We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Lambton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children (4 and 2). We stayed in a one bedroom suite and the accommodation was beautiful and very spacious/adequate for our family. We could say so many wonderful things about this resort and our holiday but we want to focus on how the Radisson dealt with a small medical problem we experienced and the staff.

On the second day of our holiday our 4yr old son fell on a small octopus slide and suffered a deep cut under his chin (nightmare for any Australian family travelling in a foreign country). Within minutes of the incident we had the security team and activities manager attending to him and we were promptly ushered to reception and told that there was a taxi arranged for us and the Doctor in Nadi was expecting us. The lovely Bernadette from reception escorted us into town, we waited for 5 minutes to see the doctor and all was taken care of very professionally and promptly. Bernadette received calls from the duty manager while we were travelling to and from Nadi...all the time we were being checked upon. Once back at the resort, later that night the duty manager called us to ensure all was well and we then received a card and fruit platter wishing our son a speedy recovery. We chatted to the GM about the incident and prior to us leaving the resort we noticed that a sign was placed next to the slide my son fell on warning parents to monitor there children carefully until alterations could take place on that piece of equipment. Couldn't ask for better management of the incident and this should be very reassuring for all parents reading this review, who naturally have concerns about taking younger children overseas.

We also want to mention all of the wonderful and beautiful people working at the resort. At every level, we found staff welcoming and very obliging. Thankyou to all we came in contact with.....we have to mention a few people in particular. To the awesome Harry Banana......we will not forget you....you made our trip to Fiji magic....not so good with sport but you really try and that is the main thing ...hehehehe (Scott and Steve Banana are the champions!!!). To so many of the other bananas Simon, Elmo, Sam, Eliza, Bill, Ma, Oni.......thankyou so so much. My son's best friend and school tour legend David, of course Bernadette from reception, the boys at the front carrying our bags and boxes of water Rocco, Isoa and others. To our gorgeous domestic staff Taravinni and Mereoni.....we wish you could take you home with us!!! Arthur on front desk, the gracious Aisea in Blu and to the chef....?Jo...who cooks the eggs at breaky...thankyou. We wish you all good health and happiness and we hope you GM prints this review out and shows it to all of you. You all made our Fiji experience the brilliant trip it was.....xx
Julie, Scott, Jarvis and Sofia (all converted bananas!!!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JollyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,776
    1,324
    425
    151
    94
See reviews for
2,719
1,256
100
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had stayed at the Radisson Blu previously and loved it. We were expecting the same again. We had booked a lagoon view room, the same as previous stays at this property. When we arrived we were shown to our room, which was ground floor with a view of a little bit of garden and the back of what looked like a shed. When I queried the room, I was told it was a lagoon view, even though there was not even a glimpse of the pool through the bushes. We were eventually moved to a much better room with a view. The rooms are very spacious, very clean, well appointed and have lovely views across the gardens and pool (if you have booked and get a lagoon view).
Breakfast was included but was very disappointing. There was plenty of fresh fruit but it was in general either over or under ripe. The bacon looked terrible but actually tasted really good. Most of the breakfast food was unappetising and unappealing, which was very disappointing. It was definitely not worth the money. On the other hand Cross restaurant was fabulous. Absolutely beautiful food, and I would highly recommend dining there, it isn't cheap but in my opinion well worth the money. The Asian restaurant open for dinner was really nice too.
It is a family resort so expect to see lots of kids, we were lucky and there weren't a lot of children while we were there. The staff are wonderul and friendly.
The one thing that will stop me from going back to stay here again, was the amount of alcohol that was served to obviously very intoxicated adults. Despite complaints from various guests trying to relax and enjoy the adult pool, the staff continued to ply groups of young adults with huge containers of beer on tap. I'm not a prude but their language and behaviour was totally inappropriate, and there were a number of elderly guests who had been enjoying the quiet of the adult pool area, who left because of the language and behaviour of these groups. The hotel management seemed far more interested in making money by selling copious amounts of alcohol to drunken guests, rather than ensuring the safety and enjoyment of the other guests. I'm not sure that this is appropriate at a family friendly resort.

Room Tip: If you have booked a lagoon view room, make sure you can see the pool. Rooms closer to the beach ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunshineparadise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed in the lagoon view room for 7 nights, great room with beautiful views of lagoon and resort. Staff of blu restaurant and bar were outstanding and very friendly.Great food and drink prices as well. Overall I would highly recommend this place for people with young children due to the great activities and loving staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maistr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Bula Maistr

I'm so pleased that you found our staff so friendly and offered outstanding service - vinaka for your kind comments and great review. We appreciate your recommendation to others and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nellabelle02
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This resort is VERY kid/family based which I could NOT tell from the website or else I wouldn't have booked there. The "lazy river" pool was closed and the adult pool did not have access to the swim up bar (which seems weird that the bar was attached to the family pool.) There were kids EVERYWHERE and a lot of activities for them. Since we were there on our honeymoon it felt a little out of place, we were glad we only stayed ONE night. The food was NOTHING special (chicken wings were teeny tiny) and very overpriced dinner in our opinion. Next time we will stay somewhere else for sure.
Best thing about it was the clean rooms w/ ac.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nellabelle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Bula nellabelle02

Firstly, congratulations on your recent marriage. I do hope that you had a wonderful honeymoon in Fiji and have left with some amazing holiday memories.

I was a little disappointed to read your review as we always try to ensure that our guests leave wanting to come back again! Yes, we are unashamedly popular with families - you just need to read our many Tripadvisor comments to see this, we have never hidden this fact. However, we do receive many positive comments from solo and couples staying with us.

Could I just clarify a couple of issues you raised please just for future guests reference. We have never had a pool closed and don't have a "lazy river" pool. Perhaps you mean the lagoon water feature....Our swim up bar is indeed in the family area, deliberately located there in order to not disturb the peace and tranquility of the Adults Only pool. We offer poolside service for those wishing to order food and drink.

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a garden terrace room at the end of our island hopping holiday. The resort is quite new and very lovely. The rooms and bathrooms were very spacious and clean. It's very family friendly, with a large pool and lots of kids activities, however, there is an adults only pool as well, where staff will come around and take drink orders, seeing as the pool bar is located in the main pool. It has the best breakfast buffet ever! We also ate at Cross, which was an excellent meal. We had a 2 hour couples treatment in the beautiful spa, which was reasonably priced, and the products they use are lovely. The standout of the resort for us though were the musicians who sang and played guitar, they played us a Bula welcome song and took people's requests whilst dining at Cross- they are amazing! We would have eaten at Cross again just to listen to them. All the other staff were fantastic by put these guys were our favourites!

The Bula bus stops just outside and can take you to any of the other Denarau resorts or the marina. It's about 20 minutes in a cab from the airport. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhiannon177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Rhiannon177

It sounds as if you had a wonderful time at Radisson Blu - I do hope that your island hopping holiday was amazing as well. Fiji really is a great tourist destination! And thanks for your kind recommendation of our property.

I'm so pleased that you found the tranquility of our Adults Only pool, Cross restaurant and our breakfast buffet to be a winning combination. I am particularly delighted that you enjoyed our musicians who perform in various places throughout our resort.

Vinaka Vakalevu, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I had stayed here back in 2011 for one night and really enjoyed it so this holiday I thought I'd do the same and book for the night we arrive in nadi and be close to the marina the next day to go out to the islands. WRONG choice!! This place has changed! We had prepaid our accomodation in a lagoon suite before we arrived and I had a print out at hand on arrival. The rude receptionist took it from me and I said that it was already paid for with breakfast and she just nodded and sent me on my way with the bell boy. We walked for 10 mins to our room, firstly he took us to a diff room, he got confused and wondered why the key didnt work and had to find out what room we were meant to be in. Finally we found our room but ther was a maintenance man fixing the lock in the door! That was reassuring! Our bags didnt arrive for another 30mins while the maitanance man was still playing with the door. All we wanted to do was have a swim, it was around 9pm. We finally got in the pool to be told we can't swim in it! But there was other people (drunk and disgusting) were in there! We ended up going back to our room to order room service. The food was over an hour late, food was stone cold and soggy and we paid $150 fijian for it! We tried doing some washing and the washer and drier constantly stopped mid cycle and I had to stand there and hold the door to the drier to work!
The breakfast the next morning that we had paid for was the worst buffet I had seen in my life! After getting attacked by the rude waitress as we approached the restsurant she jumped down our throats asking "what room number" the food was dry, cold, tasteless , covered with flies it was soo bad we didnt eat. Checkout was worse as we once again explained we had prepaid this and they had no reference to it and we spent 30 mins going back and forth with this issue whilst stressing we were going to miss our transfer to the marina to get the boat out to tokoriki island. This was the worst start to our fiji holiday and we will NEVER stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank FIJILUVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Fijiluver

Thank you for choosing to return to our property after your stay in in 2011 but "oh dear" where to start in my response? Whe have definitely changed since your last stay, in general we have increased our sevice levels and our focus on training to deliver amazing holiday memories. You short visit however proves that we are far from perfect with plenty of room for improvement. We sincerely apologise for a number of poor exchanges with the team, the maintenance issues then all combined with some bad luck.
In response we haven't taken pre-payments on our brand website for some time (we have just started again) so am guessing this was a misunderstanding. We do have a policy of closing the pools at 10pm for safety reasons and suggest someone that had had too much to drink (often from adjoining resorts, tours or the marina) was giving our security team a tough and worrying time. In regard to in-room dining that was not up to your expectations, I would have expected one of my management team to remove this from the account on departure and if this didnt occur please contact me personally.

We all remain very apologetic that we didn't start your holiday off the way we do for many other visitors and sincerely hope that your island stay was magnificent.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Gerard Knight. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

So much fit into a very well designed hotel! LOVED the adult pool area, looks like a lagoon enclosed from the rest of the facilites. Ate at Cross - wow! Food was amazing. And for fine dining the portions were pretty decent! Great views of the sunset!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kesh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear kesh08

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and high rating of our resort here in Fiji. We appreciate it! It certainly sounds as if you had a relaxing time enjoying our Adults Only area and dining at Cross restaurant. Glad you caught a beautiful Fijian sunset or two!

Vinaka Vakalevu and thanks for choosing to stay with us. I hope we may be able to welcome you back.

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,122 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,578 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Property: Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing