We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent with vegetarian options!”
Review of Don Esteban Restaurant - CLOSED

Don Esteban Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican, International, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Excellent with vegetarian options!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Food was excellent and they helped us choose a great meal. We were vegetarian and they were very helpful. Authentic food with great options.

The Tres Leches cake was to die for. Quite with good ambience. Pina Colada was also excellent!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    17
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing service and Food”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We ventured here on the Trip Advisor recommendations and weren't disappointed. It took us a few tries to find it. Our google maps took us to a neighborhood the first time we tried to go. The restaurant is actually behind Advanced Auto Parts, off of HWY 3, near Walmart. However, it is on it's one garden and felt quiet and isolated on the patio.

The service was amazing, especially Magdahlia and Alex. Magdahlia recommended most of our dishes, took care of the kids meals, and we were amazed by the food. The Grouper Filet in Garlic sauce was melt in your mouth fresh, divinely flavored and the side of rice and beans and plantains were terrifically seasoned. Alex kept our drinks refreshed and taught us some spanish!

The mojitos were some the best we've ever had and the chocolate cake for dessert was rich, moist, and decadent. This restaurant is everthing the reviews have stated it to be. Much less expensive than any of the mediocre food at the El Conquistador.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colomingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We felt right at home!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Wonderful menu with a variety of home style Cuban and Puerto Rican food. We loved talking to the owner and chef who delighted us with stories about how this wonderful restaurant came to be. We had a wonderful entrees of shrimp with rice and grouper. My husband said the grouper was the best he every had. The mojitos had an ample quantity of mint and really hit the spot. The cost of an appetizer, the entrees and cocktails was really affordable.
As other reviewers noted, it's hard to find but it's worth the effort!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjd3cad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Last Night Out to Eat from El Conq”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This was our last night and we followed the Trip Advisor reviews to Don Estaban. Easy to get to by car and not far from El Conq. First off, Alex was awesome! We felt like we were in a Puerto Rican family's home and they were going to cook us dinner as guests and not customers. The food portions were huge, the quality of the food was as good as all the other restaurants we went to for the week-La Estacion,Calizo,DiYukas, but the price was a lot better. The fried fish was really big and they cooked it to perfection(my mother was very particular about how she wanted it cooked)-Alex handled it and they did not disappoint!! Also the lady(owner?) of Don Esteban was so friendly and was the only restaurant staff for the week that actually came and talked to us and made us feel at home. Thanks for a great last night meal in PR!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cooper c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food/service....very authentic local!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Don Esteban while staying at Las Casitas Village Resort in Fajardo. We were looking for a more affordable and authentic local dining experience than what was offered at our resort. I had received a recommendation from a friend of a friend that was local. We made a reservation for 13 people....3 families...and had two tables....one adults and one kids. The service from the very beginning was amazing. Alex served the adult table. He gave us detailed information on the dishes, even steering us towards what was best that night. My husband and I both ordered the skirt steak with sweet plantains, and shared a side of trifongo. Everything was delicious! The steak was so tender and flavorful! For dessert we had tres leches which was delightful. Others in our party tried the grouper, the conch, the oxtail soup. All were very pleased with the food. In the end, Alex also told us how to make sweet plantains and mofongo at home! The atmosphere was casual, welcoming, and would be great for friends and family. I will say that we took a cab here, which was so good, because I don't think we would have found it ourselves. It was behind the Walmart I think.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Esteban Restaurant also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing