We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Denarau Villas(Denarau Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sheraton Fiji Resort(Denarau Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Terraces Apartments(Denarau Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,753)
Filter reviews
2,753 results
Traveller rating
1,183
948
348
167
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,183
948
348
167
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontmeke loungeheavenly bedzing restaurantheavenly spabula busoceanfront roomgolf clubbuffet breakfastour honeymoonplunge poolfood and drinksgolf courserelaxing holidayground floortour deskcoral coast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,675 - 1,680 of 2,753 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After spending an amazing family Christmas at the Westin in Nusa Dua Bali a couple of years ago, when we decided to spend Christmas in Fiji it was an easy decision to choose the Westin. With 2 children in tow (5 & 3) we were excited to experience another Westin Christmas experience, beautiful Xmas tree, decorations, etc. We booked 2 weeks.
The hotel, pool, grounds and working staff are fantastic. It seems however that there is a serious issue with senior management. It is one thing to have bad staff morale, but when it starts impacting guests I think it is time that Starwood Group’s Head Office takes a closer look at what is going on here in Fiji.
No Christmas tree, no decorations, not even a little bit of Christmas tinsel. A beautiful Fijian choir was a treat for guests but it seems this was the only Christmas spirit on offer other than the ubiquitous expensive buffet lunches and dinners. Christmas is a religious occasion for many including the Fijians, but for many others including myself who are not religious, it is just a beautiful family tradition of fantasy, colour, lights, gifts and the special sparkle it creates in the eyes of children.
There were many anecdotal stories and rumours flying around during our entire stay amongst guests. It seems not many are happy with current arrangements and senior management decisions at the Westin & Sheraton Properties in Fiji. A staff strike on New Year’s Eve day was not surprising after the fiasco and offensive decisions of management during Christmas. A strong rumour was that the local village Chief had put an ultimatum on the Westin & Sheraton management or they would shut down the access road into Denarau. What is going on here with the Starwood brand?
On one occasion a group of about 20 of us including many children thoroughly enjoyed watching a couple of Fijian gardeners climb a Coconut tree to remove potentially dangerous coconuts. They even opened coconuts for everyone to drink the juice and try the flesh. This was a fantastic and insightful experience with many cameras working in overdrive, and it should become part of the daily activities. However under current management practices the gardeners subsequently were berated for wasting time. What a mistake. This is the Fijian experience your guests want!
The Westin has so much potential and I imagine, with at least, some serious retraining and counselling of senior levels of management and key decision makers things might improve for the better. I would hate to think from the perspective of the Starwood Group how much money is being lost by guest’s spending money off site. The restaurants and bars in the evening are lacking patronage and soul. Visit the Port that is where the money is being spent. I guess the soul and spirit will come back when staff are happy but this issue needs to be urgently resolved by Starwood’s Head Office, not by management in Fiji. My children didn’t get the Christmas experience we invested in at the Westin Fiji.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed over the Christmas period in an ocean front room which was very clean and comfortable. Staff were generally friendly and tried to be helpful, though they seemed somewhat confused about some of the Christmas meal bookings/options. We were given incorrect information about how to book our Christmas meal. They didn't publicize any trips or activities outside the resort unless you used the travel agency on site, and my husband wanted to book a fairly personal fishing trip but he wasn't even able to do that through them but did manage to by speaking to some of the locals. No Christmas tree in a traditionally Christian society seemed a bit mean, particularly as there were a lot of guests who petitioned for one, but even that seemed to fall on deaf or stubborn ears. The resort seemed to lack a bit of personality of its own.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Bula Beverley C
Thank you for visiting us from Perth and for your feedback. My apologies for the service shortfalls you have identified, we will train our staff better in regards to packages. All our activities are offered through our business partner Rosie Holidays and our guests can book activities of their choice through the tour desk located in the lobby. We will escalate your feedback in regards to Christmas Tree to our senior management team.

Warm regards
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Loved the beds,they were so comfy the temp of the pool it was vert refreashing and plenty of shade the location,the staff.
Hated the checkin, wasted so much time due to confusion over deposit,they got it wronge,the size of the hotel It's so big,the food was awful although the breakfast was good

Room Tip: Ask for one at the froof the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Bula TammyAussie

We appreciate your time and your feedback. My sincere apologies that your overall experience was marred by the check-in experience. We will review our procedures to ensure we are more efficient in this area.

Our Westin signature Heavenly beds are indeed very comfortable and very well received.
Be Well
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Westin over the Xmas period after a 5 night stay on a small island in the Yasawas. Whilst the resort was nice it felt like were were staying at any other large commercial resort that could have been anywhere in the world. There was no beach off the resort and to do any activities such as snorkelling you had to go on a tour with prices starting around $100AUD per person. We found it impossible to get a deck chair around the pool as they were always taken and the food was expensive and not great. Whilst this is a nice resort for a stopover I would not suggest it as a holiday location when there are so many beautiful places to explore in Fiji.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Bula jessica1357

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. Whilst we do not have the same beach as the Yasawas, our resort does provide a great base for a Fijian holiday. Our guests use the offerings of a 5 Star accommodation and explore the outer islands and the inland attractions of Fiji. My apologies that you did not experience the Fijian vibe as we are the only resort on Denarau with a distinctive Fijian cultural look and feel and our staff get great feedback on their warm and friendly nature.
We do hope you had an overall positive experience in Fiji
Warm regards
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here over the Xmas period and as returning guests we were not disappointed. We had learned to book ocean front rooms and despite visiting during the wets Eason we had an excellent run of weather over the ten days. We booked with My Fiji and had breakfasts and dinner included each day. This always worked out well, although for three days over Xmas, I had problems each time using the vouchers for dinner as staff kept interpreting the conditions of the holiday period meals differently. Luckily I found Sandro at Flying fish extremely helpful or we may not have been able to use the vouchers on 3/10 nights. Not such a bargain. I was lucky that I had thought ahead and tried to do bookings or I may have been frustrated on the night.
Rooms were of a high standard with comfy beds and plenty of toiletries etc. a problem with the air conditioning was fixed after two visits.
The choir from the local village singing Xmas carols was a nice touch, as well as the Santa hats on the staff on Xmas day. Asked several times about a church service but was unable to obtain any information. Could have had a greater Xmassy feeling to the hotel.
We enjoy the peaceful surrounds and when comparing with nearby hotels it is much quieter and relaxing, particularly in the pool area.
Breakfast was included and always sets you up well for the day. I did notice that the staff no longer sing farewell to departing guests on their last morning- a shame as this was a lovely touch.
The Bakery is a good option for lunch if you're not really hungry.
We did the hotel's farm tour combined with Fiji rum and chocolate tasting. Very interesting and a good innovation.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for ocean front rooms. Upstairs means you won't hear the guests above you moving furniture all night.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimbo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Bula Vinaka kimbo35

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your loyalty to Westin Denarau. We are pleased to have added positive memories to your stay. We will work on the areas of improvement as highlighted. Indeed the village choir which include some of our staff have magical voices.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews