We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We very much enjoyed our 4 days at the Sofitel with just a few quibbles. First of all, the grounds are stunningly lovely. We had a luxury ocean side room; accurate but the ocean is further away than you might have imagined. The room was very nice,(a really comfy bed) but small, especially the bath. The staff was uniformly nice and friendly but housekeeping had some communication issues. One day came to the room and found no towels. We asked housekeeping on our way out to put some in the room. When we returned; still no towels. We helped ourselves at an open maintenance room so that we could shower. The food was quite good if a bit pricey. I am not a fan of buffets but we did the "lavo" Fiji night buffet and it was pretty good. There are lots of activities available and the pool is gorgeous. The main drawback to the vacation was not with the hotel but with the guest mix. There were hoards of keening, yowling shrieking toddlers that made for a bit of a trial. I would suggest that the hotel might have an "adults only" section of the pool, including a heated spa. Most of the guests were families on package deals and we found the same situation in the aircraft and restaurants. I suppose we were a bit surprised to find that Fiji is the new Disneyland.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pamncraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear pamncraig,

Thank you for taking the time to post your last review from when you stayed with us here at the Sofitel Resort.
I am glad that you had a great holiday with us and thank you for your kind comments about our facilities and staff. I am sorry you had a problem with a delay or lack of serviced towels to your room on one day during your stay, I will of course bring this to the attention of our Housekeeping Team.
We do get many families in the hotel with young children and this is the case in most resorts in Fiji, unless of course you choose an adults only resort, this is manly due to the fact its only a 4 hr flight from Sydney or Auckland and so easier for families. We do recognise that not all guests love having children around, this is why we have the adults only breakfast at Salt each morning, our quiet zone where you can relax and read a book with no children and also that V Restaurant has no kids meal options and so does not allow minors.

We are still working on the Adults only pool idea.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    1,225
    491
    187
    82
See reviews for
1,173
1,558
101
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parklea
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We split our family holiday - 5 nights on the Coral Coast for the kids and 5 nights at the Sofitel for Mum and Dad! We were greeted upon arrival by friendly and enthusiastic staff. At check-in we received an upgrade which was a very nice surprise. Our room was well set out with a small area for the girls (9 & 11) with a play station and bunks. I cannot fault the service - all the resort staff couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was hassle free. Even poolside staff seemed to always be wandering around. Whilst we didnt join in any of the activities there was a constant flow of activities staff on hand to gently encourage you if you wanted to participate. The champagne buffet breakfast had lots of variety and the staff were outstanding always remembering the girls names and greeting them each morning. We only had lunch a couple of times poolside but mainly ate at the Port as we had the fortune of making friends with some locals and spent evenings with them. We found the meal prices reasonable when converted back to AUD. Our room was always clean and the complimentary water was a nice touch to come home to each night. Our girls couldnt get enough of the waterslide and the pool catered to all ages. On our last morning the staff sang a good-bye song which was very moving. I would definitely suggest to families who want to be able to have a relaxing stress free holiday to book and stay at the Sofitel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Jodzzie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your last review, I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us here in Fiji. I am also glad that you enjoyed the upgrade of your room as well as the pool and friendly slide. I agree with you that the slide is always a big hit. Also I love the photos you also posted, especially of the water lilies as they look great.

We hope we can welcom you all back again soon.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from a week's family holiday at Sofitel. This was a family package that included buffet breakfast at Lagoon restaurant. We had two rooms booked. On arrival we found our rooms were in different areas and we asked if they could be adjoining. This took quite a long time to arrange but we appreciated the welcome drink that was offered. I was told my room change would be arranged in the morning but after a while I was moved to the next door room to my family. There were no towels etc in my new room and the mini bar had not been checked as on checkout I was billed for items that I had not taken. Housekeeing brought towels etc after a phone call. It is a pity that we weren't given interconnecting rooms.

We enjoyed the buffet breakfasts and appreciated the added variety of a special changing dish each morning at the egg cooking station eg hash brown bacon and egg burger. Particularly good was the carved champagne ham and pineapple fritters. We also appreciated being able to have espresso and lattes etc included in the breakfast. It would be great if they could be included in the price of the evening buffet also.
It was lovely to hear the staff singing many birthday greetings and "Isa Lei".
We also enjoyed eating at "Salt ", a lovely setting looking out at the sea. The Turtle Club menu was very popular with my grandchildren
We also tried "La Parisienne " and enjoyed their platters and affogato.
We had the themed evening buffet three times and particularly liked the Indian night. The man who made the Caesar salads to order did a great job but needs to be provided with a pepper grinder! The children loved their own kid's buffet area. I thought the evening buffet was quite expensive but as the children ate free if adults were paying that helped the cost.
Breeze Bar was very pleasant to relax in. Enjoyed Happy Hour.

The Turtle Club was very popular with my grandchildren and they enjoyed the various activities. The staff were wonderful. After 3 days they were given their own Turtle Club gift packs which included cap, Tshirt and a very good backpack. A great gift.

Our rooms were well looked after by housekeeping and comfortable. Balconies a little small - only suitable for two really so a little cramped for 3 adults to be seated .

BULA - aquarobics guys !! Great stuff - "Keep smiling, Keep smiling!! A highlight of our day.
Magnificient pool and the children just loved that slide ! All the activities guys were great.

Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Special thanks to the head activities/aquarobics/towels guy. Great sense of humour !! ( from Nana ! ) Loved the Tranquillity zone.

Hammocks were lovely at the beach and yes I note people's comments about lack of clear water at the beach and not suitable for snorkelling but we were aware of this and would suggest a day trip to snorkel.

On our last day we were to be picked up at 7.10 am but the night before were told our Air Pacific flight was delayed because of mechanical problems and our new flight time was 4pm. At reception we asked for an extension to our room check out time. We were allowed to transfer to one of our two rooms and use it till 4pm at no extra charge and as our flight was further delayed to 8, then 8.30 we really appreciated that.

A wonderful holiday that the children will always remember - vinaka !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausgezeichnet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My sister wedding was fantastic and went without a hitch! Fiji is a lovely place for a holiday and Denarau is a fantastic location to go with the family. We visit Fiji often but our recent trip left us feeling pretty bitter.

My sisters wedding was at the hotel so we decided to stay there to makes things easy. During our stay we had the following issues:
The room we booked is not what we got - it had 2 double beds in it instead of a king and a double, we ordered a cot which wasn't there (the room was so small there was no space to put a cot)
On arrival the room was not ready - we had to ask for towels, slippers, bath mat etc, the bathroom was not clean (this is an issue when you have a baby that you have to bath in the tub
The room was not ocean side – we had a garden for a view and the ocean was far in the distance, There was no water in the hotel on the afternoon of my sister wedding so we couldn’t have a shower.

The hotel gave us no compensation/apology for any of the above whilst we there so upon our return we have had numerous dealing with their front office manger. This man says 'sorry' and thats about it! He seriously needs some experience in service delivery and should have looked at the situation when offering compensation. He offered a free night stay the next time we go back - why would we go back to that hotel? Instead he'd prefer that I write negative feedback on site like this - we highly recommend people not to stay at this hotel. We were really disappointed and will not stay at this hotel again - the Sherton and Westin are far superior hotels on Denarau.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hotelguest389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Hotelguest389,

Thank you for posting your last review from your stay with us. On a positive note I am extreamly happy that the wedding of your sister went well and without a hitch as of course this was the main reason for you coming to Fiji.
In regards to your room alocation, we dont actually have a room type with a king bed and a double bed, we do however have a twin room that has a queen and a double bed which I read is the room type you recieved. Checking our system it shows that this is the room type you booked. I am sorry if this layout didnt meet your expectations. I am sorry that your room wasnt ready on arrival but due to early arrival flights we do try and get guests into their rooms as early as possible especially when traveling with children before our 2.00pm checkin time, to do this House Keeping some times rushes and misses items such as slippers etc, again I am sorry for this. The reason we didnt offer any compensation during your stay was sue to the fact we were not aware of your concerns. Also all of our guest rooms are names ocean side, this is because there is nothing between our guest rooms and the beach such as a road or buildings, only our gardens or pool. the maximum distance of any room from the beach is 65mts so we believe this is very close.
in regards to the water being out for 2 hrs, sadly this was due to repairs to the water line after the recent floods in April and so was out of our control and we were unaware until it happend, otherwise we would have notified guests before hand. The reason our Front Office Manager offered a complimentary night and upgrade for your next stay was so we could try and show you our true level of servce.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just got back from an 8 Night stay at the Sofitel; great holiday. If I was to be picky I'd recommend that they improve the quality of the buffet dinners at the lagoon restaurant and improve the level of poolside service, on quite a few occasions we had to track down our orders or track down staff to place an order, this was a mild inconvenience to a great holiday. Family rooms are great, housekeeping outstanding and staff very friendly. If you are thinking of booking at this hotel, I strongly recommend it. Waterside was an absolute winner for our kids (8 & 10) they loved it. This was our 3rd time in Fiji; best holiday yet.

Room Tip: Family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,114 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,573 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing