We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Had interconnecting room on ground floor away from pool and reception. They were very accommodating to provide that request. View was great - the kids loved chasing the frogs at night in the gardens! Staff were very friendly and rooms were clean. Pool is the best on Denerau for kids I think, very good for toddlers with shallow water they can play and learn to swim. Only negative is that they need more cots, we had trouble first night waiting 1.5 hours for one after it was prerequested. Many I spoke to had similar problems so there is definately a shortage - strange for such a family hotel. Also, the TV was not working well and never got fixed despite many requests but i guess that is Fiji time! Would stay at Sofitel again if I was to stay on Denerau Island.
V resturant was fantastic food, adults only was bliss.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    1,225
    491
    187
    82
See reviews for
1,173
1,558
101
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here last month, I have stayed here many times since opening. This is my first review.
We love the staff here they are so friendly and treat us very well.
The rooms are very tired, I understand they are in the process of refurbishing these, this is well and truly due. If travelling to this hotel make sure you get a refurbished room or you will be very disappointed.

Over the years this hotel has turned more & more into a family resort (I don't have kids).
There is no area for adults to relax without screaming kids which is disappointing when you are away on a relaxing holiday (we were not even there during school holidays.)
So think twice, if you are looking for a relaxing break, you are probably best to book at the Westin.

The breakfast buffet at the Sofitel used to be the jewel in their crown, this is no longer....in what appears to be some obvious cost cutting the selection is less than before, layout has also changed and is awkward and this makes for a chaotic start to the day.
They have added omelettes made to order' but this just makes waits for eggs way too long, no more freshly squeezed fruit smoothie bar either.
We were very happy to be moved to Salt (A La Carte) for most mornings.

Also there used to be washing machines, driers & ice machines on each wing. This is no longer. One of the staff informed us that this was because new management wanted to increase revenue from dry-cleaning. The only guests this is affecting here is long stays like us. It would have been nice to have been informed of this change to especially as we have stayed so many times and we would have bought more clothing with us. All brochures still show where laundry is etc, change not managed well at all.
The gentleman surveying us also said that no other hotel offered washing machines....maybe thats a deciding point for why people stay here?

Ice is now available for $5

To add insult to injury the hotel send out a inexperienced guest relations staff member who has worked at the hotel less than 3 months out to survey people on their stay? He was defensive when I mentioned the above. He did say he would pass on comments to management, he even said he would call us regarding our concerns, he didn't.... This is not good guest relations.

The reason I gave this hotel is a 4 is because of the staff that serve us year after year otherwise would have been a 3.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SW1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

If this were a three star resort and the prices were lower, this score would be better. But the rooms are dirty, the bathrooms are barely functional, and the terrible buffet dinners (at the aptly-named Lagoon restaurant) cost upwards of $100 USD for two. It wasn't a terrible stay, but we wasted a lot of money while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcrob96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

An excellent hotel, with lovely open grounds and with excellent facilities. Family friendly with great kid club. Pool was amazing with lots of space for all. And the only hotel in this area with a decent useable beach for those that like the ocean.

Good choice of culinary choice and a little market town just a short walk away with great cafes and bars.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We loved the resort facilities. It was great for teenage kids and their was lots of activities for us to do. The room we stayed in was in need of some maintenance. The bath tub was stained and the shower curtain broken. On a positive the room was clean and serviced to a high standard daily. We found the staff very friendly and approachable.

Room Tip: Try and get a package that includes breakfast. We didn't and we found very expensive to buy on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed for 10 nights in a family room on the ground floor. We have 2 children aged 5 & 3. In general we really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. But there are some problems with this hotel.
Firstly the good:
• The swimming pool is great and the kids loved the waterslide.
• The food is of a generally high standard.
• V Restaurant is really excellent.
• The Spa is very good – we had several massages there.
• We arrived early in the morning and were able to check in to our room.
• The nanny service was good, easy to arrange and 8fjd per hour.
• The resort is beautifully landscaped – much nicer than any of the others in Denarau.

Now the bad:
• The room next to ours was being renovated for the first 3 days of our stay. This was very noisy involving power tools etc. After one day of this I spoke to management – their response was to deny knowledge of any renovations. They then committed to not do the building work while we were in the room or after 2pm. Despite this commitment the building continued unabated for 3 days. The builders told us that the room was being renovated as a trial of a new look family room and the finished product was very nice – which makes the denial of knowledge by management more annoying.
• The air-conditioning cannot be adjusted by guests. Ours was set to 22 degrees – which is pretty warm at night with 4 people in the room. It took 5 phone calls and two visits to management to get this adjusted. Other guests we spoke to had a similar experience.
• The bed was uncomfortable. After about 7 days we discovered that the mattress was upside down.
• No plates or cutlery are provided in the rooms.

The average:
• The Sofitel does not have a shop where you can purchase beer or wine (unlike the neighbouring resorts). A can of beer costs 10fjd at the Sofitel bar.
• Kids Club is an extra cost.

We have previously stayed at the adjacent Hilton resort. The accommodation and service in the Hilton are of a much higher standard. The pool in the Sofitel is more fun for children, and the Sofitel is cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel during school holidays. Yes, there were plenty of children, but because of the big pool and the grassy area near the beach it did not bother us at all. There were plenty of sun lounges. Breakfast buffet at the Lagoon restaurant is a very busy and noisy place in the morning. If you travel without children you can have breakfast at the Salt restaurant with a beautiful view over the ocean. The service was very good and the staff is so friendly and always happy. We enjoyed our stay and will be back. The rooms have everything you expect from a five star resort.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor near the Chapel are quiet with a beautiful view. If you travel with children stay closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uli963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,122 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,578 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing