We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service and this wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

A large group of friends and I stayed at the Sofitel for five days for a wedding. The service on arrival and throughout our stay was flawless. The staff were always on hand bt never intrusive. The resort is beautiful. The pool and gardens are well tended, the restaurants serve excellent food, the rooms are lovely and spacious with good amenities. The location is great - close enough for a short walk to the marina, but far enough away from other resorts. The beach side location is lovely and the unspoiled scenery picture-perfect.

Room Tip: The ground floors rooms overlooking the garden and chapel are spacious and quiet
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahemilyyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2012

Dear sarahemilyyoung ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your last review from your stay with us here at the Sofitel Resort Fiji. I am delighted to read that you had a great holiday with us and thank you for your kind comments about the resort and our friendly staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back again some time soon.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,557)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,637 - 2,643 of 3,558 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

We spent 2 days here prior to heading out to the Yasawa's and then due to flight schedules another night at the end of the holiday.
The hotel itself is pleasant and the grounds and pool area are beautifully maintained. The rooms are what you would expect from a chain hotel.
But if you are travelling without children then this may not be for you. Even outside school holiday periods the children seemed to outnumber the adults. Some hotels have adult only areas, but not the Sofitel, so there was nowhere peaceful to relax.
It is also a popular wedding venue so there are often large groups and the wedding receptions can go on until the early hours.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sejonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2012

Dear sejonetwo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your last review from your stay with us, I am glad that you had an enjoyable time and loved the gardens and grounds. I agree with you about needing space just for adults away from the children, this is why we have the tranquil zone along the beach side in front of the Spa area as ther are private day beds to enjoy with no children allowed, we also offer an adults only breakfast each morning with complimentary sparkling at our Salt restaurant over looking the beach as well as our award winning V Restaurant in the evening which is again adults only. This then provides many options for people traveling without the children, its a shame you missed this different options.
We hope you are able to enjoy these on your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed recently for a short, three-night stay. We were in a King room, which is well furnished, clean, and everything was in working order. The hotel grounds are extensive and beautiful, as is the lobby/restaurant/pool area.
The restaurants on site are all marvellous, with high rankings in their own right on trip advisor. Salt has the added bonus of adults-only breakfast. Bliss. The safe and open nature of Denarau Island means you can walk freely between the different resorts, sampling the other restaurants as you go. That in itself is a great experience.
The pool is large and well maintained. Best at the non-kids end (perhaps discouraging kids from one end of the pool would be a good idea..), with a good no-towel-leaving-to-reserve-seat-for-6-hours policy, a habit that can drive you mad.The beach, while dark sand with the tropical plants embedded in it rather than pure white coral sand, is quiet and calm. Drinks are served there as well as snacks, as they are by the pool. IN the evening, at sunset, a walk along the full length of the beach is a beautiful experience.
We left the do not disturb sign out so I can't comment on housekeeping, but on the second day there was a card under the door saying that they'd noted the sign, but if we needed towels or toiletries, to just call housekeeping and they'd bring them up right away. A nice touch that was well received.
Lastly, this was our first trip to Fiji and we weren't sure of the service culture. What a pleasant surprise! Universally genuinely and delightedly welcoming. Even two builders on the site gave us a huge "Bulah!" from the floor below. That was mirrored throughout the resort. I can only assume that staff are treated with great respect, and that they pay that back in respect for their quests and employer. Keep it up on both sides! It is the thing that makes me now want to go back to Fiji.
I also read in the newspaper while there a letter to the editor from an employee. She was expressing gratitude to the hotel for the care showed to her and fellow staff after the March floods. If my memory serves, 4 mattresses and linen per employee, other household goods, and over 2,000 hot meals served to locals. That level of involvement in employees is admirable, and gave me a deeper experience.

Room Tip: King rooms are away from families, and so very peaceful. The resort is huge, so ask for a quiet room...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChilliGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2012

Dear ChilliGarlic,

Thank you for taking the time to post your last review from your stay with us here at the Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us here in Fiji. Thank you for your king comments about our facilities and especially our great and friendly staff members. It is correct about assisting our employees and local community who were badly effected by the recent floods with house hold items, food, clothing and cooking equipmet. Much of this support was funded by donations from our fellow Sofitel and Accor hotels around the world so it was well recieved. As you mentioned, if we create a safe and rewarding working enviroment then our guests will always benifit in the future with kind and warm service.

We hope we can welcome you back again for your next holiday in the near future.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

After spending a week at a family wedding experiencing the real Fiji further north we had four nights at Sofitel which was more up market and was the normal tourist resort which had every thing one would except at a more commercial resort, the location setting was nice, rooms were
modern motel style and close to the pool well maintained lawns and food and price were varied from each restaurant but was acceptable service was friendly and was an easy location to check out other resorts near by, over all a nice stay but was more like being on the Gold Coast we felt it lacked the real Fijian atmosphere after a week at our previous Fijian resort.
Paul S

Room Tip: If you want a commercial up market tourist resort with motel style rooms with lots of stairs than th...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2012

Bonjour Paul S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your last review, I am glad that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the resort facilities and friendly warm staff members.
We hope we are able to welcome you back again so for the Fijian experience.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLogie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here for a few nights before heading to our island. My favourite part of the hotel was the lawns and gardens outside our room. We had a basic ground floor room and it was great with the kids to run around on the lawns outside our room...perfect! The pool was nice but no where near as nice as others in Denaru. Alot of tiles are missing and a little mantainance is needed. However, it was sparkling clean. The kiddies loved the water slide!
I thought the hotel is not the same quality as others on Denaru...its the little things that can sometimes make a difference...like the lack of cushions on beach chairs, the random pots hanging around the pool that are in plastic containers like they are straight from the nursery truck, the tiles missing, the rigid security on the pool towels. The prices of the drinks and food is very expensive here. Even when compared to other resorts on Denaru.
Room was standard and nice. To be picky, the rooms are a little warm as you cannot put the aircon cooler than 23 and there was no ceiling fan in our rooms (I like sleeping in cooler temps or with a fan).
I commend the staff for placing our 4 rooms together (next to each other) for our stay. When we travel with friends we often request rooms close by and the Sofitel has been the only large resort that has actually able to do this so that was awesome for us.
Kids club - was amazing! The staff brilliant and they even have a seperate room in there so the kids can have day sleeps etc. Although it is terribly overpriced for Fiji at $25 per child per day! I was very shocked at the price esp when others on Denaru are free. Babysitting was cheaper option at times and the babysitter was brilliant! One of the best babysitters we have used.
We normally do not stay at the Sofitel when on Denaru as there are definately better resorts, but we got a great rate and decided to give it ago. I would definately stay again for a couple of nights if we got another good rate. I think my main dissapointment was the overpriced kids club.

Room Tip: we had room 189 which opened onto a quiet lawn and garden
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyliedbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2012

Dear Kyliedbu ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your last review of your stay.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with facilities, pool, waterslide and staff members, i am also happy to read that we managed to place your entire family next to each other to make things easier. just to confirm, the plants in the pastic pots in the pool area is only temporary, it was beacuse we had a couple of cracked tyles and so we are awaiting delivery of new ones from Australia and so we didnt want anyone to possibly cut their feet.
We do charge F$25 ( $ 13.50 AUD ) per child for a full day of care in our Kids club or you can pay only F$8 ( $4.20 AUD ) per 2 hour period for shorter visits, we believe this is a very resonable charge as we ensure the children are well entertained and taken on adventures around the resort as well as reciving and making special gifts to take home.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Sofitel was very nice, but doesn't quite live up to its name. The Hilton was much nicer and was less expensive (unfortunately it was not available during our entire stay). The room was nice and was clearly a "luxury" room at one time, but was starting to look a little run down. They were awful at restocking the minibar. The view was nice, we loved the pool (although it was freezing cold) and our daughter was crazy about the waterslide (it closes rather early, before the rest of the pool, so avoid a disappointed child and pay attention to the slide hours). It is virtually impossible to get chairs by the pool- the hotel really needs to invest in more. The beach is gross (NJ boasts nicer beaches), but the nice beaches aren't on Port Denarau, you need to cruise out to the smaller islands. The food was okay, but overpriced. Breakfast buffet had a nice variety and the seating area is very pretty. We loved sitting out near water feature. Everyone who worked there was incredibly friendly- you cannot get better customer service. We also used the babysitting service and could not have been happier. Great price and she did a fantastic job.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldwidewyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2012

Bonjour worldwidewyatt,

thank you for taking the time to post your last review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the resort, Thank you for your kind comments about our facilities and also our guest rooms, I am sorry however you had problems with the re-stocking of your mini bar. Also please be re-assured that we have purchased and now recieved another new 90 sun loungers and 70 sun umbrellas for around the pool and beach area so there is no problem now with getting to relax in the sun.

We hope we can welcome you back again for your next holiday.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,222 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: £137 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing