We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Once again, a truly beautiful place to be (this is our 3rd stay at the Villas). We have previously stayed at both the Westin and Sheraton Fiji but have found that, as a family with young children, the villas accommodate all our needs. We stayed in a 2 bedroom Lagoon Villa - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, loungeroom, kitchenette and laundry facilities and a magnificent view. We were happy to be on the 1st floor where the balconies are more private (the Lagoon Villas overlook the pool). We were greeted upon arrival with a refreshing drink and warm, friendly smiles. Check-in was prompt (we arrived at 2:00pm) and were shown to our room immediately. Due to the number of people requesting a later checkout time, I would strongly suggest a later flight to avoid the disappointment of your room not being ready. As mentioned by others, the food was very expensive (keep in mind that this is a 5 star resort) but there are other options of dining away from the hotel. The Marina is a 10 minute walk or FJ$5 taxi fare and is home to a number of new restaurants - all at half the price of the hotel. Buffet breakfast is usually included in the room rate so only a light lunch is required. There is a grocery store within the Villas and bread etc can be purchased (as well as beer and wine at a fraction of the cost). There are also numerous supermarkets within Nadi town - a 10 minute FJ$10 taxi drive - so supplies are easily attainable. Staying in a villa gives you an opportunity to cook your own meals should you wish to do so (we chose not to do this because, to us, a holiday means doing NOTHING). We walked along the beach to all the new resorts (Sofitel, Hilton, Radisson and Wyndam) and I would not choose to be anywhere other than the Sheraton Resorts. Guests are able to use the facilities of three hotels for the price of one - Sheraton Fiji, Sheraton Villas and the Westin - and what fabulous facilites they have! At the Westin, there is a fabulous day spa (expensive yes, but you are on a holiday!), a lap-pool and gym and children's playground. The Sheraton has a Kids Club where our 9 and 5 year old wanted to be everyday. The sessions run from 9-12 and 1-5 which gives you an opportunity to spend time as a family as well as giving parents a much needed time-out. Activities vary day by day and the staff were absolutely wonderful - my only suggestion would be to emphasise to them that your child's sunscreen needs to be reapplied regularly as it tends to be overlooked. There is also a night (6:30-10:00) Kids Club session available at a cost of $20 per child. Babysitting is also available at a small rate - FJ$20 for the first 3 hours and FJ$6 thereafter. The pools at all 3 Sheraton resorts are amazing and there are more than enough sun lounges for guests. We had no issues with pool towels and were just grateful that we didn't have to pack them nor wash them while we were there. We chose to extend our stay and, although the villas were fully booked, a room was made available to us at the Sheraton. To us, this is the perfect holiday for a family and any 1 of the 3 Sheraton Resorts is my ideal choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MsCricketWAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    232
    76
    17
    17
See reviews for
500
65
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We have holidayed in Fiji four times. The first two occasions we stayed on the Coral (South) coast, staying at the Fijian and Outrigger. Generally these were good experiences. The last two times we stayed at Denarau Is at the Sheraton villas. Denarau is not really a true island – It was constructed from a mangrove mud-flat and is connected to the mainland via a short causeway. We have two young children, and stayed generally about 10 days.

The Denarau villas are part of the Sheraton complex of resorts at Denarau, and lie between the Westin and the Sheraton itself. The villas are apartment style accommodation with separate bedrooms and kitchenettes. The rooms are of a reasonable size and condition, and have a nice outlook. However they are beginning to date a bit in comparison with the recently renovated Westin and Sheraton. The rooms are serviced well, and are clean, but the audio-visual equipment is a bit clunky. Avoid the rooms (941-946 & 991-996) nearest the main road, which are quite noisy.

Guests at the Villas have two very nice pools and a poolside cafe, as well as access to all the facilities at the Sheraton & Westin, including pools, restaurants, gyms, spa, kids club (x2) etc. A free (brown) bus transports guests between the three resorts, or it is only a short walk. The spa seems nice although not cheap by any means. The kids clubs are OK – The program seemed a little repetitive and suited pre-teens. I would guess teens would be bored quite quickly. There are plenty of water-based activities available from the beach. Snorkelling is not great as there is not a great deal of marine life visible. Denarau is also not known for its beaches which are narrow with gritty sand. The Sheraton has the best beach of all the resorts on Denarau. We find our kids prefer to play in the numerous pools anyway. Be warned that in the winter months the pools might be just a tad cool for the younger kids to spend much time in.

From our experience Denarau is suited to families with younger children, and couples, but not singles. The best part about Denarau is access to all 8 resorts and their restaurants. We highly recommend “Salt” at the Sofitel, “Flying Fish” at the Sheraton, and the restaurant at the Worldmark is good value. Eating out in the resorts is very expensive (up to F$120 pp for a 3 course meal + wine). A blue bulla bus can transport you between the resorts and Port Denarau for F$5 per day, per person. There is a nice golf course of the island and plenty of tennis courts.

Port Denarau (5 mins away by bus) has many restaurant options – The best is mama’s pizza. There are other facilities, ATMs, bakery, and an expensive mini-mart. It is also the launch point for day trips out to the islands, which might be worthwhile to break any monotony.

Nadi Town is the best place to go for supplies and is F$12-$15 in a cab one-way. There is a reasonable supermarket there, and the “Quality” butcher 5 mins out of town on Nadi-Denarau road is surprisingly good. Otherwise shopping is pretty poor, and there is nothing of interest tourist-wise.
Nadi town also has some good options for a meal outside of the resort areas. Daikoku Teppanyaki (Japanese) restaurant is on Queen’s Rd Martinar, and Saffron Tandoori restaurant sits right in the centre of Nadi town, behind Jacks. Relatively good value compared to the resorts and the quality is on par with the best Teppanyaki and Indian I have experienced.

On the whole Fijians are genuinely friendly. The political strife there is not good, with a military dictatorship holding the reins of government, however it is currently a bloodless coup, and it hasn’t yet affected tourists or the resorts. We found the best part of our Fijian experience is the opportunity to employ local Fijian women as baby-sitters/nannies. They are generally very good with the kids, seem safer than other countries’ carers, and the kids love them. They are also good value – around F$5-7 per hour.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rambler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We just got back from 8 days staying at the Villas. My only 'beware' is that from the US, the flight on Air Pacific comes in at 5:00 AM. Hard to get a room that early, especially the hotel was very full. We waited until our room was ready, about 1:00 PM. I fault Air Pacific as much as anyone, if any fault need be placed. It was recommended that some book an extra night to ensure they have a room.

Once settled, everything was spectacular! Everyone smiles and greets you with a hearty Bula! (This is not specific to this hotel, everywhere they do this) The Feast Buffet is a sight to behold, if pricey. Breakfast is $11 per person, reasonable, but dinner was $44, I think. We didn't eat dinner here, preferring to get food from the take-away place next door. One lunch at the Wet Edge was a good value-$28 pp for fish, shrimp and calamari & chips and a glass of wine.

In room services, we aren't used to and didn't expect-nightly turn-down, etc. Requested services were prompt, friendly and quick.

Activities desk was extremely helpful for planning our excursions. I highly recommend the Whale's Tale cruise and Dive Tropex for diving. The Garden of the Sleeping Giants was ok, not great, but excellent flowers.

Shopping was great! Friendly people actually remembered us from day to day and gave personal treatment to help make our selections.

All around great trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bankerdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Have just returned this week from six nights at Sheraton Villas with our family, including two grandchildren 2 half and 16 months. Weather was nice, not too hot and sticky and a couple of nights it rained during the night. We were upgraded from a garden room to a poolside room, but did not take it bacause of the very steep steps leading up to the 2nd bedroom. We then waited for half a day for a room to be available, but were able to use the poolside room and spend time at the pool which suited us, but this did make it late getting settled.
Overall the Restaurants were expensive, but we thought Zing at the Westin was very good and good value, Salt at the Soffital was very nice and not too overpriced. We ate at the Marina, at the Steak House very average and Amalfi was nice, but food average and quite expensive. Best value was the night we ate in and had a Pizza delivered from Mama's, cost $32 delivered and was huge, fed four adults and some left over for lunch the next day. Drinks were expensive, how they can charge $26 for a cocktail beats me Found having a glass of champagne was more bearable at $12. Fiji Bitter $8. Definitely take in your duty free drink along with some nibbles and enjoy on your balcony.
The pools outside the Sheraton are great for littlies, sand to play on and gradual slope into pool. Slide at Raddison was wonderful as were the pools.
We made use of the Bula bus between resorts and the other bus to the marina, which you now have to pay for, but you get an all day pass for $6.
All in all a great place for family to holiday, we did not use babysitters, but feel on speaking with others that tourists will stop going if the prices continue to inflate.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taurus87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I did feel our holiday was spoilt when they said we didnt have a booking, and the villas were full to capacity. They blamed our travel agent. They obviously gave our pool side room to people arriving eariler - see previous email. We were then put in the worst room - right by the road and over looking a pond with a slope so we couldnt let our baby out. I don't think they know what they are doing in regards to hotel management. and they don't care, you do bang your head on a brick wall. It is very disorganised - it really is a "hope for the best resort "- we heard other people's stories of booking rooms with kitchen and they were full up (because they upgraded other people obviously!) so they put them in one room with their families. I am not sure we would stay there again - it's just too annoying. FIji is lovely though!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed at sheraton denaru villas in july,two bedroom villa was large with plenty of room for five. Room service was good and always left clean,did have mouldy pillow and blankets with lots of holes but on the whole we were comfortable.
Quite lacking around pool area,not enough umbrellas and pool lounges never cleaned,also there were not enough towels and we went without on a couple of occasions.
Mainly ate at feast,buffet was good although they were unable to keep the food hot so needed to eat when buffet opened.Quite expensive! Had pizzas at Radisson next door and they were good value.
Looking forward to returning to fiji,might try new intercontinental.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We visited the Sheraton Denarau Villas on a package deal. Group consisted of three generations of the family and we found many similar groups at the hotels (Sheraton Villas and Sheraton Hotel effectively share the same facilities).
We arrived and were processed by reception quickly and with no problems. we found that we were all "upgraded". We had booked three garden view rooms and received pool view rooms. This was a definite advantage especially our room which was ion tyhe ground floor and allowed us easy access to the pools at the Villas. We all agreed that the location was a significant reason for the holiday being such a success. If we returned to the Sheraton Villas we would make sure that we had a poolside room.
The only downside to staying at either of the Sheraton Hotels is the cost of the food. Dining at any of the restaurants is expensive and the service is patchy. We dined at the Flying Fish one night and paid about $100 per head for an ok meal but non existent service. Still not bad enough to get hung up about. Wine especially is very expensive.
Alternatives are to go to the Marina where there are a variety of good restaurants at reasonable prices and reasonable service. You can walk in 20 minutes or catch the Bula Bus which costs $FJ6 for the day. There is a free shoppers bus which runs to the marina regularly but is not allowed to enter the Sheraton grounds. You can catch it out the front or walk up to the Radisson or stop it when you are walking to the Marina.
Did the Finding Nemo cruise one day which was fine if you are looking for a brief excursion to the reef but don't want a full day out especially if you have young children Overall a very enjoyable week and recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarandWide07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,383 reviews
25.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denarau Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denarau Villas

Property: Sheraton Denarau Villas
Address: Denarau Island West | P.O. Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Denarau Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal hotel for a family holiday in Fiji, the Sheraton Denarau Villas feature 82 luxuriously designed two- and three-bedroom-villas. All villas feature a comfortable lounge a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, flat screen, TV, DVD player and sound system, ensuit bathroom and laundry. Located directly adjacent to the Sheraton Fiji Resort and The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, guests can enjoy all facilities of the resort complex including access to the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools, kids club and business centre. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) members receive complimentary in room internet and dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Denarau Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denarau Villas Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Hotel
Sheraton Denarau Resort
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Denarau Villas Fiji/Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing