We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want a good,quick sandwich go here.”
Review of El Kapi Sandwich

El Kapi Sandwich
Ranked #38 of 102 Restaurants in Fajardo
Cuisines: Caribbean, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
1 review
“If you want a good,quick sandwich go here.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome tripletas,conveniently located close the marina.So after a day in the water,stop by get a famous tripleta. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unbelievably tasty grub”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Assume for a moment that after a fun-filled day (or night) in the Puerto Rican heat (perhaps with a few beverages or other chemical enhancements) you find yourself ravenous in the eastern part of the island. Also assume that it's after 2 in the morning. Luckily for you, there is only one place open that late, and oh man is it tasty: El Kapi.

My companion and I split two ubiquitous, see-them-on-every-diner menu items: chicken quesadilla and a hamburger. In short, we agreed that these were two of the very best examples to be had anywhere of these run-of-the-mill delights. Part of it is from some unique twists (potato sticks on the burger, a nice creamy guacamole-ish sauce on the quesadilla) but credit most of the flavor to just plain old-fashioned good short-order cooking.

For the sake of exploration, we strayed and went to another late night stand another night that seemed uber popular with the locals. Big mistake: El Kapi is the best around...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Post Game Tripletas”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We went in right after my Son's basketball game on Sunday. He won and, we just decided to celebrate with a big tripleta. My first impression was the small place but very clean and comfortable. We order the M.F. sandwich, means "Mother F#$%r" to much meats (ham, pastrami, chicken, beef, etc.) you can't really taste the flavor, too salty and juicy. The bun is too soft that you can't really grab it. We waited half an hour, and there were only 3 customer before my order. Not a bad experience, but I can find more quality and fast service right across the street.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“fantastic local place”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Angel's review sounds like a planted review, but it is actually very accurate.

I went in and this was totally a local's place and we stood out a bit, so the guy running the place was extra helpful in helping me order a tripleta.

sure, it was good and greasy, but i've only ever had two so i don't really know how good it may or may not have been, but i would totally return to this place. its s small shop off a small street, with maybe 15 seated/standing spots to eat on top of about two or three tables outside.

i liked this place a lot because the food is a fair price, and the guy working/owning the place was just awesome. we ate at the counter and he checked in on me a few times, apologized when he forgot something, and just acted like a great local guy running his own business late into the night (4am or something on weekends)

i give it a rating of 4, and that's a good rating. tripadvisor and yelp dish out 5 or 1 star ratings as if those were the only choices

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bravo261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Best sandwiches, burgers and wraps in the eastern part of Puerto Rico”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Awesome!!!!!! Opened til late ..... seven days a week. Excellent food, fast service, best burgers, wraps, quesadillas, tripletas, Churrasco, Turkey, Pastrami, Steak, Chicken, Ham, Tuna. You can even combine which ever meats/flavors and create your own sandwich. They also have a huge variety of soft drinks and the best smoothies and Pina Coladas. You can call them in advance and they will get your order prepared in no time. Phone number is 787. 504.0037 . You will not regret your visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Kapi Sandwich also viewed

Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Kapi Sandwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing