We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Relaxing Holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Denarau Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
QLD Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

We recently returned from 7 nights in early March staying in a 2 bedroom villa at Sheraton Denarau Villas and we loved it. My husband and I and two children aged 3.5 and 2 yo returned totally relaxed and am still missing the lovely and friendly staff and the amazing food!

The weather was great, only 2 afternoon storms in the whole week ( good considering it was WET season ). The rooms were very clean, serviced every morning while we were at breakfast and very spacious. Perfect for families. While the kitchen was great for preparing our own meals, we chose to dine out every night and found all meals outstanding.

Meals were expensive but expected. We travelled with a Starwood previliege card (half price meals ) which I recommend as it paid for itself after a couple of days at the resort! Our favourite restaurant was The Flying Fish. The fish of the day ( mahi mahi ) was amazing! We also loved the feast buffet, great range and quality. I was a little disappointed with our steaks at the Steakhouse at the Westin, but our lunch there the next day was faultless! Try the coconut prawns :) We ate at the Port 2 nights, meals were significantly cheaper down there and we enjoyed a HUGE pizza from Mama's pizza for only $30 and an nice Indian meal at Indigos also. One night we ate at the Denarau Golf Club across the road and it is quite cheap, but obviously meals weren't to the high standard as the Sheraton.

Breakfast was amazing every morning, the egg and pancake bar was outstanding.

Previous reviews have complained of the delays from staff particularly at checkin, but we were checked in and in our room within 10 mins of arriving at the resort. I believe capacities have been down since the flooding in January, so that may explain why we got such great service.

There has been a change to the Bula Bus however. Since March 2nd, the shuttle service that used to take patrons to the marina and all resort stops to and from has since been taken over by the port authority and now charge $4 per adult for a daily pass ticket. There is still a pink bula bus which operates for free and travels between the Westin, Sheraton Resort and Villas however.

The Kids Club has moved from the Westin to a new room at the Sheraton Resort, and while our boys were too young to be left alone at the Kids Club, we went daily and they enjoyed activities while we stayed. Mary is lovely and a recommended babysitter.

We swam at the Radisson pools one day which were great for the kids, shade sails covered all the pools and there was a great slide. Recommend the happy hour at Chimes for sunset and half price local beers and selected cocktails!

Don't forget there are free daily and hourly boat trips to the nearby Akuilau Island, where there is lovely beach for swimming but not much else to do over there. We also made use of the free non-motorised water facilities including the kayaks and windsurfers. We met many people who recommend the fishing charters and also the jet ski safaris but we didn't participate, but chose to relax by the pool instead.

There is a supermarket located between the Villa's and the Sheraton Resort, which stocks all essential items, snacks and alcohol at reasonable prices. This is the same supermarket chain as found at the port. I bought most of my kids snacks from home with me, but found I could have bought all things there ( just at a higher cost ).

Great holiday destination for families and also couples. Great chapel there too for anyone thinking of getting married there!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank QLDMum2Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    229
    73
    16
    16
See reviews for
477
65
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed here for a week in September 2007. We just wanted a place that was quiet and didn't force us to do too much.. All i wanted to do was laze and read...

This place was great for that.

My boyfriend and I were spending most of our time either swimming, reading on the beach, dozing on the beach, exploring the island or other resorts.

We had the buffet breakfast every morning - and it was magnificent!! There was a great selection of restaurants and cafes at the Sheraton Resort or surrounding resorts for lunch or dinner - but we mainly stuck to the Sheraton options. The restaurants can be a bit pricey but we knew that going in.

The room was clean and simple. The bed was a king size and made each day. The fittings in the bathroom were starting to look a little old but that is me stretching for something to say. You don't go to Fiji to be stuck in a room...

The nights was warm, the beaches are clean, the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is relaxing.

For families it is perfect! There are so many activities for kids that parents will start to forget what their kids look like - and the kids will be so happy and worn out at the end of everyday...

There was an internet cafe on site for resort visitors to use - it wasn't open 24 hours but until around 10pm each night -- great for checking in with friends at home.

There is also the Bulla Bus -- there are a couple of buses that run on a circuit to all the resorts on Denarau Island to Port Denarau and then back again. It runs until around 10pm each night.. A great way to explore the other resorts and the shopping at Port Denarau (which was quite new when we were there).

Some holiday deals will also allow you to take advantage of the facilities at neighbouring resorts -- definitely see if that is part of your deal.. through ours we could swim at the Westin Resort next door - well maybe a 10-15 walk along the beach... Best swimming pools I have *ever* seen...

I would gladly go back... To swim, eat, sleep, read, be lazy and warm and love every single moment... Just remember - Don't stay in your room -- check out the facilities and enjoy the beauty that is Fiji..

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

We really liked staying here we had a 2 bedroom lagoon access villa 3 lcd screens ducted air king size bed in main room It was a dual key set up which is great for a little space between us and our 3 teenage daughters. access to next door Sheraton Fiji was great breakfast at feast was excellent we had included for 4 mornings and never came close to trying everything .The egg station was outstanding I have paid a lot of money for breakfast at a lot of places over the years But this is the best example of eggs cooked to order ( my wife likes her eggs very very well done this is the only place she has been totally happy) as they say happy wife happy life!
We used this stay as our base for day trips so our only regret is we did not spend as much time at resort as we would have liked. We moved on to Plantation Island for another 4 nights relaxation time will review there as well overall staff at sheraton were great our youngest had her birthday there staff made her feel very special.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant196411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

In hindsight we stayed too long at the Sheraton we should have stayed a little longer at Mana island.
The Sheraton in my opinion is good if you only want to stay for a few days.
Great breakfast the best I think I have ever had buffet breaky.
Very expensive restaurants dont bother $75 fiji for buffet dinner, the restaurants were empty every one catches the bula bus into port Denarau to have really good meals at good prices.Try the pizza place very good value huge pizzas, and Cardos great as well.Indian restaurant great too.
For lunch by the time we had our breakfast we didn't want lunch too often but if you walk out the lobby to the little shops across the road they have burgers and everything there really well priced.
For some reason management have overpriced meals at the restaurants so no one eats there which was baffling. we were there after the big floods so the place was quiet ,you would of thought they'd make eating out there reasonable.Handy internet cafe very handy.
I would stay at the Westin just up the road if I had my choice again.
Check in was really slowwwwwwwww too, so get ready to grab a lounge but hey your in fiji. Fiji time.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

Overall my wife, 4 y/o, 1 y/o twins & I enjoyed our time here.

We generally only use Denarau as a launching pad to an island holiday in the Manamucas (where you get better beaches).

Check-in and check-out were extremely slow. However being my 7th visit to Fiji, I have learnt to adjust to the relaxed culture that is 'Fiji time' (instead of stressing out).

Our travel agent had booked 'interconnecting' 1 bedroom villas to accommodate our family of 5 (as there was a maximum of 4 to a room). It turned out that the rooms weren't interconnecting. Furthermore it turned out that we could accommodate the 5 of us in one villa. Following the holiday our travel agent and the Sheraton Villas reimbursed us for for some (but not all) of the cost for the extra villa that was never used.

Despite this, our accommodation was clean and reasonably spacious (rooms probably due for a facelift in another couple of years). We were allocated a ground floor garden villa when reception realised that we had 3 small children.

The pool areas were really nice and the service was friendly.
Restaurants served food of a good standard.

We would consider staying at this resort again (though the Radisson next door offers newer rooms).

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Issues with extra room (travel agents fault really)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

If only we had spent our whole honeymoon here rather than the final night. This place is lovely, our room was superb, clean and very well equipped. Staff could not do enough for you, food was excellent.

  • Liked — Room was fantastic
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Angelica1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

Great location - we had a one bedroom self contained villa - way more than we needed but very nice all the same.
The resort is one of three all of which blend into one. Great food
& service. Only issue we had was using Rossie Tours - hopeless

  • Liked — Size of villa
  • Disliked — deck out look
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestoholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
25.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denarau Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denarau Villas

Property: Sheraton Denarau Villas
Address: Denarau Island West | P.O. Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Denarau Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal hotel for a family holiday in Fiji, the Sheraton Denarau Villas feature 82 luxuriously designed two- and three-bedroom-villas. All villas feature a comfortable lounge a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, flat screen, TV, DVD player and sound system, ensuit bathroom and laundry. Located directly adjacent to the Sheraton Fiji Resort and The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, guests can enjoy all facilities of the resort complex including access to the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools, kids club and business centre. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) members receive complimentary in room internet and dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Sheraton Denarau Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denarau Villas Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Hotel
Sheraton Denarau Resort
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Denarau Villas Fiji/Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing