We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local spot under el conquistador easy lunch spot”

El Racar Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 101 Restaurants in Fajardo
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Bar Scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local spot under el conquistador easy lunch spot”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Went here with 9 family members- including 5 young kids-service was spotty but prob due more to us having no idea what to do upon arriving- little intimidating not being a local- that said it was game on once we settled in-(live a little and get out of the tourist trap) we had fried pork (little fatty)and rice and beans - kids had chicken fingers (shocker) then we ordered a bunch of different filled empanadas which were delicious - washed down with homemade sangria and topped off with local made hot sauces - was a great find and value after getting killed in our overpriced hotel- u can walk from the Marina (about half an easy ocean front mile- through the medal gates the opposite direction of the water park- just keep following the ocean to you see a not so spectacular outdoor bar looking beach dive on the opposite side of the street- (next to a really amazing upscale local restaurant kasavista- best seafood soup I have ever had) worth the trip and the following day try the place a little further down (with white awning) next restaurant down we heard that was even better - enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rpost334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    15
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I rented a car in San Juan and just randomly drove to the eastern part of the island. We happened upon El Racar and decided to give it a try. I had the mofongo and my wife had seafood. The food was tasty and well prepared. During our stay, we were the only people speaking English. The open air seating added to the ambiance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viroquaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“outdoor seating, bug spray provided!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

the best red snapper and octopus salad, really fun local ambience, and they had bug spray for us to use for free (thank goodness)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank valeriecgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Visit this restaurant!”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

If you stay at El Conquistador, make sure you visit this restaurant. It is close--less than a 10 minute walk from the marina area of the hotel. It's a simple, open-air restaurant but the food is well prepared and fresh.

I went with a group of 7--adults and children--and the bill was $100 for all of us--and the adults had drinks. I ordered the shrimp mofongo--a huge portion of mofongo with delicious, fresh shrimp, cooked perfectly. And a side salad! My sons has ribs and chicken and both were good. The sangria is worth trying. The fried plantains served as a side were also a treat. Service is good. The cook prepares generous portions. We got so much food, we didn't have room for dessert. Even though the restaurant ambiance is simple, I gave it a five because the food is so good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spanielmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real Caribbean food!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

It is just a little hole-in-the wall, but it's good. Don't be afraid to go there and eat. Birds want to be fed and will swoop in close.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Icelandic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Racar Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Racar Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing