We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really loved this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We have been to Puerto Rico before, but only to the Ritz in Isla Verde, and this was an entirely different experience. Fajardo is tropical and beautiful with a more casual island feel. The nature sounds at night are exotic complete with singing coquis and add to the tropical experience.

We stayed on the Casitas side and it felt exclusive, private and upscale. The other reviews stating that the Casitas are a long ways from everything else is absolutely true, so if you stay on the Casitas side (especially south casitas) you have to be willing to take a golf cart or shuttle to the main part of the El Conquistidor hotel and then go even further to get to other parts of the resorts at sea level and the private island. We didn't mind though, and enjoyed having somewhere to go and riding the funicular to sea level and boat to the island. The only things on the Casitas side are the Casitas, pools, and restaurants/bars with limited hours. After 5 PM it is very quiet with little activity.

We found the restaurants to be very average, with the exception of stingray café which was excellent! We ordered groceries to stock the kitchen in our casita from the concierge (they have a grocery list and do the shopping for only a $25 fee plus cost of groceries) and that turned out to be a good option for breakfast, snacks and drinks.

We had our 6 year old son with us and he had a great time. The resort is very kid-friendly and has a program called Scout About where kids follow a map to go to check points around the resort (even the island) to experience nature and collect rubber band wrist bands. That was a huge hit. We used the kids club twice and he had fun (and they took great care of him) but he was the only kid there in both days...not sure why. He also loved the big and talkative macaws in the main hotel lobby...don't pass by the white macaw named Snowflake without saying "Hola" because she answers back and is very interactive. The pools were also warm enough to get two "thumbs up". Coqui water park was fun too but it's an extra charge for what is basically another pool and some water slides.

Overall we recommend this resort and I think we'll return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenMG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife, sons (6 and 9 yrs.) and I just returned from a wonderful week at Las Casitas Village.

The resort was beautiful. Our 2BR ocean-view room was huge, meticulously clean and well-designed. The beds were very comfortable and there were large flat-screen TVs with DVD players in each room. The views, particularly from the large deck, were spectacular. The South Village pool, the closest to our room, was beautiful, quiet and relaxing.

The service was exceptional. Lillian and Ineliz at the Manor House desk were amazingly friendly, polite and helpful. Butlers Carlos and Gilberto repeatedly went above and beyond, delivering bottles of water to our room, providing transportation, offering to take family pictures, offering assistance, etc...

The facilities were perfect for a family trip and provided more than enough activities for a week's stay. Golf course and driving range, tennis courts, water park, ferry ride to an island beach, a bio-luminescent bay kayak tour, a hiking trip to the nearby rainforest, planned kids activities every day, etc... There were also many dining options. The Italian restaurant and steakhouse were excellent, followed closely by the seafood restaurant at the harbor. All of the dining facilities we tried (except the Chinese/Japanese restaurant) provided good variety and were at least very good.

In short, this is a really great spot for a family vacation. We'll definitely go back again.

Tips: Spring for the ocean view. It will make whatever is outside your windows at home pale in comparison. Arrange for a grocery delivery in advance. The staff will stock your refrigerator with whatever you order before you arrive. To save some uphill walking, stop at the Manor House to ask for a ride (uphill) to the main hotel. The (downhill) walk home is much easier. Have a great time!!!

Room Tip: In the South Village, rooms are all single-floor. In the North Village, the larger rooms are bi-lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear David C,

Thank you very much for your description of what sounded like a dream vacation! We are very proud to have service professionals such as Ineliz, Lillian, Carlos and Gilberto, they epitomize what Puerto Rican hospitality is all about, I will share this review with them.

We hope to welcome the family back next year.

Gratefully,

M. Bonnamain
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed in a three bedroom oceanview casita the week before Presidents week. The grounds are beautiful beyond words-- bright colors and blooming flowers everywhere. The photos on the website cannot capture the beauty of the place-- the location and views are simply amazing. A number of small pools dot the casitas area. It feels like an exclusive private enclave and it was not busy during our week so we had lots of space to ourselves. Many other reviews point out the beauty of the location and the helpfulness of the staff. I join in those comments. I also have to say that the golf course is a real treat and the private island is an enjoyable sanctuary with some fun things to do (hiking, Ping-Pong, mini-golf, horseshoes). Again, our week was not busy so getting a chair, spot at the pool, tee time, etc. was a piece of cake. I think those visiting when the hotel is completely full might find that things get a little congested. Rather than repeat all of the good things about the hotel, I want to point out a few problem areas that may help you decide if it is the right place for you: 1. Technology and internet. Our in casita internet service was terrible. The problem seemed to stem from the fact that our unit did not have its own antenna but rather gets its signals from other units. AT&T said that it is hard for the signals to get through the concrete walls. Also, only one of our TVs got the right channels. The bedroom TVs all got different signals with different (and fewer) channels. Some other guests have made similar comments so there may be some infrastructure/technology work that needs to be done. 2. The fact that the beach is on Palomino Island is a real significant factor. We were traveling with two kids and did not fully anticipate what a pain it is to get from Las Casitas to the Island (you have to take a car to the hotel, then walk, then take an elevator, walk more, take a little cable car and then the boat.) That's a real hassle and again I think we underestimated how much of a nuisance it would be, especially since we are the type to go to the beach for a half-day rather than a full day. However, the hotel doesn't hide that fact from you and the views from the Casitas are all the more dramatic because they sit so high above the ocean. So that's part of the package. HOWEVER, during our week, the ferry to Palomino operated on its own, often late, schedule with very poor communication. One day, we waited 30 minutes while they fixed a broken boat, then waited 20 minutes when the return departure left Palomino 20 minutes late, and the next day waited 50 minutes for a boat because the boats were on an hourly schedule rather than every half hour as we were told. Worse than the delays themselves was the fact that nobody communicated anything about the boat. I'm a bit of a type-A personality and this was simply not a good fit for me. Getting to and from the island was a one hour trip when things work right and a nearly two hour trip when they didn't. If you can sit on the boat or sit on the dock and chill, this won't bother you at all. If you are trying to make a tee time or just hate sitting around waiting, this could ruin your vacation. Repeating myself, the fact that the beach is on an island is the defining feature of this hotel: on the good side, it makes for quiet rooms and amazing views, on the bad side it adds a lot of logistical complexity to a day on the beach. 3. We found that communication in general was a problem. Our resort fee included "weekly activities' but we were never given a list or any info about these. There is no posted boat schedule. No weather forecast. They seem to have all of this information at the main hotel but it should be provided in room at Las Casitas. There is the usual "resort channel" on the TV but unlike most hotels this was never updated with that days events or weather. It simply ran generic information about the hotel, restaurants, spa. In sum, the rooms and service were excellent. Views are awesome. Golf course is a lot of fun. Communication is weak and Concierge service was disappointing. However, to me it all comes back to the boat to Palomino. Is it worth taking a beach vacation where the beach is 45 minutes away door-to-door? What if the 45 minute trip turns into a 90 minute one due to delays and miscommunication? I think that might change my answer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
12  Thank CT_Travel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My review is mostly positive with a couple of negative situations that occurred.

First, the property and location are stunning. There is nothing in Puerto Rico as nice as this. Based on appearance, the las casitas village is a 5 star resort. The sister property El Conquistador, is probably a 4 star based on appearance however I did not see the hotel rooms and heard they were dated.

The amenities of both resorts are really nice. The pools are beautiful. If youre looking for quiet time, the pools at las casitas were more for quiet time and relaxing, while the pools at el conquistador were very kid friendly and much noisier. They do charge you to use the pool area that has the water slide. It was around $20pp per day. The restaurants were nothing to speak of . We waited around 35 min for eggs and bacon one morning at the el conquistador and when it arrived it was cold. The smaller restaurant at las casitas had far better service and almost the same menu for breakfast. There are several ice cream shops, a starbucks, several bars and restaurants throughout the two properties. You do not feel like you ever have to leave to get a decent meal. The prices are on the high side but similar to what youd pay in NY or Miami. Again, the food is not stellar, but it is decent.

Now for the BAD.The biggest problem I had was that our room at las casitas village had used q-tips and a few other small scraps of garbage lying outside of our entrance along with an empty coffee pot. I took pictures and made 3 complaints on 3 consecutive days before it was finally resolved. When I'm paying for an upscale resort, I dont expect to have to deal with something like this. It was disgusting to look at and should have been resolved 10 minutes after I complained not 3 days later. Secondly, when I left I was hit with a pretty hefty resort fee and a fee for housekeeping??? So I was charged extra for the garbage and coffee pot outside my room?? REally??? This is totally unacceptable for a resort of this caliber.

In the end, las Casitas offers a beautiful resort that worked great for a family with small children. The full kitchen in the room was great for kids who need bottles and snacks. The size of the casita was amazing, it had 3 full baths, 3 50" led tv's, 3 decks, and it was well maintained. Aside from the incident with our room being dirty, the rest of the resort seemed to be taken care of and the landscaping is amazing. The staff at this resort are also very friendly which was a plus. I would stay here again and I would hope to not have any issues with housekeeping especially since I'm being charged a premium.

Room Tip: stay at las casitas village not El conquistador
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmk9911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Beautiful place, Italian Restaurant the best. Went to the Blossoms Restaurant not so good. Infinity pool & hot tub none better. Rooms are perfect.Carlos who greeted us upon arrival , made sure we had everything we needed or wanted & needed to know. Another great vacation celebrating our 25 th anniversary .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoneyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Wonderful ocean view condo with nice private pool with exceptional pool service. The beach was nice but not exceptional. The service and from the beach was reliable and easy to use. The facility needs updating. Glad to have a rental car to go other places for meals and entertainment in the evenings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Julie5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is part of a very large property and definitely the nicer side. The boat ride out to the beach is novel but does make it something you need to plan out.

The biggest disappointment were the beds. Synthetic sheets and foam pillows at Motel 6 maybe, but the Waldorf?! Was a surprise and annoying. Speaks a bit to the vibe of the place. It looks quite nice but not much substance.

Room Tip: Las Casitas is MUCH nicer than the main resort. Its villa set-up is nice contrast to the old-style g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lpdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Lppds,

Thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your sleeping experience at the Resort. We future pillow top mattresses from Serta and our all white beds are made of high thread count cotton sheets. The beds use three sheets; the third and top one is made of a synthetic blend as it is purely decorative.

At your convenience please let us know what villa you occupied so we can verify the mattress and bed frame to ensure it is in top condition. We understand how important a good night sleep is and want to make sure all our guests are well rested to enjoy their leisure time with us.

Best regards,

M. Bonnamain
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
1.5 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
30.1 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: £193 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing