We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My pick of the Denarau resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Artarmon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“My pick of the Denarau resorts”
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We checked out all the others while at the Westin: the Radisson, Sofitel, WorldMark, Sheraton and Hilton Fiji Beach Resort and Spa, and while the Westin appears to be the oldest in the group, it still has a more than acceptable standard of room and amenity, and is by far the most relaxed, secluded and quiet resort of the group which is just what we were looking for. We had an initial problem with the air conditioning not working on the first night but were quickly moved to a new room at my request the next day. This new room turned out to have a better view of the beach which was an unexpected bonus. the nightly entertainment was of a high quality and I liked the fact we could save a bit on drinks by buying our own at about a third the price at the little convenience store a few feet from the bar. We quickly learned the restaurants in all the resorts were a bit of a ripoff but at nearby Port Denarau marina, a 15 minute easy walk from our resort, we found a number of great eateries that were much better value. Port Denarau has it's own free shuttle bus that picks up and drops off at resorts ever 30 minutes or so for those who'd rather not walk or get wet if it happens to be raining, which fortunately only happened on one of our seven days there. A trip into Nadi town is worth the F$24 return taxi fare to look around and maybe pick up some handicrafts or a bula shirt or sarong, but be careful of the aggressive shop touts on the main street and the pressure selling in the big shops like Jacks and Tappoo. Denarau is a great base for vegging out around or swimming in the wide choice of pools at your dispose, eating, drinking, watching talented Fijians entertain you, shooting the breeze with fellow guests, exploring the main island, buying Fijian wares in town or hanging around the marina... just don't expect to snorkel off the beach as the water is the color of milk coffee... leave the snorkeling for the islands off the coast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GregGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    838
    324
    155
    100
See reviews for
532
1,199
101
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patumahoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My husband and I just spent 6 nights at the resort, and deff loved the place. It was clean, tidy and deff a 5 star experience. We had an ocean view room which had serene views and very spacious. The beds DEFF lived up to the name 'heavenly bed'.
The staff were all curteous and friendly and the resort was always in mint conditon. No sign of rodents!!! (of which i have read earlier)
The restaurants were a good mix and it was good that we could dine at other properties and charge back to the room. The private island which is leased to the Westin and Sheraton guests was also nice..
All in all, was an excellent experience and would deff recommend and go back to this property.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty4SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Great hotel, very clean and spacious. The pool was fantastic and very large. There were less people through the week however weekends were very busy. The variety of food could be better and the prices were very expensive. Would definatley go back again.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happyholiday66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

After reading other reviews before we left for Denarau Island I was to be honest scared & expecting the worse from The Westin.
We stayed for 4 nights during the week and it was great. The resort was big, clean & relaxing. Our room was in the 2600 set on the top floor, the bed was amazing & we loved the room. I have stayed in backpackers to 6 star hotels & this was the first room where I walked in and said 'wow' out loud. Not sure if it was the fact that I was expecting rat infested unmade beds & mouldy bathrooms. Air conditioning worked, tv was big flat screen. The toilet light bulb blew while we were there so told the guest services desk & it was replaced before we arrived back at the room. As for the service around the pool area & bars, we were always approached and asked if we would like drinks, even when sitting out in the foyer. Staff were always friendly & polite. Breakfast was good, tried a bfast at the Sheraton which was ok - basically just the same as The Westin besides waffles & smoked salmon! The tour ladies at the tour desk were so friendly - no complaints at all. we hired mopeds for the day but it was raining so they swapped it without charge for a car and we took off down the coral coast, this is a great option. If you didn't get out of the resort, you feel as though it is like anyother resort in the world.
Our only complaint is the food, not quite up to Aussie standards but keep an open mind. we did find a good meal at The Chef which is located at the Marina - catch the $6 bulla bus. there are about 6 restaurants there and at least half price of the resorts restaurants.
Beware of Nadi town with the souvenir shops, we heard one couple walked into a shop and were asked their names then while they were looking, a guy was carving their name into a wooden souvenir and were hassled until they bought it. You can load up on food at the supermarkets & local fruit/veg & kava market just off the main street.
Overall happy with the resort, staff & locals.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pgb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Just returned from 4 night stay - didn't believe a Westin could be as bad as the reviews i read before leaving - my mistake. The grounds are nice, but dated, same with the room. We didn't have any rats in the room, but my wife did see a few in courtyard outside of room. Phone didn't work in room, they didn't fix, but setup new phone. Only 1 bathrobe, they never brought another even after requesting. SAME dishes outside hallway for 3 consecutive nights. No dvd in rooms on ground floor - they don't tell you this when you check in (no diff in price between ground floor rooms and rooms on 2nd floor) - i didn't realize we didn't have a dvd player at first, then when i requested they told me only second floor rooms have them - i proceeded to let them know my discontent and they told me they would get one to me...never got one or received another call about it after they told me that. The pool is pretty, but no life going on at resort. I would've enojoyed some music or ambience, but there is none. Also, the jacuzzi is not warm at all (i read in other reviews, but didn't believe) - believe it!

Bottom line is that the hotel wouldn't be so bad, but the service is beyond awful. It is hard to relax when the service is so dreadul and disinterested. Breakfast is ok, lunch is poor with hardly any selections. We ate at Steakhouse, it was ok, again service awful. Everything is pricey, but then again that's what vacation is about, but the problem is that the service is soooo frustrating, not relaxing, and you walk away without a great experience that you would expect for the money spent. If you get a drink at resort, you have to try and find a bartender and then when you find one they make you feel like you are putting them out by ordering something. There are 3 girls working in the convenience store and not one is the least bit helpful or friendly. I could write a book with all of the things that happened one day in the 5 minutes i went into the store to buy a magazine.

I asked the concierge where a good restaurant was and she couldn't answer. Then when i asked the tour desk about getting a tour of Nadi, they said i would have to go ask the tour desk at the Wyndam. No one is helpful or even remotely tries to make your stay more enjoyable.

I wouldn't recommend denarau island or Fiji to anyone to be honest. The people just don't care - laid back culture or not, i'm paying good money to feel like i am on vacation and to be waited on, but it is the staff that seems to feel they are on vacation and the customer should try and make their lives easy.

If you do go to denarau, the Sheraton is nice and has a good restaurant (flying fish) and lounge (Chimes) - the Hilton nightly restaurant is nice and the hilton is very new and modern.

I'm happy to be home and don't feel the satisfaction of having been on vacation - actually wish i had never gone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janagnos76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

This was our 10th stay at this resort and while we had a lovely time and will definitely return, we noticed some changes in the past year which took away from our recent visit.

The good --

* rooms were in excellent condition and well maintained
* facilities (pools, gym, etc) were similarly of five star standard
* buffet breakfast (included in room price) was excellent however they've taken the smoked salmon off the menu this year!
* in room internet ($25 per day) was fast and reliable

The not so good

*Warning -- meal prices have become outrageous -- approx double what they were two years ago. Don't mind paying resort prices for good food, but the food was not particularly good and the prices were obscene. Buffet at the Sheraton is now $88 plus 17.5% tax, kids half price. Kids meal (fish and chips for lunch) was $19 plus 17.5% tax, very difficult to find adult menu lunch for under $30 (ie burger or curry) and dinner mains not under $60 per person excl drinks etc. $8 for tea/coffee.
*now charge for the catamarans and other non motorised watersports (previously had been free of charge). Watersports activities are now run by an outside company and are expensive (and were not widely used while we were there)
*now charge for shuttle to Marina/between resorts ($6 per person per day)
* Kids Stay Play and Eat Free promotion (widely advertised by travel agents in New Zealand) was NOT HONOURED AT THE WESTIN despite us being told it applied at the Westin, Sheraton and Sheraton Villas (a number of other families we met there who were staying at the Westin based upon the Kids Stay Play and Eat Free promotion were very annoyed about this). Charge to Westin guests for Kids Club is $60 for the day program (for entire visit) and $20 per night for the evening program. Hotel is aware of this problem but does not seem too willing to address it/fobs you off.
* Business Centre was very unhelpful and facilities poor (would not rely on it if travelling on business)
* Grotty old pool/beach towels in desperate need of refreshing. Also pool staff regularly "ran out" of pool/beach towels by mid morning

Tips on finding good, reasonaby priced meals --

Most people seemed to be taking the shuttle to the marina for meals.

* Mamma's Pizza (at the Marina or will deliver to your room for $7.00 extra) -- awesome pizza and huge portions. You can feed a family of 4 for approx $30.00
*Hard Rock Cafe (also at the Marina) -- very good food at moderate prices, great selection
* Radisson Buffet (short walk down the beach) $33 for an excellent buffet dinner. Kids pay $1 per year of age
* Wine -- The Bottle Shop at the Radisson (just off the lobby) has good NZ and Australian wines at very reasonable prices (cheapest bottle of plonk at Westin shop was $49)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiwitravellers-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I stayed at the Westin Denarau with three companions for 8 nights and was extremely disappointed with the room conditions and service that we received during our holiday and post-stay.

Our rooms were in 2400 block and 2800 block. During the holiday:

• Both rooms received an uninvited nocturnal visitor (mouse). When the cleaner was notified the next day, they laughed and didn't do anything else.
• The rooms didn't appear to have any soundproofing between them. Consequently, full conversations (at normal voice level) could be heard from adjoining rooms, as well as people having sex.
• The 2800 room was "cleaned" daily but not properly. The bathroom was completely forgotten at least once and the floor wasn't cleaned at all until requested (it was so dirty that clean feet got covered in brown/black soot just walking from the bathroom to the bed).
• It took housekeeping two hours (and numerous follow-up phonecalls) to deliver an ironing board to the room and over 20 minutes (and at least three follow-up phonecalls) to get an alarm clock turned off in a vacant adjoining room (by which time everyone in the block was probably awake).
• We were left waiting for over an hour for our dinner at the Zing restaurant until we finally asked where the food was. The kitchen then admitted that they'd forgotten about our order (and the restaurant was only half full).
• In general, the hotel staff were very friendly but extremely slow (even for Fijian time), forgetful and unresponsive.

After the holiday, two members of our group found that their credit cards had been charged (without their knowledge) for FJ$800. When notified, the hotel stated that it was a bank error relating to the hotel bond and that it would be refunded within three working days. However, it took 19 days from the original transaction date (11 days from when the hotel was notified), countless international phonecalls and numerous emails to get the money refunded. The hotel was also slow to respond to the accommodation issues highlighted above and would not offer any kind of monetary refund despite agreeing that the room conditions and service were not to standard.

The only redeeming features of the hotel were the Heavenly Spa lap pool and the extensive buffet breakfast (with the multi-tasking egg chef) - both of which you can experience without having to actually stay there.

Overall, our Westin Denarau holiday was extremely disappointing and the aftermath was inconceivably frustrating. It was nothing like the 5 star experience that the hotel purports to offer.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatterboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,072 reviews
39.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Property: The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 246 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing