We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat Expensive but you get the service you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Somewhat Expensive but you get the service you pay for”
Reviewed 1 January 2011

`The hotel was the most expensive I have ever stayed at FJD 545 per night plus the taxes that they add at check out. Notwithstanding I have to say that the service from the staff was worth the price. I arrived at 8 in the morning and the reception staff went out of their way to put us into a room within 2 hours instead of waiting until the normal afternoon--that was nice of them. The food is very fresh and tasty but also costs you a premium so we ate most of our dinners at the Pier in nearby Denarau Port. Rooms were nice nice, bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Excellent maid service! Staff was the best part of this hotel--all friendly, professional and helpful. The internet speed in the room was quick but would someties go out for 20-60 seconds for some reason. Also the television only has 8 channels so if you are into television you will be disappointed. If you want to save money on food the suite had a full kitchen with dishes but we could not cook because the smoke sensors were so sensative that they went off unless you had all the doors open and the fans going. This in turn left to mosquitos getting in and we preferred a mosquito free room instead of home cooked meals that were cheaper. The hotel has very nice pools and a couple of bars. It also has a great Pizza place on the grounds. There is not much to do on Denarau besides the hotels and the Port so you will want to take tours. Overall, I was very satisfied with my stay there and would stay there again but next time I plan on heading to one of the island resorsts.if I ever return to Fiji

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,776
    1,323
    425
    151
    94
See reviews for
2,718
1,256
100
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Some place in Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Came here in April 2010 stay was great stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. However - Peak season - December everything seems to be more expensive and to top it off LAST day at the hotel - I have been bitten by bed bugs!
The hotel pools are the best on the island, the staff are Okay, front reception seem to be on islander time all the time.
Would I stay here again - probably not .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xoxo_dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

I recently stayed four nights at the Radisson Denarau after returning from the Yasawas. Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a drumroll from the staff. I'm not sure if I actually did receive my first unmentioned upgrade, but according to our confirmation we were supposed to have a foldable murphy bed, but instead we got an ordinary one.

Regardless we of course appreciated the normal hotel bed we got instead which as a matter of fact was a very good one, we slept like babies during our entire stay. The room provides normal amenities for a 4 or 5 star hotel. There is a LCD-TV with a quite limited selection of channels actually. There's a minibar, a good bathroom with tub, safe and a smallish balcony with seating. I think there was also free wired internet in the room, but I'm not sure since we only brought portable devices, but there was free really good, fast WIFI in the lobby and pool areas, for instance I used Skype to call my family from poolside with almost no interuption. Another nice touch with our stay was that we got complimentary bottles of Fiji Water when checking out, and that we were allowed to use the pool area until our departure after checking out.

The staff is also good, on a few occasions they were a tiny bit slow with for instance returning change and bringing drinks, but nothing too bad.
In general they were very helpful and nice.

Since Denarau really hasn't that much to offer, we spent a lot of time at the hotel itself. We had dinner at Fiji's first brazilian churrasco restaurant, which served a buffet, together with staff members walking around carving different grilled meats on to your plate. Delicious. We also ate at the famous Cross restaurant which was good, but not that impressive to be honest. The Kava ice-cream at Cross is fun though if you've tried kava before. We also used the 2 for 1 Happy Hour deal, between 4-5 in the pool bar, and 5 and 7 in the lobby bar everything is 2 for 1 regardless if you want eg. cocktails, sparkling wine or beer. I should add that they make really good cocktails at the Radisson.

The pool area is quite amazing. There is waterfalls, a water slide, childrens pool, adults pool, jacuzzi and so on. The beach however, situated outside the hotel is darkish and not very nice. If you want a good beach, there are ones a boatride from the Denarau Marina located close to the hotel with the Bula Bus ($6 for all day) or a one way cab ride ($5). The Denarau Marina also provides some shopping, The Hard Rock Café and a few other eateries. We had dinner one night at an Indian place called Indigo which was really good.

The only negatives that I can think of is that our high tech tv restarted itself a few times while we were watching, and at one point it just stuck so that we had to call reception to get it working again. And at another point, the poolside towel guys were out of towels for the entire day. Quite minor, but still, a little irritating.

In my mind the Radisson Denarau is a strong four. I would definitely stay again if in Denarau.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Featherston, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

THe Radisson Resort Fiji on Denarau was the perfect choice for our family holiday. I am in hospitality myself, and did plenty of research prior to choosing a location. I am so pleased that we reserved at the Radisson.
One of the best hings about the Radisson is the swimming pool. The water slide was a hit with the kids, but the numerous different pools, all attached by inlets or bays were fantastic. The entry into the pools are lovely sloping areas (no steps) and they have a nice non slip surface as well. But the ultimate great idea is the large sun shades over the pool. These shades allow in just enough sun, but in the real heat of the day it ensures your little ones are not getting absolutely scorched. We walked to several of the other resorts, and no other pool area even came close to the benefits of this pool. PLUS, there is a swim up bar for the parents, and they will also come around and serve drinks and snacks pool side.
The kids club is fantastic, and the ladies there were lovely with our children. At first I felt guilty taking the kids to kids club, thinking we should be having a "family vacation" but they were so excited and had so much fun, it was fantastic. The night they dressed up and went lighting the torches around the property was one of the kids highlights!
THere is also much variety for where a family can eat. THe main restaurant is noce, but the same every night. Cross restaurant is Fantastic! Do not miss this. We wook the kids and it was perfect. THe pizza place out over the water is fantastic and easy as well, perfect after a hard day on the water slide. We also ate at the Sushi place on two nights which was also good.
I would however recommend purchasing and bringing your own mosquito spray as the gift shop and all the restaurants were out of stock, so the first night the kids and I got hammered by mosquitos.
THe rooms are well appointed and fantastic with a washing machine for the basics. I would also recommend a quick trip on the Bula Bus to the port and a whip through the grocery store for basics like milk and fruit, coffee, and snacks. It was an easy and fun outing for the family and half the cost of buying from the resort.
Finally, we did a Southern Seas excursions on the last day, and the weather was poor so the kids did not get to go on the glass bottom boat, and the trip was so rough on the way back to Denarau that one of the engines on the Catamaran broke. It took 3 hours to get back to port! THat is a long time with two small kids. Perhaps book the trip earlier in the stay so you can change dates if the weather is poor to avoid dissapointment.
Otherwise, I again have to say what an absolute fantastic choice this resort is for a family with children.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FamilyHeartsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with garden and ocean views. The rooms are well appointed, very tidy, very well equipped with full kitchen/washing machine/dryer and the very large bathroom has separate bath and shower with 2 separate basins. The television channels are a bit limited but still reasonable and there's always that video ezy at Port Denarau (DVD players in rooms; just jump on the convenient bula bus for 6FJD a day). Complimentary in-room internet was handy (we did have a few issues with the connection being cut and blocked off but were eventually resolved after a few phonecalls).
Housekeeping can happen at different times on different days but they are always polite and you can stay in the room if you wish or just go for a walk/swim/sit on one of the dozens of sun lounges all over the oceanfront or around the pool.
Super breakfast is expensive but does have excellent variety. Try it at least once (or more if you can bear the cost.) Cross restaraunt is as amazing as everyone has said it is - well worth the expense. Even in-room dining was top quality with great service (I had tuna steak). My travel companion developed an addiction for the mojitos from the pool bar and when the very convenient pool bar was closed, had drinks delivered to us in the pool while we just sat in the refreshing water.
Yes - the pool! It is unlike any other. I could go back just for the pool alone - very large, great fun down the water tunnel (both adults and kids welcomes), the water is somehow always the perfect temperature (I think it's because of the stone material used in its construction), pool bar.
Gardens are very well maintained. As is the rest of the resort grounds.
Do try kayaking at the Adrenalin kiosk. The water does look a bit grey and the sand a bit brown/grey because Denarau is a reclaimed island. But do not be put off. Once you are in the water (you can swim in a very secured netted area or kayak, etc) the ocean is still as beautiful as anywhere else. Just no coral to snorkel around - but that is what the outer islands are for. And yes, highly recommend taking a couple of day trips to the islands.
The staff at Radisson are special. We went through the other resorts. No other resort has staff as universally friendly as that of Radisson's.
The regular vacinity for Harmony Spa was under renovations while we were there so we had a massage in one of the several resort rooms used as Harmony Spa's temporary quarters. The quality and skill of the masseuse was world-class. It was just unfortunate we could not have the ambience of the regular spa which is set within the rock walls of a cascading waterfall.
Shopping, getting around - Sheraton Fiji (next to Radisson) has Jack's, Prouds and a convenience store, Bula Bus costs 6FJD a day unlimited use and takes you to all the resorts on the island as well as Port Denarau. Westin has some good shops too. I recommend Island Artifacts at Port Denarau for Reniu products, souvenirs and jsut very good prices in general. There's a Yees supermarket outside Sheraton Villas as well as at Port Denarau. There's a money exchange at Port Denarau. Restaurants I recommend at the Port - Nandina's (Excellent Fijian flavours), Lulu's (esp. for breakfast), Amalfi does excellent Italian. There's also a bakery and New Zealand Ice Cream (alongside the many NZ ice creameries in each resort) at the Port. Oh yes and the video store/cafe is also found at the Port.
There was everything we need on the Denarau Island and no real reason to leave but day trip to the outer islands for some snorkelling was a fantastic experience as was hiring a car to drive around Viti Levu.
The Fijian people are just honestly an amazing, friendly, trust-worthy bunch that is so hard to come by these days.
There is a lot more that can be said about Radisson, about Denarau and about Fiji but to put it simply, we shall return to Radisson Resort Denarau Island ASAP.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XLuvsVacationsX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We were quite overwhelmed upon our arrive with the impressive entrance the on flow of relaxing water features and many pools.
The staff showed initiative and care, you can see they really enjoy their job - the excellent service was uniform right through for management, to front office, restaurant staff and housekeeping . Bula to you all the staff and Vanaka.
This the best and the newest hotel on Denarau Island.
It was perfect.
Vanaka Lynn & Neil Devonport - Melbourne - Australia

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSDevonport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We stayed at the Radisson from 4-8 December and found it to be very pleasant. There were a couple of negatives, but they were quite minor. The positives - the pool area is nicely maintained and is lovely, we spent a whole day in the pool. Likewise, the rooms are very well maintained and are cleaned quite thoroughly every day. Staff are very friendly, and we also enjoyed booking our day tours from the desk in the lobby.
Negatives - sometimes staff can take their time in getting things to you, like a can opener (we had a kitchenette in our room with cutlery, dishes and cooking utensils but no can opener). We also had trouble getting the internet to work on the first day, and there were quite a few calls back and forth between reception and our room. However, once it was sorted, we didn't have any other trouble during the stay.
Another negative - didn't think breakfast was as nice as I expected it to be, and due to it being a tropical location, there are flies and mosquitoes everywhere (also on the food). But that would happen anywhere, I guess. Dinner at the Cross restaurant was lovely, and staff really went out of their way to accommodate us.
I would recommend the Radisson highly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,120 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,576 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Property: Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rezidor, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing