We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds but book resturants in advance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Gorgeous place to stay and lots to do. Disapoint with resturant booking. Resturants were full and recommend booking before you arrive. The private island is fantastic. Several pools and hot tubs thoughout property. I was with my wife and daughter and we all ejoyed the stay. Appeared to have good adult night life (bars & music). Everyone friendly and helpful. I will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Joseph L,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your concerns regarding restaurants reservations. As a large resort, it has been a goal for us to improve the ease of making reservations, not only for our guests but also internally. We are proud to annouce that this week all fine dining restaurant are now on OpenTable. this will allow you to make reservations not only on our website but also on the OpenTable website and on the pertinent apps for iPads, iPhones etc..

Joseph L, we will be looking forward to make you you return visit even better.

Best regards,

M.B.
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Excellent vacation! Property was beautiful and well kept. Casita with ocean view was spectacular. All the staff was friendly and courteous. This property has all the amenities and services that my family needs and likes. Will be coming back next year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Loren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Loren,

It was a pleasure to greet you and the family this year again. We are most honored to be your home away from home and thankful for the kindness you exhibit with all our service professionals. Each year your Butler Carlos and the Manor House agents look forward to your arrival as that of a family friend.

See you very soon.

Sincerely,

M.B.
Diretcor of Operations
Las Casitas Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our family just returned from our 7th year at Las Casitas. It has become a tradition that we so look forward to and one that has provided such great memories. Even though we've been there 7 times, each year gets better.

The grounds of the property are gorgeous....meticulously maintained along with the 3 pool areas. The view from the infinity pool is one of a kind and Anais is always there to help you with lunch and drinks, along with Alex and Frankie. Our butler Carlos is fabulous! He caters to our every need and just makes our vacation experience that much better. The housekeeping staff is fabulous as well along with the staff at the Manor House. Everyone is so pleasant and works hard to make our stay so great each year. We always have breakfast at the Casitas Cafe and the staff there couldn't be nicer and the food is excellent....thank you Robert, Joanna and Nobile!!

We will be back again next January and we are already counting the days!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank delbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Currently at the Las Casitas. We have come to this place three times now and in each case there has been an issue. Last night when we arrived the staff completely disregarded our room request (a room in the south wing) and gave us a room that could not have been more inappropriate (north side wing, dozens of steps with an infant, dirty, poor air conditioning, noise). We asked to be placed in a room we requested and were told “no can do.” Best that could be done was transfer us today (ok with us, although not happy), however, even the room transfer has turned into a disaster (not to mention an attempt to prevent my wife’s sister from coming to visit). Upon our threat to check-out the “manager’s” response was essentially go-ahead. They did not even attempt to resolve dispute (claim letting my wife’s sister visit waqs good enough). Hence, we will simply check-out and take our money (room, spa, dining) back to the Marriott in San Juan where they understand customer service.

If you’re the typical vacation traveler, this place may seem “great” but to the experienced traveler with high expectations when playing nearly $400 per night with all fees attached, take this warning seriously as you will not be fully happy. As noted, this is the third time we have given this property a chance because of the beautiful grounds, great location, and suite of amenities at the El Conquistador, but there is always an issue. Conversely, at the El Convento in Old San Juan, and both Marriott properties, there is never these types of issues. I would suggest the management running Las Casitas take a page out of these other properties and not embarrass the Puerto Rican heritage (my wife is a native and is completely appalled), which is exactly what the staff has done here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear William T,

We very much regret your perception of the resort. From the private island of Palomino to the pools, Water Park, Las Casitas Village amenities are reserved for the exclusive usage of its guests. Visitors may be allowed within limits which in this instance were going to be far exceeded.

I understand how this may have upset you but we must preserve the private nature of our beautiful facilities even when faced with promises of a review such as this one.

Sincerely,

Maxence Bonnamain
Las Casitas Village
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned to the frozen northeast after an amazing trip and stay at Las Casitas. We tend to stay at high end properties when we travel and, overall, we were very impressed with the property and the service here. For those looking for information, I will attempt to be as detailed as possible below:

We booked directly with Hilton and everything was handled well. A couple of weeks before our scheduled arrival, I received an email from Ana Colon who would be our Personal Concierge. Ana is a wonderful resource and asset for this property. She offered many suggestions and patiently addressed all of our requests. We received confirmation of our travel (via their motor coach), dining and other plans well in advance of our stay. You will also receive confirmation at check in.

The hotel's motor coach is a typical tour bus with TV's playing the El Conquistador/Las Casitas video as you drive approximately 45 minutes from SJU to the property. They offer complementary beverages and rum and both drivers were very courteous. As we drove up the mountain to the resort, we passed their impressive golf course and spotted several wild iguanas sunning themselves. We immediately knew it was going to be a great trip for ourselves and our 10 year old daughter. The motor coach drops all guests off at the main hotel which offers your first chance to capture the breathtaking views this property has to offer. As we climbed the steps and looked out the veranda, we were greeted with the variety of greens and blues only an island can offer. The landscaping is lush and the vistas are unparalleled.

Within minutes, the van arrived to transport us over to the Casitas section. We entered the Manor House and met Ana personally along with Lily and other wonderful staff. Our room wasn't ready immediately, but we were more than happy to sit at their casual restaurant for a quick bite. The food and drinks were wonderful, especially the Coconut Slim and the popcorn shrimp with jalapeno remoulade. We quickly changed into our bathing suits, and entered the Infinity Pool area which is incredible. The pool looks exactly as pictured and meets the horizon across to Palomino Island. Our room (5300) was ready shortly thereafter.

5300 is in the north village offers a spectacular view over the Infinity Pool and across to Palomino and beyond. We were treated to a beautiful sunrise in paradise each morning off our large balcony featuring a dining table and reclining lounge. The balcony was one of our favorite places to relax and enjoy the breeze. 5300 is a compact 1 bedroom casita with a nice kitchen nook, living room, bedroom and bath. To be honest, we planned on being outdoors most of the day so were not overly concerned about room. It was absolutely adequate for a family of four, even though we were only three. Our kitchen was fully stocked with treats and liquor we requested through Ana. What a pleasure to arrive to everything already put away neatly.

We found the location to be excellent. If you cannot handle stairs or lots of walking, you may want to consider staying at the main hotel, but we loved our walks and stair climbs each day and found it invigorating. It only takes about 10 minutes to walk from the Casitas to the hotel. As we walked, we got to see the additional pool and casual restaurant for the north casitas and then the impressive double pools and casual eateries for the main hotel.

As for dining, we preferred the high end restaurants. I don't understand the complaints about the prices/food. You are staying at a Waldorf Astoria resort and we found the prices to be in line with prices here at home in the greater NY/NJ area. We dined at Chops multiple times and the steaks rivaled those in NYC. Daniela and Tamra treated us like family and were outstanding servers. Everything we had was delicious. The filets were like butter, and the maple bacon as well as bacon wrapped shrimp were fun for a kid who loves bacon! My husband had the porterhouse, churrasco and ribeye and enjoyed all.
We also dined at Stingray's and Blossoms.

Stingray is located down on the marina level and offers outdoor seating which we loved. The food was very good-We had the Halibut and the Garlic Shrimp and enjoyed both. Blossoms is typical hibachi fare. Our chef was a very nice girl and could compete vs. the Japanese hibachi chefs here any day! The sauce was a bit salty but if you have children who like hibachi, it's a great alternative. NOTE: Our daughter orders off the adult menu, but they do offer 1/2 portions at nearly all restaurants.

We traveled out to Palomino Island via the property's ferry each day and absolutely loved it. A quick 15 minute ride with beautiful views brings you to a fantastic island replete with everything you could need. There were ample chairs, umbrellas and overall facilities. We enjoyed Don Q's bar (Diana and Luis were also wonderful staff there) and Iguana's Café. The menu on the island is limited, but we had great jerk chicken sandwiches, burgers, and salads. There is also a small store that sells ice cream and other treats.

We enjoyed renting rafts, jet skis, kayaks, etc. Depending on the weather/tide the beach can have a bit of coral/rocks but it is smooth once you are in the water. The area nearest the ferry is calmest while the area around the bend offers best breezes with a bit more choppy water. It's easy enough to split time between the different areas if you prefer a combo. We got to see lots of lizards and iguanas as well as horseback riding, etc. The top of the island offers more breathtaking views out over Culebra to St. Thomas and beyond.

We had a full moon during our stay so did not go on the Bio Bay Tour but heard it is wonderful. Snorkeling in the Palomino area will allow you to spot some fish and we even saw an eagle ray, but we hope to make the snorkeling trip offered down by the marina next time.

Coqui Water Park was really fun and I can assure you very beautiful. I can't imagine a more beautiful water park anywhere. Again, plenty of chairs to lounge in as well as fun slides and pools to play in. We stayed during a busy week and it never felt challenged.

As for the negative reviews, I think it has to do with people's attitude. For a resort on the Caribbean, it is extremely well maintained.

We extended our stay an additional two nights due to the storm here in NJ, but I would have stayed longer if I could. We would certainly recommend this property, especially the service and hospitality the staff offers. We are already counting the days until we return!

Stayed: January 2014
16  Thank Blakely69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were looking for an easy getaway trip before the Christmas holidays. We chose Las Casitas because my husband always wanted to stay at El Conquistador which is the attached Waldorf property. I must say, the ground of this hotel and the attached property are simply massive. It is perched on the side of a cliff overlooking some of the most crystal blue water we have seen. If you are into golfing, the course was beautiful. The entire property is well maintained, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and it is very clean and comfortable. The original resort is a little older and it does show a little, but nothing that would deter us from going back! Las Casitas are off to the far end from the hotel where the shops, restaurants, and most activities are located. If you are not into walking back and forth a lot, then I would recommend staying in the hotel itself.
Las Casitas themselves are comfortable. We stayed there when it was not busy and were given a beautiful room with a beautiful view! There was a nice size balcony were we could sit and enjoy the scenery!
The grounds itself provided us with plenty to do during the day. There is a great private island and beach that is only accessible to the guests of the two facilities. The ferry runs back and forth often and when on the island there is plenty to do. There is a beach restaurant, a couple of bars, plenty of beach chairs, water sports, volley ball, horseback riding and more.
We did end up renting a car and driving to surrounding areas, although there is not much locally and I probably wouldn't be comfortable venturing out at night.
The food on the property was good and not too crazy on price and the variety was pretty good.
Overall a great trip. We will surely be going back in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiddleAgedTravlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

After reading all the reviews, I had fairly low expectations but this is a great resort! All of the pools are beautiful, albeit crowded by the infinity pool. The hotel has a few shops where you can buy snacks and fresh fruit for a reasonable price. We ate most of our meals off the resort at La Estacion (even got a free ride up and down the hill from a golf cart) and the restaurants past the gate by the Marina. The staff were very friendly! My only suggestions is to really make one of the pools adults only, so many families jam themselves into the infinity pool and its not that large.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaZ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
1.5 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
30.1 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: £218 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing