We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Lots to do!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Vermilion, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Lots to do!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My family stayed at Las Casitas for 6 nights. The property is beautiful and there was so much to do. Our personal butler contacted us before the trip to help make arrangements for activities, restaurant reservation and groceries in the room. The staff at Casitas was fantastic! We really enjoyed Palomino Island and found the ferries to be convenient and fast. One day at the waterpark was enough, but nice. Only a few drawbacks kept this from a 5-star review. The restaurants at Casitas and sister-hotel El Conquistador were disappointing. Even the "premier" Strip Steakhouse -- which was average, at best, but pricey. The Italian restaurant has a limited, boring menu and terrible atmosphere -- just a converted meeting room. We found several local restaurants that were much better and nicer ambiance, including the Station and Pasion. We were also surprised that "last call" in the adult bar was 10:30?! It was a weeknight, but -- hello, we are on vacation?! They also could improve drink/food service at the pools -- you basically had to go to the bar on your own. Highly recommend the resort, but go off-property for dinner.

Room Tip: If you stay at Casitas, ask to be in a room closer to El conquistador, as that is where most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    410
    152
    85
    56
See reviews for
1,011
345
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Nice location, and beautiful resort overall but the service was the worst I've ever had and would not recommend to anyone unless you don't order drinks and food from anyone on vacation while lounging by a pool or on the beach and have no desire to be treated and serviced by a friendly, helpful staff while there. We will not be going back nor would I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Ellie J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the your pool side and beach experience - please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our management team and service professionals as we are always looking for ways to improve.

I am delighted to hear that you found the resort to be so beautiful!

I sincerely hope that you will reconsider an visit our resort again in the future.

Las Casitas Village
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paoli, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My family stayed here for five nights after getting a great deal on Hotwire. Even though we booked through a third party, the casita we were given was beautiful! It was a guest room that was quite roomy and had a small kitchenette. There were two sets of French doors leading to a huge balcony with ocean and mountain views. The bathroom was quite large and was extremely clean. Housekeeping was also top notch.

The hotel pools and grounds were beautiful. The casita infinity pool was amazing! The view from there was one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. We visited Palomino Island twice and enjoyed it very much. It is about a fifteen minute ferry ride. The restaurant on the island was good and not overly priced. I also enjoyed the gift shops on the island. The stores at the main hotel weren't so great.

We only ate at the pool area restaurants for lunches and the food was good. We always went off-site for dinner. There are some good restaurants not too far from the resort.

My husband played golf and he said it was challenging and the course was very nice. The rates were a little high but consistent with other courses in Puerto Rico.

I would suggest staying at the Las Casitas instead of the main hotel. It is much quieter and very charming. It is a little longer walk to everything but not an issue for us. The only noise we heard at night were the coqui frogs!

You will not find a nicer resort to stay in Puerto Rico. We are so glad we chose this area. We stayed in San Juan for one night and did not care for it at all. We would love to return to Puerto Rico but only if we could stay at Las Casitas!

Room Tip: Call before you arrive and make any requests you have. Their customer service is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LONG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Las Casitas was very beautiful. The room had a large balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean. I had called ahead to ask for gluten free service. Once at the hotel there were servers at all of the venues who knew how to keep gluten free diners safe. I did not get sick and enjoyed delicious food.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed at this resort in luxurious villa for 5 nights and for at least 24 hours we did not have warm water to even take a shower. Kept calling maintenance guys and 3-4 different people were not able to solve the problem. This is not expected from a luxurious resort after spending this much money on room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank Saumil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Saumil P,

On behalf of the Las Casitas Village, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for selecting our resort. We strive to always please our guests putting forth a first rate product while maintaining a positive attitude from our employees. I regret that you were unable to experience that ambiance as it is never our intention for any guest to experience a less than excellent visit with us.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay with your villa's hot water. We are happy that our team was able to resolve the issue quickly and get you back to enjoy your well deserved vacation time.

I do hope that this experience will not discourage you to visit us again in the future. We value your loyalty and want to provide you with the hospitality and service you deserve and expect when staying in our Resort.

Las Casitas Village
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We spent $8000 on a 5-nights vacation w/ air travel, food and hotel(pd over $650 a night) to Puerto Rico from Philadelphia. I am not complaining about price because we spend this type of money on all our vacations. Food was the worst in the Casitas buffet breakfast- don't waste your money! They charged $16 for my 5-yrs old son to have cereal! we were sweating the whole time and we asked for the fan to be turned on and they said it was broken(there is no indoor seating). spent $150 for breakfast for eggs and bacon- not even pancakes! worst of all was the sleeping arrangements for our kids. we booked an ocean front 1-bedroom suite which had the best view but the pull out couch that my daughters were suppose to sleep on had springs that were broken and mattress that had not support and was supper thin. The springs would have poked through the mattress and seriously hurt my girls. The couch was soggy and when we sat on it, it would slump down and hurt my back. We called for 2 cots for the girls to sleep in b/c the couch was not usable and they agreed that it could not be used but said it would be $100/night extra! That turned me off completely. We were already paying over $650/night and to ask us to pay another $100/night for cots that we would not need if the couch was usable was completely not what we expected.

The resort is one of the most beautiful place and truly a paradise. The infinity pool has views that is awe inspiring. We have traveled all over the world and stayed at some of the most exclusive resorts and Las Casitas is truly special. We would definitely go there every year if they could just fix these few very annoying things.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for ocean view on a high floor- the ceilings are higher and the view is truly breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We just returned from a five night stay at Las Casitas Village. This place is wonderful! I cannot say enough good things about this place. Gorgeous views and the infinity pool is absolutely breathtaking. If you stay here, make sure to visit Palomino Island. It is a beautiful beach and there are many activities to do there. It can be a bit pricey, so if you go to the island make sure to take some snacks and bottled water and don't forget your sunscreen. We cannot wait to return to this resort:)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,231 reviews
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
26.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing