We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonlight Bay Hostel
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The moonlight bay hostel has really big rooms according to the hostel I stayed in in puerto rico. Even though they have triple bunk beds, the matress was so comfortable and the bed was stable. the kitchen was clean on some days, on others it could have been better. the shower / toilet downstairs should need to be cleaned more too. The one upstairs were clean. wifi worked perfectly. stuff was friendly too.
the rooftop is massive and the stay in general was calm but nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    46
    20
    17
    17
See reviews for
9
61
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was a little worried about staying here because of the few bad reviews. But let me tell u it was great. The staff definitely made that place what it is. We arrived and were shown where everything was in the whole hostel which was very nice. That night we hung out with the staff and had a great clam night. It was very close to the ferry which ur gunna need since the ferry runs on its own time and u will be very tired after it. We had planned on only staying 2 nights but ended up canceling our 199.00 room and saving money just to stay there to get the night life of the kioskos. To the people complaining about the ants that are literally microscopic! Dont leave open food in your room. Duh. Yes you have to make your own pancakes the staff are not ur cooks. It makes u feel like u have ur own little home there. This place was awesome and i would recommend it. We met friends that will last a life time. Thanks Sol, Trent and Grant we will miss you guys.-Jessika

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I LOVE everything about the Moonlight Bay Hostel!! The staff is SUPER friendly and engaging. The rooms are clean and offer what many hostels in Puerto Rico do not......Air conditioning :) Bathrooms are modern and the eat in kitchen is equipped with a large refrigerator. The rooftop space is SPECTACULAR! The area has lots of parking available and the frosting on the cake-- Its walking distance from the ferry to Culebra Island and Vieques. I am a repeat traveler to Moonlight Bay, either alone or with friends, and highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great location with a very friendly atmosphere. The hostel is located within minutes walking to the ferry, one block from a local bar, and one block from a nice diner. Rental shop right around the corner with recreational equipment. The staff were excellent with providing details as to things to do. The roof top terrace was absolutely perfect for a relaxed night with a beautiful view.

Room Tip: Private rooms or 6 person rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Quite easily one of the best hostel I have stayed in. Location is great! Staff is super friendly! Rooftop terrace is beyond awesome to hangout at night. Bathrooms were clean. Very close to the ferry station. Beds were comfortable as well. Every room has an air conditioner in it which is awesome. I didn't had any problems finding parking in front of the hostel. I would go back to Fajardo just to chill out in this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed one night in a private room. The bed was extremely comfortable, the hostel was quiet at night, the showers were hot, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I felt welcomed and safe from the moment that we arrived until we left. We got there before check in, and they held our bags for us so we could explore Fajardo without carrying around extra bags.
The walk to the ferry is about five minutes (give or take) which was excellent and extremely convenient.
This was the first hostel I'd ever stayed in, and it was a very pleasant, relaxed experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Moonlight Bay Hostel is a smart choice if you’re traveling on a budget. We had a two person room to get some peace and quiet for which we paid $70/night. The room was small but simple and clean with a twin bed, which kinda sucked to share, a dresser and two night stands. Make sure to bring your own pillows though! The rest of the hostel was small but clean with a lot of fresh air flow. There is a laundry room stocked with detergent and bleach where you can do some much needed laundry if you've been on a long trip like we were. The hostel was pretty dead since the high season had just passed so the staff was around and spent a lot of time with the few people who were staying there. It had a little bit of a frat house vibe but we were really only there to sleep so they didn't bother us too much. The rooftop was probably the highlight of the hostel which offered some amazing views and nice place to hang out and sip at night. Another benefit is how close this place is to the ferry terminal. If you’re like us, who needed a cheap place to stay before heading to Culebra, we would definitely recommend staying at Moonlight Bay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
0.3 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
992 reviews
6.4 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
13.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
9.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Hostel

Property: Moonlight Bay Hostel
Address: 478 Calle Cometa, Fajardo 00740-2213, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonlight Bay Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Bay Hostel was just voted "The Best Hostel In Puerto Rico" by HostelWorld, the largest hostel booking site in the world! The Moonlight Bay Hostel in Fajardo, Puerto Rico is brand new and was founded by experienced world travelers with knowledge of the needs and desires of the typical hostel guest. With over $30,000 in renovations/improvements, a brand new 1,600 sq ft rooftop terrace and the expertise gained from visiting hostels in over 60 countries, our founders have discovered what it takes to truly make a hostel a "Destination" in itself! Your stay at Moonlight bay Hostel includes:-FREE sleep on: Brand new premium memory foam mattresses.-FREE air conditioned rooms.-FREE "do it yourself" all you can eat pancake breakfast daily.-FREE coffee & tea -FREE access to our Wi-Fi hotspot.-FREE towels and linens provided.-FREE usage of our in room security lockers.-FREE access to the largest Roof Top Terrace in Puerto Rico!-FREE access to our Roof Top terrace!-FREE phone calls to the USA and Puerto Rico!-FREE secure luggage storage.-FREE monthly Full Moon Parties!-FREE hot water showers.-And for your convenience and protection, all rooms are keyed and our staff is on-site 24-hours a day.Located 60 yards from the Bay and a popular port cafe and Bar, Moonlight bay Hostel is a 2 minute walk to the Culebra & Vieques Island ferry! Our Superb location, giant roof top Terrace, brand new facilities and amazing prices make staying in a Fajardo hotel crazy! Our Amazing location also puts you closer to the Fajardo Bio Bay and El Yunque rainforest entrance than any other hostel in Puerto Rico!With '5-star' amenities, amazing staff, prime location and the biggest outside hostel gathering area in Puerto Rico there is no better place to stay in Fajardo so come join us to keep the Puerto Rican Party going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Moonlight Bay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hostel Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing