We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, more a Hilton than a Waldorf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, more a Hilton than a Waldorf”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I booked a visit to Puerto Rico with a friend and we thought Las Casitas would be the perfect spot! First off, the location is indeed beautiful with views of the ocean and islands. That said, this hotel is worn overall and expectations should be set for a Hilton experience and not that of a Waldorf. If you are looking for a good deal in a decent location at the given price point, it could still be a good choice. Just do not expect anything near Waldorf type experience. The palomino island is fun, go early to avoid crowds on the ferry over. We were unimpressed with the food at the resort overall and found options outside of the resort far superior in quality and about half the price.

If you talked to me two days into our trip, the review would be two stars but I give this experience a third star for the positive handling of issues by one of the concierge. Our first room was nice but had two of the three chairs on the patio broken and then our mini fridge broke. We called three times in two days to fix the issues without success. Finally we visited the concierge to discuss the issues AGAIN (note I am also a HHonors gold member) and he upgraded us for the remaining two nights to an ocean view suite that was in much better condition than our prior room. Good service indeed and handling of a bad situation.

Overall, this property may still be a good spot for your trip, just set your expectations appropriately.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Kari F,

We are very sorry to read your review as it is very apparent that you did not enjoy your stay. Beyond the physical product and location, wonderful experiences are what make a hotel 5 stars or not. So when we do not connect with our guests we are disappointed along with you.

We appreciate and accept your feedback and will continue to focus on turning each and every guest into Waldorf Astoria guests for life.

All our best,

M. Bonnamain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    410
    152
    85
    56
See reviews for
1,011
345
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Let me first say that I do not usually write reviews. I read many of the reviews for this property prior to deciding where to stay and must admit I had concerns based on some of them but found them all to be just negative talk from people that had random bad experiences.

Taking the motor coach from/to the airport was easy and convenient and because we wanted to relax we had no need for a car. The staff and service were excellent from beginning to end and went out of their way to make our experience wonderful.

The food at every restaurant on the property and next door were great in my opinion and reasonably priced. There were different options and restaurant styles to choose from and the drinks were great as well. The pizza from room service is a must! I will say that the groceries come from the market in the main hotel so instead of paying the delivery fee just walk over there and pick up what you need.

I had concerns about the room and what it would look like but was very happy with our room on the North side. The balcony was nice to sit out in the morning and the WiFi worked perfectly fine the entire time. The staff made sure we had bottled water everyday as well as extra towels and the robes and house slippers were great! You do have to walk to different areas of the property but if you are reasonably fit it is not an issue and you can always call the front and have a golf cart pick you up in less than 10 minutes.

The ferry to the beach was fine and it is vacation so we were not in a hurry or bothered by the fact that the ferry was not exactly on time. It was a quick ride and the beach had everything we needed from towels to food and drinks.

Overall the stay was amazing and we had no complaints.

Room Tip: Stayed in a villa on the North side on the second floor and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AZShon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear AZShon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor community! We appreciate your kind comments and overall perspective on the resort. While we want every guest to have a memorable experience with us we know that we also have some opportunities to address. As you stated this should not deter any guest to visit our corner of paradise!

Please allow me to also thank the TripAdvisor community for the Certificate of Excellence they awarded us today. As well as our team members that work hard to create memorable experiences such as yours.

Warm regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. Juan welcomed us warmly & upgraded us to a one bedroom villa without us even asking! We especially enjoyed talking with Eddie who was more than happy to spend time chatting with us, providing us directions and recommending places to eat when we were exploring outside of the resort. And Alvin at the Iguana's Cafe on Palomino Island gave us exceptional service on the two days we visited him. Las Casitas was definitely more peaceful and relaxing than the busier El Conquistador. If the resort was all-inclusive I might have never left!
The only issue we encountered was that the cleaning staff did not lock our patio doors on two separate days during our stay. Because we were on the ground floor this was a bit concerning but fortunately nothing was disturbed We also returned to our room one day and the TV was on in our bedroom and it appeared some member of the staff may have been relaxing there for a while? That still does not alter my 5 stars across the board. I highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: We were in 5180 on the west side so we did not have the epic ocean view but considering I had booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sohmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Sohmie,

Thank you for posting your review of Las CasitasVillage!

I am delighted to hear that you found our team members so friendly and that you had an excellent stay.

I appreciate you including pictures and recognizing by name those employees who helped making your experience memorable. I will be sharing this review with them.

Angel Ojeda, our Director of Housekeeping and myself are personally looking into the situation you described. It is customary for our guests to receive turn down service: rearranging the room for the night, refreshing it and getting the bed ready to jump into, leaving a small sweet treat behind. As part of this service the television is also left turned on.

Dear Sohmie, I thank you for calling us a "paradise" and will look forward to personally welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom, 3 bath Ocean Front Casita (5510), a large, conveniently located unit near the infinity pool and Manor House. It was clean, had great internet and I cooked most of our meals in the well equipped kitchen. The master bath is large, with a separate toilet area equipped with a bidet. The tub is really large if you like to soak and has handles to grip and a no-slip floor surface. The view is wonderful of Palomino Island, Palominitos, Isleta Marina, Vieques and several islands out in the distance
What really made this experience great for us were the people who took care of us. The housekeeping staff were very nice and did a great job cleaning while everyone up at the cafe at the Manor House were great---a lot of fun to talk with while getting food and drinks. But two people really stood out and made our stay go from a nice time to a great time. These were two of our butlers, Carlos and Eddie. No matter what we needed, even if we didn't know we needed it, one of them was around to help us locate it, book it, give us a suggestion of what kayak tour to use---whatever. I like to walk, but Carlos was always there with a golf cart if I needed it (or looked like I needed it). Eddie's smile and help while we checked out during a rain storm was greatly appreciated! These are great guys who will make your stay even better.
Things to do: Palomino island was fun, the pools were all great but take an evening kayak trip to the Bioluminescent Bay---it is amazing! Also go see Old San Juan (with cats) and the El Yunque tropical rain forest. These are all worth your time. We went from visiting a resort to really participating in some of the local activities.
By the way, if you want to go grocery shopping, Ralph's is a pretty good option in Fajardo. It's next to a CVS, so you can find pretty much what you need. There are restaurants and bars all over the property, so you'll never have to cook if you don't want to. Please take the time to try Puerto Rican cuisine: Plantain "arañitas" & "tostones rellenos" are good. My favorite was Mofongo and Carne Frita with rice and beans.
So, order up some mofongo, grab a Medalla Light and enjoy your stay at Las Casitas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrMoose581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mr Moose581,

Thank you for being a loyal Hilton Honors Gold member and for taking the time to post this review.

I must agree with you, besides the natural beauty of our location and the sweeping ocean views, what makes Las Casitas Village memorable is its people.

Our butlers Carlos and Eddie have been with the Resort since it opened and epitomize what we call "True Waldorf Service", anticipatory and personalized attention.

It was terrific to hear that you were already considering a return trip. Please do feel free to contact me directly to assist with the arrangements and help build more fond memories of Puerto Rico and your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Maxence Bonnamain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is a very smart choice if you're with children. Las Casitas are fully equipped with all kitchen utensils, high speed internet, very clean all areas. And a very large balcony, the service is excellent.

Palomino Island is available through a ferry, the island is very nice, but more is needed in the area of ​​accessibility chairs facing the sea. The beach is not deep, but it is full of stones.

El Coqui Park is ideal for a day in the sun. Have access to a nearby bar and children in sight. The pool area in Las casitas is my favorite, there is a lovely infinity pool with a spectacular view. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaIsabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear CarolinaIsabelle,

We are thrilled to be your favorite resort on the east coast of the island and will strive to become your preferred destination in general.

Las Casitas Village is indeed the perfect family getaway with its spacious 1, 2 or 3 bedroom villas, the fully equipped kitchens and the wealth of amenities for all ages including our Coqui Water Park, championship Golf course, Spa etc..

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and do visit us soon!

Warm regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We would recommend Las Casitas to any family looking to spend time in Puerto Rico. Our family (6) stayed at a 2BR, Ocean Front Casita (5520) in the South Casitas and could not have been happier with the makeup of the room. Great views and spacious rooms, even for 6 (4 children).
The location might be far from the main hotel and shuttle to Palominos Island for some (as some reviews state), however I can tell you that the 15 min. walk was not an issue at all for us. Golf cart shuttle was readily available to go to the main hotel and we walked back every time. Only drawback is that it is a bit isolated, if you are looking for closeness to activities and more people, El Con or the North Casitas are a better choice. Personally I would recommend the South to families. The Infinity pool was great, relatively empty compared to other pools in the resort, there is also a private pool in the South Casitas that was always available. A car is a must if you are going to stay more than a few days. Eating outside of the resort is recommended, we tried most of the restaurants on the list for Fajardo and found Las Vistas Cafe to best for breakfast, La Estacion to be best for Meat/Setting, and El Bohio to have the best seafood. We will return to Puerto Rico and will stay at Las Casitas again, will ask for the same room 5520!!

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms on the South side offer great views of the Atlantic, Palomino and the Bay. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethEmilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We would recommend a stay at Las Casitas to any of our friends! The casitas were quiet, clean, comfortable, well appointed, and the ocean view was well worth paying extra.
We are so pleased we chose to stay in the casitas, rather than the main resort.

Pros:
free parking @ casitas
excellent housekeeping service
Your choice of lovely, quiet pools - not too crowded
Very nice and helpful staff in the Manor House and Bountiful breakfast with EXCELLENT service at Casitas Cafe.
Joanne and Robert started our days with a smile :) Unfortunately, they were the only memorable members of the restaurant teams....hence,

Cons:
We loved our trip, but there was one issue: the restaurant service. There are many on-site restaurants, ranging from fine dining to casual. The service seemed perfunctory and the wait staff did not seem happy to be there. The food itself was just okay. Employees we encountered at other restaurants were far friendlier.

During our 5 night stay, we enjoyed the hotel's Palomino Island (though we had to wait in line 40 minutes for the ferry back) rainforest ziplining, awesome snorkeling through an off-site company, and a trip to El Morro. We would recommend all of these for families with older kids (ours are 9 and 11). We also took a bioluminescent kayak tour, which I would not recommend (dangerously crowded, too many mosquitos and, unfortunately, not as many plankton anymore).

Overall:
The pros far outweigh the cons. This is a beautiful, sprawling property that is well kept, lush, and luxurious. Had the restaurants felt more welcoming, this would be a five star rating. It would have been much easier to eat all our meals on the resort, but it just wasn't fun to do so. So much to do near Fajardo! Great weather when we chose to go - also a good time to get more value. A wonder for children and adults. A fantastic island paradise family trip we will not soon forget. Very glad we chose PR!

Room Tip: If you can, spring for an ocean view, upper floor room! SO gorgeous! We did fine in our one bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnbcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,231 reviews
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
26.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing