Very quick and attentive service on a Friday night. Courtyard is great laid back atmosphere. Extremely reasonable prices compared to other highly rated places.

Helpful?
Thank cptncoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Favorite!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was our favorite dinner experience while staying in the area! A short drive from El Con. I believe our servers name was "Herman"...he is a class act and contributed to an enjoyable experience. We sat outside by the fountain. Don't miss the Octopus Mofongo and Coconut Flan. Delicious! Our daughter tried frog legs and liked them. Sangria is good too. Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I ate here twice with our two boys (9 & 7) and 3 year old girl. The food was fantastic and it was a pleasure to eat outside after a long winter. Our waiter Jose was friendly and very attentive. He recommended the house a Sangria. While it is not my normal drink, it was a great choice. The Calizo sauce on anything is great. It's like a cream sauce with cilantro. We had fresh fish both nights and it was excellent. It is well worth venturing out of your hotel for this can't miss local flavor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brady1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely experience all around on our first night in Fajardo. Our meal was excellent in a gorgeous, relaxing courtyard setting. Grouper was fresh and beautifully prepared. Three Seasons was amazing. Loved the cantaloupe and zucchini salad as well. Sangria with amaretto was awesome. And, last but certainly not least, was our friendly and attentive server Jose. Such a nice man who made our experience excellent! Please ask for him if you go to Calizo, which you must!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLMchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calizo, Gerente at Calizo Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks, your comments and your good wishes are welcome love we know the opinion of our customers. good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calizo Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Calizo Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing