We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Absolutely amazing hotel. Fantastic views, amazing staff and superb rooms! I went here for my honeymoon, and i'm happy to say its the best hotel i've ever stayed at. The staff will help with whatever you need! They'll cook whatever dish and whenever you want! They sing for you whenever you arrive and leave, it was a true Fijian experience! If your visiting Fiji and its in your Budget, its a must to stay here! The best hotel on the island. We visited them all and its without doubt the best all round hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view! Beautiful to sleep to and wake up to the sound and view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yid1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,110 - 2,116 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

We were there in July this year and the epic stuff up trying to book in caused our beautiful holiday in Fiji to end on a bad note. It's all about service and failure by staff to communicate well.
Firstly our family of five got there an hour early "no worries" we thought... a drink and relax in a nice chair.
We had two rooms booked one for my husband & I and the other for our 3 adult aged children.
Turns out one room was available when we arrived and "they" just didn't allow us to have it.
Book in is 2pm and we were made to wait until after 3pm and when we finally got to the room, we were all pretty frazzled and tired, only to find it was raining from the ceiling and everything in the room was soaked.
The air conditioning had been set to artic blast which didn't mix well with the humidity.
The room staff made it clear our request for another room was most unwelcome and unreasonable.
I sat on the bed and cried. They contacted the manager who they said was busy. Our beautiful holiday in Fiji was beginning to unravel. I had paid for the holiday from my inheritance left to me by my Mum who had passed away at Christmas. So it was pretty special.
My older daughter, bless her, ended up marching down to the manager's office and insisting he come and deal with it personally. Too his credit he did just that and we were all moved immediately.
On checking out they gave us a small discount off our expenses. $100Fj($50Aud) I should be thankful but it did not seem like recompense after our ordeal.
It is a very nice resort and if you should go there remember to be assertive and don't be fobbed off by unwilling staff. We felt the facilities and other staff were very good. The "Heavenly" beds are just that and we had enjoyed good restful sleep on them. I wouldn't stay there again because they did not cater for Coeliacs all that well. Recommend Sofitel for that. We had a really lovely meal there and my 3 course "Gluten Free" meal was delicious. Also Port Denerau is a bit of a tourist trap but it's all there. I would recommend the Westin but please heed my advice and have a great holiday the Fijians are lovely 99% of the time.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GlobalGypsiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Our flight arrived at 6:40 am in the morning and we went straight to Westin to checkin our luggage. Normal checkin time is 3pm but they offered us a room at 10am without charging early checkin fee:) Staff are very friendly and you feel welcomed all the time. We booked a garden view room and the view is lovely coz we can see the sea from the room. We booked for 3 people but they do not have extra bedding avaliable, the bed in the room are big enough for 2 people. Room is clean and beds are comfy, bathroom is not perfectly clean but it's equipped with "heavenly shower" which is a nice complement. Pools are nice at westin and there are even more swimming pools at sheraton where they share facilities with westin customers. Radisson hotel is right next to sheraton and they have cheaper food (fish and chips)over there if you do not want to dine in fancy restaurant every night. The bula bus is avaliable for going around the island and yellow bus is avaliable outside westin gate, for only $1 it will take you to nadi where you can find supermarkets, shops, restaurants and cheaper tours that still pick you up from the hotel(cheaper than booking in the hotel)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vvnvvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had a wonderful stay here. Our room was huge-loved the layout. Buffet breakfast was so good we didn't need to eat lunch! Lots of activities and daily schedules within this hotel-never leaves you bored. Great pool service & loved drinking & relaxing in & by the pool. Fire twirling at dusk is a must see whilst here. Partner played golf opposite the hotel-beautiful course & well maintained.
Took the "Bula Bus" around Denarau & to get dinner-very fun & relaxing. Took the local bus into town to do food shopping-very cheap.
Great hotel & recommend if your going to Denarau.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The Bula Bus (with thatched roof), the accommodation blaocks (with thatched roofs) and the restaurants (with the same thatched roofs) give the resort an ambiance. The eveing fire festivl/dancing is a must and the reaort's own dester island can be reached by boat each day. Nice pools and spa. Restaurants vary; the main one where breakfast is served is ok - I went to the next door Sheraton (same owners) as it was better. The place is not cheap - e.g. the Moo Moo Grill - but good food there. Happy Hour drinks good value. Staff out of the buildings (ie animatueurs) excellent and good fun. Reception and food service staff in main restaurant not brilliant. Overall a nice plave to unwind

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The Westin Denarau is located on Denarau Island where all the 5 star hotels are.
I always love the Westin Hotels and will always book this hotel on my travels to Fiji.
Their staff are very friendly and welcoming and you receive a bottle of fiji water on arrival.
Check In is always smooth and my room is usually available on arrival.
I love the pools and the spas on the beachfront!
Definitley book and Ocean View or Ocean Front Room - we stayed in an Ocean Front Room and they have a lovely view of the water and a balcony or patio.
The rooms are very large and the beds are to die for - I always have the best sleep in their beds :)
The only downfall in the rooms would be the bathrooms, they are a little dated and are not quiet up to standard with the rest of the room (when compared to the Sheraton which have huge infinaty showers) the westin have shower over bath and are the old style bathrooms you would still see in a 3/4* hotel. If they are able to refurb these then it would definitely bring up the quality of the rooms.
Apart from that we had a great stay - even though it was only for one night will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor are better as you have access right onto the property from your room. Ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

The Westin facilites, staff and the general ambience of the property are still good. The pool area despite not being huge is planned well and layout and plantings give a certain intimacy which makes it feel good and very useable even when busy - though if you are after laps this isn't a real option, dipping only. Rooms are Ok though the ac is noisy - but effective. Fiji time dominates so when things go wrong it is always 'hit & miss' if they will be fixed - this is as much a cultural issue as any hotel management issue and you mostly have to 'go with the flow'. As mentioned by many - food pricing is 'resort loaded' and sometimes extremely so - the Moo Moo restaurant whilst good is overpriced. This detracts and people head to Port Denaru to eat more cheaply - which seems a strange strategy by the management. Happy Hour with cocktails provides some relief and the nightly 'fire ceremony' and entertainment is generally interesting & good. Wifi is paid but the 24 hour - online time not one day - is a reasonable deal (FJ$25) for most users who want email, browsing and download/upload access. For a 5-7 day stay this resort, with its facilities, the added benefit of the nearby Starwood properties, and proximity to Port Denaru & the airport - there is little to detract from it's value if the rate is right.

Room Tip: Starwood Preferred Rooms appear better positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brick_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,333 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
761 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: £122 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 246 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 12 dining venues, 6 swimming pools and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing