We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overated-- no beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“overated-- no beach”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Denarau island is not what we expecded its realy just an extenchion of the mainland so no beach to speek of,the hotel have a lovely main area but very average hotel blocks,it has manny rooms that was all ocqupied so we had to wait for 25-30 min in quee to get our breakfast ,I had orderd a room on the ground floor with a king bed,we got second floor with 2 beds,no elevators,by the time we had unpacked it was abouth 4 pm we just wanted a quick snack at the lovely bar area but was informed the kitchen was closed only after pointing out that the sign said food to 5 pm did we get served,we stayed to the left of the main building near the front of the beach but this was also the area where the had outdoor weddings every night with music til late but when we asked for a diffrent room they moved us strait away,pool area is nice but small aswell as being very cold also the where reparing some damaged flooring in the beach front steak house next to the pool so it was NOT peacefull by the pool,and there are no beach just a small strip to get the jetski in and out,my advice go to the islands or to the raddison a bit down the beach,the spa area is AMASING,bed toooooo soft

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatdaneAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    835
    323
    155
    100
See reviews for
531
1,193
101
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed for 14 nights in June 2010.
The large upstairs beachfront room had high ceilings in a Fijian motif, and a decent sized balcony overlooking the beach. The ground floor rooms do not have high ceilings, and may have an obscured view due to an embankment, but would be perfect for children having access to a grassy area. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide selection. The restaurant food was excellent, not cheap, but not overly expensive considering resort costs. Other resort restaurants are a short walk or Bula bus ride away, along with a wide choice at the marina. The north facing beach on Denauru looks artificial, and is a bit gritty. The West facing beach is natural, but more open to westerly winds. Our room was clean, and service faultless. Yes sometimes service can seem a little slow, but maybe this is the reason you are here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This resort was booked at the last minute, and had a good rate at the time. I had no idea what it was like, and it was a case of blind faith.
Now when you look at the books and mags, it says its 5 star, this doesnt always impress me, and is not why we stayed. So that out of the way. Here are some of the things I encountered.
Although the hotel to some would be amazingly modern and upmarket, there are some elements which I have to say lost that resort feel. The pool for instance was not as inviting as you would like. it was angular and a little clinical really. Having stayed in fiji and the islands before, I found it had lost that beachy feel - especially as there is not really a clean beach to swim in - you have to go round the corner to the sheraton for the beach.
The rooms - were nice dont get me wrong, but it could have been a hotel room in any city. The beds are heavenly as they always are - although there was blood on one of the duvets which didnt have the cover.
Breakfast was an effort really - whether you get there early or late,there is a que to get in and be seated. The hotel was at max capacity so it could have been timing. But we found this a tad annoying. Breakfast was lovely however.
This is not a kid friendly place in my opinion, you are better off going to the sheraton next door. By contrast when we went to the sheraton - there were kids everywhere - although 1 of the pools was not much better than the westin, it was choka!
I actually thought the sheraton villas was alot better.
There didnt seem to be much going on at the westin really - it was quiet - no one played volleyball or seemed to use the kayaks etc.
The main thing that annoyed me - was the prices, they were taking the mickey really. Meals are super expensive, and they tell you the price - then add the 17.5% tax on - which makes the smallest dish SUPER EXPENSIVE. Infact this time in fiji, has made we sit up and think if its worth going back, as its not a cheap get away anymore. The resorts have you at their mercy with food. I suggest taking your own food, and making a trip to the markets to get fruit.
Overall the special we got was for 50% off normal rate which was great. However I wouldnt pay the full price to go there. I got married at sonaisali and at the time this was a lovely option, so look around at the resorts and think about whats important to you on your holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasondtraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scone, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Spent 2 weeks at the Westin and found it to be a very nice hotel, there was my wife and I and our 12 week old. Arrival was great, and room was as we booked, very nice room, but like everyone says, there is no minibar, we found this strange. As I said rooms are great and beds are very comfortable, but the bathrooms are like a step to a different place, it was clean but very outdated, towels were an issue (6 one day, none the next) but upon a phone call they were there straight away, room was serviced well, but could be at any time of the day. Need to stop the practice of reserving deck chairs with towels like the Raddison has. Pool food was ok and drinks were fine but very very expensive compared to other places, you expect high prices at quality resorts but these were crazy, go to nadi town and buy your own beer and nibbles etc, it will help the locals too that have been hit hard by the building of the Marina, didn't go to the spa due to price and didn't eat at the hotel resteraunts either due to the prices. Places to eat, at the port, Mama's pizza good to pick up, delivery very hit and miss. Nadina (fijian) great food lovely people. Indigo, Great Indian food great service. Cardo's, Great food, really cold beer. LuLu's awsome staff, cold beer great burgers etc and well priced, a real little gem. other places to eat are The Saffron in Nadi Town, best feed we had in Fiji, well priced and great staff. The golf and Racquet club Possibly the WORST PLACE TO EAT that we have ever been at in the world, and we have had some pretty dodgy experiences. The Raddison do a great buffet if you don't want to think to hard. The chilli tree in lautoka, is a great little cafe to stop at if you are doing a bit of a day trip and has a bit better shopping than Nadi town. lastly Bulachinno on the corner on the river bank is a great spot to have a cold beer or a nice coffee. Fiji is a lovely spot but would rate it behind Bali and Thailand, It is quite expensive and does not give you a varied holiday as the other places do. We would go back to the westin if it was just my wife and I but it is not a child friendly hotel and would most likely go to the Raddison next time with the kids, sure the beaches aren't great but the pools are fantastic. all in all the Westin was fine but need to do some cleaning and tidying up and review the pricing, hopefully the management will read this and take note, and get around and get some pointers from the other places, Breakfast was good, typical buffet, but the need to improve the quality of the fruit, it all looked like it had gone past its best.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porchy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2010

we had booked our family holiday with our six month old son and this hotel shoudl not be called a westin. it was disgusting, dirty, holes in sheets, doona stained, floor dirty, mould in bathroom, old toothpaste on bathroom basin, air conditioning dripping puddle on floor, the so called heavenly cot is far from heavenly, and something that i felt sick about putting our baby into... had dirty sheets for his bed... upon telling front desk about this there was little concern or reaction, it was only after much debate that we were transfered to another ocean front room and to our dismay it was not much better.... we have always stayed at the sheraton and thought we would try the westin, upon no further action from the hotel we then transfered to the sheraton which is just wonderful. i would never ever stay or recommend the westin again, it is a huge disgrace that this hotel is classed as a resort and five star because it is nothing of the kind... the hotel manager is also a very arrogant foolish young man someone i would not want to do business with.
please take my advice and never ever stay at the westin, for the money i expect service, quality and luxury all we got was dirt, disgust and despair.
dont do it!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frangipani4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

First of all I will mention before I start that my husband and I were travelling by rental van with other members of our family. We had been booked through Go Holidays by our travel agent as a group. When we arrived in Nadi we had travelled from Suva along the Coral Coast staying at other beautiful resorts along the way with no problems at all.

When we finally arrived at the Westin Denerau we were amazed by the beautiful front reception area and began to look forward to our stay. While we were organising our luggage from our van a tour bus arrived and we were pushed aside while the new guests recieved a warm welcome with all the drumming and many Bulas. Great were we not guests as well. We all went to reception as a group. Two rooms were ready and the other would be cleaned in the next half an hour. Time to have a relaxing drink. Well the waiting staff took a long time to take our our orders and deliver our drinks. While we waited my husband and I noticed that we were in another village away from our family. We asked reception if we could please have a room close to the others they agreed reluctantly to give us another room. So off to our rooms we went, after the bar staff chased us to sign the bills in which we had given up waitng for. The two other groups of family had nice rooms next to each other with nice ocean views and we got a dark dungeon that looked out onto what I could only describe as the compost heap. So back to reception we went and complained that our room was still miles away from the family and that we were not very happy. What a mistake that was. We were asked to take a seat in the main reception and then out came a female manager who then read us the right act in front of other guests and staff. She stood in front of us while we remained seated, growling and blaming our travel agent for the mix up. This we have checked since coming home and indeed we were booked as a group this should of not happened.

So now we had a new room which we had to wait for over an hour to be made ready it was still not close to family but hey after that treatment we were not ready for any more special Westin Denerau hospitality. The room was nice had the most amazing king size bed that was heavenly to sleep in. We still over looked the compost heap but because we were up stairs we has small windows of ocean views. The room was still very dark even during daylight hours we had to put on the light to see.

The next morning we went to the restaurant for breakfast. We were greeted by a young indain girl receptionist who was very grumpy and rude to the guests as they waited for tables. We had a special request as one of our party had sprained her ankle and no way could make the long journey for breakfast. We asked if we could take some food to her on a tray, breakfast was already paid for, and she told us No it was not right to take food to the rooms and we would have to talk to the superviser. Which we did and she was lovely and understood our plight. She explained to us about not taking perishable food because of the health risks but because she was so friendly and nice we were happy to do as she asked. On leaving the restaurant we showed the supervisor the food we had gathered and she said it was ok. The next morning same sour face receptionist giving out the same grief. This time we asked for a table to seat 6 she argued that there was only 4 of us. Hey our poor sister in law was still hobbling along and asked us to go ahead to secure a table. No understanding so what ever from this woman in fact how does she hold her job with such bad attitude.

My next complaint is the servicing of the room if you are lucky. In the mornings I made our bed. I put the wet towels in the bath tub ready for the cleaners to swap. When coming back to our room on both days our bed had been remade all pretty which was nice, the wet towels taken away and no replacements again another call reception and another long long long wait for the replacements. Not good this should have been done at the time of servicingof our room.

Maybe we have been unlucky with our visit to The Westin it has been like beeing in an episode of "Faulty Towers". We would definiately go back to Denerau Island Fiji but would stay at one of the other resorts. We do not recommend Westin Denerau resort to anyone unless you are Basil Faulty.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I went to Denarau just to relax and enjoy myself and got just that. Westin provided a good place to rest. Staff were friendly, room was clean, had good breakfast.
If you want to swim in the beach, you might need to go somewhere else because the beaches at Denarau aren't very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Aglaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,061 reviews
39.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Property: The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 243 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pool and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing