We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good fro Family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good fro Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Hotel it is perfect, beach front, good swimming pool, GYM, spa, the food are outstanding, I strongly recomend this Hotel.
The oly thing it is regarding the location, the beach is not that beach on FIJI pgotos, try to split your time between the resort and the island, there are the pretty beachs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Bula Paulo M
Thank you for your feedback, it is great that you had a good time. See you next time you are in Fiji
Vinaka
Alan Burrows
GM Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,406
    1,179
    473
    179
    77
See reviews for
1,121
1,499
96
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Nice lobby, good pool, lovely grounds, probably one of the nicer beaches on Denarau (which isn't saying much). The V restaurant (the fancy one) is very nice and well worth the little extra. This hotel is within an easy walk from the port so there are lots of dining options by Fiji standards. Walking up and down the coast and visiting all the other resorts I would say this one is easily top 3 - a lot of the others are more worn and/or have much smaller grounds.
The good: comfortable room, nice pool, convenient location, good beach
The average: bar/happy hour, the main restaurant near the pool
The bad: room keys deactivated almost every time we left our room and the staff were not in the least bit sympathetic to this problem

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TurtleTimeOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Bula Turtletimeout
Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room & our pool. We are looking into the key issue at the moment & will have a better solution soon.
Vinaka
Alan Burrows GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Enjoyed our stay, especially bar staff are so friendly (Oswald). Check in was 90 minutes late but enjoyed a complimentary drink. Room had a shower in bath which was disappointing for me when you are 194cms not much room. I would visit again purely on the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Bula Clark M
Thank you for your kind words about Oswald & the rest ot the team at Sofitel Fiji. We were pleased to hear that you had a great stay. We do have rooms with walk in showers so please make you request this style of room next time.
Vinaka
Alan Burrows
GM Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This resort povided the perfect weekend break from busy Suva! The room was spacious and airy with wonderful views over the garden and sea. Such a comfortable bed! The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were very happy with the food and choice of restaurants. The breakfast buffet set you up for the day and if you avoided the bun fight at the busiest times it was a leisurely and enjoyable way to start a day of sheer relaxation. Close by there are numerous eating options at the Marina. Swimming in the sea at high tide was very pleasant, I was surprised not to see more swimmers out there or people on the beach yet the pools were surrounded with people toasting themselves. Although we didn't have children with us it was good to see they appeared to be well catered for and families and couples could coexist and enjoy their holidays quite happily. The beach walks in both directions were very enjoyable and provided an interesting view of the other resorts. Overall, Sofitel was brilliant!

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet ask for a room away from the main public areas. The higher levels offer the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

stayed here july aug with my wife and was very happy, was in a 3rd room near lift and found the room very comfortable plenty of hot water, shower over bath, good size bathroom, excellent bed
housekeeping could have been a little better, but just a minor thing. plenty of activities it has the best beach of all the resorts. we never ate at the hotel at all ,so cant comment on the food as we went down to the port for all meals, we did try the golf course once but never again was not happy with the service all the food found lulus the best place to eat.
the only problem with the denarua resorts is that they have a no cash system, so if you want to have a meal or a drink at one of the other hotels with friends you have to put it on there account
the Sofitel have a very nice swimming pool and a great slide for the kids. I don't think you should be aloud to save pool side lounges as it leaves no room for others.
all the staff are just great. Cant wait until our next trip will be staying here again.
my sister was on the ground floor and we found our room a lot bigger than hers.
we did have free wifi in the room not fast but good enough.
and just love the bula bus, the mud hot pools was fantastic

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank broma48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Bula Broma48
Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our pool & found our rooms so comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Fiji soon.
Vinaka
Alan Burrows
GM Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

One of about 8 hotels at Denarau. 20 mins drive from Nadi. All hotels are within a development including a golf course, upmarket housing, shopping centre and Denarau Harbour port. All hotels are VERY child friendly so if this is not what you are after you may need to look at one of the islands. Just across the road from the hotel was a massive water park for children with massive blow up animals/slides etc.
Our room was an upgrade room on the ground floor room 175 and had an outside partially walled in bath, couch, large bed and large bathroom. It had heaps of storage.
Other people on our trip with us said that their bathrooms were quite small and they had to get out of the to get dressed.
At times the room service housekeeping was not great. Toiletries/towels not being replaced or rooms not being serviced until 4pm.
The pool is lovely and there is a water slide for adults/children.
The main restaurant has a lovely spot for breakfast surrounded by a lily pond and the breakfast has a great selection of food.
Staff are mostly Fijian and are all absolutely lovely.
Great inside areas/shops to look at and two cafés for coffee if the weather is not great.
There are many water sports available at the hotel such as jet skis, giant blow ups in the water at the beach and a desk info area where you can book activities in other parts of the islands.
Lots of loungers and hammocks to lie in.
Of all the hotels at Denarau this was probably the better one as it was laid out over a large area and did not have a "to commercial" feel about it.
Some of our friends had a massage at the spa and raved about it for days.
It is very easy to just wander along the beach or road to go to other restaurants or bars and you can walk to the shopping center at Denarau in about 20 minutes.
There is a Bulla bus which costs $8 FD for the day and it goes around Denarau but just as easy to walk unless it is very hot or you have lots of shopping.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Bula Angela N
Thank you for your review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the feeling of space, our pool & the spa. I have shared your kind words about our team with them. We are also working on more consistency in our housekeeping. I am sorry this was your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Fiji soon.
Vinaka
Alan Burrows
GM Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We came for a conference and stayed 3 days. Our room was adequate, but TV was broken. Was very clean and tidy. The bar is quite cheap for resort prices and generally the staff are excellent. The breakfast at lagoon was spectacular with a great range of fresh food. The coffee shop also made excellent coffee. If you are coming with friends or as a couple-do not come here. This is a very child friendly resort so there are a lot of kids and no adults pool. We had lunch at salt and were very disappointed about the food, service and drinks. Lunch and dinner is better at the wharf. Last year we stayed at the hilton so was expecting a similar standard. The hotels are streaks apart. The hilton is a much better place to stay (for the same amount of money). A couple of our group used the spa and were very impressed by their treatments. Free wifi is a bonus and very close to the wharf. If we came back, it would be because we bought our 5 year old. If you are staying buy the accor advantage plus card. You get 50% off food at salt and v (you don't need to be staying here)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Bula Colleen S
Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our spa facilities & coffee at LaParsienne. We are sorry that our experience at Salt restaurant was not better & we will be looking at the reason for our below standard service on this occasion.
Vinaka
Alan Burrows GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR and TravelUp so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing