We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the Westin in March ... The ocean front room was lovely. the bed and pillows were amazing . The staff were extremely helpful this was a truly relaxing holiday. The spa treatments were fantastic. The bulla bus is a fun ride to port Denarau were you can have a fun time shopping and enjoy the Hard Rock Cafe and many other restaurants can't wait to go again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,486 - 1,492 of 2,629 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Due to the timing of our flights, we had stays at Denarau at both ends of our trip, just over a week apart. We've stayed at a couple of the other resorts on Denarau on similar occasions in the past, and while I've read that the Westin is one of the older resorts in the area, I wouldn't have otherwise known it.

We were in an "Ocean Front Room" on both of our stays--the rooms were very comfortable, and only a short walk from the other facilities at the resort. The beds were great, as seems to be a hallmark of the Westin brand. The resort is super quiet, so you will hear if you have particularly noisy neighbours!

Since we had a bit of free time, we made use of the activities desk, which on both occasions were able to book us at short notice on fun local tours to fill half a day (given the number of choices, it's very good to have someone familiar with the people who run the various tours). There were also some evening presentations (music at the outdoor lounge, fire dancing, etc) which were of a surprisingly high quality.

We ate at the Steakhouse restaurant on one of the evenings, where we had eaten on one other occasion nearly 5 years ago. The quality of the food, which we found superb years ago, was very good but a bit of a step down from before, and certainly a step down in terms of value for money. Our stay was during the busy Easter holiday, and the restaurant service was slow -- beyond "fiji time" and we genuinely thought we may have been forgotten. This was fine with us, as sitting at a table looking out over the ocean sunset was lovely. :) The staff are all so friendly and eager to make your stay enjoyable, but perhaps were not ready for the influx of guests.

From our understanding, the resort was at capacity, and aside from the aforementioned slowness at the restaurant, we didn't get a sense that the resort was crowded or busy--it maintained a relaxed, friendly feel through both of our stays.

Families (and kids at heart) will appreciate that the resort is only a short walk from the inflatable waterpark on Denarau Island. You'll still probably want to take the Bula Bus (or a taxi, we'd recommend) to Port Denarau, unless you want to go for a bit of a longer walk...

We definitely recommended the Westin if you plan to stay at Denarau for a short time... Nothing against the resort, but if you're traveling to Fiji just make sure you get off the mainland to some offshore islands to get the full Fiji experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Bula Vinaka Brad F

Thank you for a detailed feedback from your recent stay. Indeed, our signature Westin Heavenly beds are very comfortable which you have enjoyed. Whilst we are the oldest resort on Denarau, we have continuously upgraded our facilities to ensure we meet our guests expectations. As you have stated, present day Fiji offers a lot more options in terms of entertainment and adventure and I am glad you took full advantage. I am disappointed to note the less than perfect experience at Steakhouse and we will be making some changes to this restaurant shortly including addressing the "Fiji time". Similar to you itinerary, a lot of our guests use Westin as a base of modern, comfortable 5 star facilities and explore what Fiji has to offer in hinterland and outer island.

Be Well
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I went with my 2 teenage daughters (17 & 14) and we all thought The Westin was wonderful. The staff are very warm and welcoming. You feel like one of there friends. The Westin has a more relaxed feeling to it than the other hotels and the room is clean and spacious. My only gripe and it is a small one is that as you can only get long life milk, I missed a good cup of coffee. And they sent specials to my email address which I wasn't aware of. So missed out on daily specials. Overall the food was magnificent and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lua A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Bula Vinaka Lua A

We appreciate you taking time out to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted you had a great family time with your teenagers. Like you I like a good coffee as well and the team have perfected using long life milk and the local dairy industry is working on being able to deliver fresh milk. Great to read you all enjoyed our Superfoods (high antioxidants) inspired culinary offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next family getaway.
Warm regards
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for nine nights. We had two beachfront rooms that had great views and extremely comfortable beds. The resort pool was the best in the Westin/Sheraton complex as it had plenty of shade and lounges. We found Zing to be the better of the two restaurants, both in price and taste. However found the best restaurants in Denerau to be Mamacita and Indigo. We had a lovely time at the Westin and found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Writing about the restaurant Zing, within the complex. We booked for 5 pax at 8pm. Arrived, restaurant empty bar two tables. Only given a table of four, so we had to get our extra chair, and wait for an extra setting, that came when meal finally served. Being Asian food, chopsticks were on the original setting. Cutlery was brought on a dinner plate, short supplied, and put on the table!. Staff were surly and really did not want to be there. Food was very mediocre. Children wanted ice cream. Took forever and it was almost back to milk by the time the dishes came. One has to blame management for the unhappiness of the staff that floats through the air at these complexes. I strongly recommend that outside restaurants are patronised....the food is far better, value for money and you are supporting local business, not overseas concerns that don't pay well. Personally I felt awkward knowing that the staff are disgruntled with their pay conditions and the guests are spending up big, either voluntarily or not.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Bula Vinaka Barbara A

Thank you for your feedback from your recent experience at our Zing dinner restaurant, from the onset I extend my personal sincere apologies for your poor experience. I am also disappointed to read the review as this is not what we train and strive to deliver to our guest and not the norm for this restaurants feedback. We will definitely be having a very thorough review with the team. In regards to the staff pay conditions, whilst these are subject to mutual negotiations in collective bargaining, for the record we do pay above industry awards.

My sincere apologies for the poor experience.

Warm regards
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I travelled up in the first week of the school holidays with the wife & 10 year old son for a week in the sun. From the time we arrived to the time we left everything was fantastic. My son couldn't get enough of the kids club (run by the Sheraton Fiji next door) and went most days and a couple of evenings. We made the most of the child free time relaxing by on of the Westin's own pools or at one of the pools at the Sheraton Villas or Sheraton Fiji. For us having the flexibility of being able to move around the three resorts was brilliant; we enjoyed a number of the restaurants on offer across the three properties and found them all to be good. Like any resort restaurant though the pricing can be a little more than main-street, but is was generally worth it.The room was all it needed to be, with air-con, and two comfy beds it suited our needs nicely.
The poolside service was good, occasionally it was hard to get a drink or food but hey we were in no hurry and fully embracing island time! We were right at the end of the Westin rooms, next to the Sheraton Villas which was a great location as it made us feel very central to everything but not so close it was busy or noisy. And the Bula Bus was a 2 minute stroll away! Definitely planning on returning in the next year or two for more of the same!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aarono_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Bula Aarono _NZ

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are pleased we were able to provide a comfortable setting for a great family holiday with some "me time" for you and your wife as our kids club took care of your son.. Great to read you took full advantage of our sister Sheraton resorts kids club and dining options.
I am sure you all returned hope rejuvenated and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next break.
Be Well
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Altough We were told by the taxi driver from the airport that this was the oldest hotel in Denaru we saw nothing old on it.
Great staff. Great Breakfast and heavenly bedroons.
The pools could be bigger but that's not a big deal.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,332 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
761 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: £122 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 246 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 12 dining venues, 6 swimming pools and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing