We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food & service!”
Review of La Ola Restaurant

La Ola Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 102 Restaurants in Fajardo
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Seafood, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual outdoor dining. Waterfront with a great view of the small islands like Palomino and Icacos. The menu have a good selection of typical puertorrican food, seafood and meat. Friendly staff. Nice place to enjoy with children, friends and family or for enjoying a romantic evening. BEST VIEW, BEST FOOD, BEST SERVICE!!
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible food & service!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The only positive about this place is the view. If you're hungry and expecting good service this is not the place. We ordered appetizers and drinks. After a 45 minute wait the food was cold and bland. If you're a local you'll automatically know that the food is over priced. If you're a tourist, this is not what our local good food tastes, looks or costs. I love giving out praises and supporting local restaurants, but this one gets no credit from our part.

Helpful?
Thank Lauax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lybelle r, Owner at La Ola Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi!! I'm very sorry you feel this way. I will like to remain you we serve fresh food, and if you want it fresh you'll have to wait. I know there's not a second chance for a first good impression even thought we'll like to make it up to you, because has the owner I'm pretty sure and proud of our food and service. Please don't take me wrong it might be true all that you said, but most of our comments are positive so we really cares about yours because it will make us do it better. There's no excuse but I just want to let you know it was really crowded, it's was not a typical day and we're working hard to prevent this situation. Please feel free to call me at 7875565545 and give us the chance to make it up to you. Because of your comment I guess you are local, so we are BORICUAS, please help us to give a good impression of our Island. Thanks for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    73
    29
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing fresh tapas!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just turned into the place to grab a drink and some snacks and we were blown away with the delicious food and amazing atmosphere. Friendly staff, and all around great vibes!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mchlcwllms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be a great spot if the food was good.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The location is very nice, right on the water. We sat down and ordered cocktails which were decent, but took at least 20 minutes to reach the table on a relatively slow night. Ordered chorizo con vino for an app and then mofongo stuffed with shrimp. The chorizo arrived cold, and tasted like they'd been sitting there a year. Being in the service industry, I hate to send food back. But this was so bad that not only did we send it back, we requested they cancel the rest of our order. We were going to just pay for our drinks and leave, but I suppose once the server took the food back to the manager and he realized how bad it was, he comped the drinks for us. That, plus the view and the fact that the cocktails weren't awful are the only reasons they are not getting a "terrible" from me.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cbrimer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect rustic spot on the water, great food, pleasant staff.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What we've been looking for. No pretension. Relaxed. On the water. Stopped for lunch, good food, good drinks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tryit58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas, ON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The location is second to none, right on the water at the marina. Watching boats roll in as you are having a drink or something to eat. Food was good, drinks were good, service friendly and fast. What we liked most was the atmosphere of the place, lively, with a nice mix of locals and tourists. We stayed right across the road, and it appears there is live music on Saturday and Sunday nights. Tip: they are closed Monday through Wednesday.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelNFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Ola Restaurant also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Ola Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing