We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They serve Gluten Free Pasta upon Request”
Review of La Piccola Fontana

La Piccola Fontana
Ranked #15 of 104 Restaurants in Fajardo
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They serve Gluten Free Pasta upon Request”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My guest had the Gnocchi con Ossbuco and said it was all right. I had the Linguine Vongole which was to come with diced tomatoes on top, the tomatoes were mushy and unappealing. Overall the dish was ok, not the best Vongole I have ever had, but not the worst. Pretty restaurant and a nice atmosphere. They had a lot of wines on special which helped to keep our meal in the $100.00 range

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Callowaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    46
    38
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I really hate to write this but need to give feedback on the service at La Piccola. This is my second year at the El Conquistador Resort and dining at La Piccola. I love the resort and all the other restaurants, except here. I agree with the diners below that the service is very slow. Our first experience, the restaurant was about an hour from closing time and no one came to greet us for 25 minutes after we were initially sat. An older woman with short brown hair and glasses finally came over to take our order finally and seemed completely uninterested. She forgot all of our drinks except for 1 and when we (politely) informed her, she sighed loudly at us. That is a first! We have eaten at many restaurants, support restaurant business and don't mind spending money for good food and even service! Trust me. The second time we dined here was one week ago. I decides to give it another try. Service was very slow again. Over 40 minutes for entree. We did come earlier in the night to see if this would change service, but it did not. The server again forgot drinks but did end up reminding himself. As a result, they came out in awkward order (towards the end of the meal) but we still didn't want to make a big deal out of it. When the bill came, we split it in half since we were dining with another couple. One bill had the correct split amount, the other was double charged. At this point, we voiced our concern and our server had to re run the whole bill again to correct it. We still ended up tipping him but I will say - this staff needs serious work here. The manager needs to hold a meeting, re-implement a training schedule for servers and clearly outline/streamline how to properly service guests. This is now my second time and I will not be returning. There are too many on-resort and also off resort options that are even more delicious! It's not only the food that makes a restaurant successful, but the service just as much! Hopefully further training will help this staff provide future consistency. Try Pason, La Estacion, the on resort Steakhouse for better options.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salgado2, General Manager at La Piccola Fontana, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience regarding your recent visit to our restaurant.

Allow us to preface with an apology for your justified disappointment regarding food and beverage service. This is certainly not indicative of the sophisticated level of expectations that have become La Piccola Fontana trademark and legacy.

When you arrive at the most sophisticated restaurant in the area, it is understandable that you would want to be seduced by our gastronomic flavors and the beauty of your surroundings, and we regret that your experience fell short. Rest assured, your generous feedback is crucial for us to improve in these areas, and has been addressed with the staff and supervisor, in order to avoid this from reoccurring. We welcome any further comments that you may have.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, so that we may have the opportunity to reverse your initial impression and treat you to the uncompromising service that our distinguished guests have grown accustomed to.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to address your concerns.

Again, our apologies.

Warmest regards,
Jose I. Salgado Santiago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very very tasty, but you need to wait..”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We was waiting for our server for 30 minutes before it has received our order. After 1 Hour!!! of sitting in restaurant we were still awaiting for our food. You have to wait for everything you ask here for 10-15 minutes, also for check. BUT FOOD WAS DELICIOUS!!!! So if you have patience and want to have delicious dinner, go there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILoveBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salgado2, General Manager at La Piccola Fontana, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from La Piccola Fontana Restaurant!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit to our restaurant.

We are delighted that you had such and a wonderfully experiences and decadent culinary delights made you feel so welcome.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the La Piccola Fontana in the near future. I will Make sure your services is fast and Excellent!!

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Jose I. Salgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We struggled at this hotel to find a good restaurant. This seems to be the only one.
Since it is difficult to find an excellent restaurant in most hotels, we at least hope for good. This restaurant is good and we enjoyed our dinner there last week. They are attentive and the room a modern and elegant.
The drawback was the restaurant was so chilly, that we couldn't even stay for dessert....which was quite disappointing as it was my daughter's birthday and we had planned for dessert with a candle to be served.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salgado2, General Manager at La Piccola Fontana, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from La Piccola Fontana Restaurant!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit to our restaurant.

We are delighted that you had such and a wonderfully experiences and decadent culinary delights made you feel so welcome.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the La Piccola Fontana in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Jose I. Salgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fajardo, null, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the price”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a lovely intimate dinner, the staff is very courteous and attentive. The arugula salad was excellent, and it is huge! The osso bucco was excellent and also the high shrimp pasta. Well worth the high prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salgado2, General Manager at La Piccola Fontana, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from La Piccola Fontana -

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive restaurant and Bar.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Thank you for the gift of feedback and the opportunity to respond to your.
Warmest regards,

Jose I. Salgado Santiago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Piccola Fontana also viewed

Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico, Caribbean
 

Been to La Piccola Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing