We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Relaxing with fantastic pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Relaxing with fantastic pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

From the moment we stepped out of the taxi the staff were so friendly and helpful, we couldn't have felt a more warmer welcome. The lobby is very grand with a mix of Fijian and European style. Check in and check out was quick with no issues. Our room was nice with plenty of space with a view of the garden and slide, our bed as very comfortable. Only let down in the was the bathroom, from the nice space in the room to the very small bathroom with a funny layout to fit everything in.
The resort it's self has great facilities and has a board of daily activities, so you can do as much or as little as you like. My husband and I made great use of the fantastic pool and slide. We also ate at all 3 restaurant: Lagoon buffet style restaurant has a nice breakfast selection. Salt restaurant, nice open aired restaurant over looking the beach with tasty food, nice staff and quick services. "V"restaurant, lovely sliver services type restaurant with air con, service was a little slow but it was worth the wait as the food delicious. I also made use of cafe La Parisienne, they do the perfect iced Chi.
Other than that make use of the Bula bus that stops at the hotel entrance every 15mins or so, tickets can be purchased from one of the 4 shops on sight. It's a good way to get around Denarau.
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel and would definitely stay there again or recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your detailed review, its a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our dining options as well as the pool and slide.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Simon Jinks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    1,193
    477
    180
    79
See reviews for
1,141
1,513
97
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I got an advance rate at a reasonable deal. I was suitably impressed overall. The beach is nice in front of the hotel and it is accessible . I am happy to say this is a hotel I would recommend and would go back to. The rooms have had renovations - bed was comfortable, shower over bath was less than perfect arrangement, internet was good. Air conditioning is too automated - I like being able to select a fan speed not having the fa\n speed go up and down automatically.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for your recent review, its pleasing to read that you had a good stay and would recommend and return to.

We look forward to seeing you again

Regards

Simon Jinks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Where to start? First you walk into a gorgeous lobby with flowers everywhere and are greeted by friendly "bula" from the staff, great way to feel welcomed. Quick check-in ( we were a group of 10). Then led to our beautiful room (135) with a view of the ocean. Room was very clean although the bath could use a re-finish. Great toiletries, all amenities. Big plus for me is the free unlimited WiFi throughout the facility - even in paradise it is nice and sometimes necessary to stay in touch with loved ones. General comment not directly related to the hotel: the beach is not the white-sand type (actually on the dark side) and although the water is very warm, it's color when we were there was not clear (don't know if ever is clear). Certainly not good for snorkeling off the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for your review, its a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the resort.

We look forward to seeing you again

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have travelled to Fiji many times and this is our second trip to the Sofitel.The hotel is great and we really enjoyed it. One only gripe I have is the price of food and drinks have increased substantially from our previous visit. Just a litre of Fiji water if you got it delivered to you whilst sitting at the pool it was $11FJD. if you went into the little shop at the hotel it was $4.95FJD. I expect a charge for someone to bring it to me but this was just a little over the top.

Room Tip: Great place to stay. Nice location. But price of drinks a little on the heavy side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozza36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for the review and for staying with us again. Its always good to hear from our regular guests and that you had another enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Simon Jinks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and warm. Bed is large and very comfortable. Conveniently located with private beach and activities stalls. Beautiful pool. Amazing spa service with private bures complete with outdoor showers. Within easy walking distance to the Mariner.

However, the toilet is small and substandard. Sheets were stained. Housekeeping services were often very late, room was not service until well after 3pm on several occasions. Amenities like cottonbuds & conditioner were not replaced when ran out.

Feels more like a 3 stars than a 5 star hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Its good to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the warm welcome of our team.

I apologise that our housekeeping service was not up to our usual high standards during your visit and i will continue to monitor this area.

Regards

Simon Jinks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Staff was friendly except a few bartenders. Ladies at the front desk and tour info were great. Food is over priced only meal we enjoyed was breakfast at Maravu. Beach wasn't anything we expected never saw anyone in the water nor on the beach. Rooms were not the cleanest only one plug was available for American 110 cords so trying to charge everything was a pain.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent trip to Fiji, however I am a little perplexed as the resort does not have a restaurant called Maravu.

Please contact me personally to discuss your review at H5706-gm01@sofitelfiji.com.fj

Regards

Simon Jinks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
39.3 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing