We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad treatment to customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Internacional
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chuy
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We were touring the east part of Uruguay with the family (two adults, two kids). Chuy is always interesting to see with all shoppers on either side of the frontier. But then, unless you go to the Ocean (barra) or the countryside, Chuy is not very nice to stay. So we decided to pick this hotel based on others reviews.

The hotel is right on the international avenue on the Uruguayan side. Rooms are large (we had an apartment with two rooms and the bathroom in between). Beds ok. Breakfast in a large hall in the upper level was decent with choices of pastries and juices.

The very bad surprise came when we were checking out. Hotel says that check out time is 10am and they reserve the rigth to collect another night if you are past 6PM. We woke at 8.30, went for breakfast at 9.40 and then for final city tour - shopping and came back at 11:30. Someone came to our room to ask if we were leaving . We said yes. WIfe and kids took luggage to the car. I went to pay and the receptionist said "Management told me that I need to charge 50% more due to overtime". Overtime for two hours ? She said hotel was busy and this is what she was told to do. I travel more than 40 days per year. Never in my life an hotel was so rude to collect overtime without first calling me. I told her I was shocked. Once again "This is what management asked me to do" was her answer.

On top of the 50% overcharge they would not take credit cards, so there I was collecting money from my wife, my young kids pockets, etc.

When you are in the service industry, you should try that customers come back.

Bad idea to collect more money today and not try to make customers come again.

Avoid and go to Plaza hotel or even better, cross to the Brasilian side.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mapariopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2009

This is a great budget hotel, located on the main drag (Avenida Brazil / Uruguay) on the Uruguayan side. I checked out other hotels in town and they were either miserable/wretched (Chui) or pleasant but expensive (Chuy). This is a happy compromise.
We had a triple room with bathroom for R$100; you can get rooms with TV, A/C and fridge for R$130.
Owners are friendly, breakfast was decent and there was even a tiny bar next to the hotel reception.
I can't understand the other negative review here - I couldn't have been happier with the place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Camila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenataBFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Gabriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christinan226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Celso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuy
5.0 mi away
Fortin San Miguel
Fortin San Miguel
#2 of 2 in Chuy
85 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Parque Oceanico
Hotel Parque Oceanico
#1 of 1 in La Coronilla
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nuevo Hotel Plaza
Nuevo Hotel Plaza
#1 of 1 in Chuy
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Turis Firper Hotel
Turis Firper Hotel
#4 of 7 in Chui
92 reviews
5.9 mi away
Posada O Mar do Nicolas
24.4 mi away
Apart-Hotel Posada Lune de Miel
Apart-Hotel Posada Lune de Miel
#2 of 74 in Punta del Diablo
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internacional

Address: Av. Brasil 679 | Chuy, Chuy 27100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Rocha Department > Chuy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chuy
Price Range: £67 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Internacional 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Internacional Uruguay/Chuy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing