We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lami
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    259
    109
    44
    26
See reviews for
141
147
44
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Novotel Lami Bay is a hotel that I remember from decades ago, when it was the Tradewinds. The hotel has been very nicely upgraded. The bay is reminiscent of peaceful harbours in Asia, with the lagoon look and the little islands sitting like bush covered mushrooms in the sea. Fish jump and can be watched from the open dining area.

The rooms are very good. Just one downsides is if you are on the upper level, there is no lift. And the hotel charges for wifi if you want it in your room. The wifi charge rate is higher than any other hotel I have stayed in. However, there are two computers in a business area that can be used.

Breakfast is a buffet that is quite good. The pancakes are very nice. But it would be good to be able to simply choose something al la carte, if you are not that hungry and would simply prefer a piece of toast. You are caught having to pay the full buffet price or take a taxi into Suva which is about 10 - 15 minutes drive away.

This is not a walking distance to Suva. It is good for someone wanting to be away from the town to relax.

Service is good and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor could be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Shirlzb

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, especially the ladies who make the pancakes fresh to order in Husk for breakfast. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We appreciate your comments regarding the A la Carte option , this is something we will definitely review.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in the Novotel Lami Bay for two nights before and two nights following a week of scuba diving. The hotel was a pleasant surprise! Very open, clean, modern. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating and the rooms were bright and airy with nice views of the ocean. They had a 50% off check in spa special that I took advantage of during both stays and thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Betty I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Betty I

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay and choosing to stay with us on both visits to Suva.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We definitely appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness of the staff and how clean you found the hotel, also delighted you took advantage of the 50% check in special in our in Balance Spa

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Unfortunately, this is our third stay with Novotel Lami and each time, each experience is worst than the last. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is concerned about quality service and value for money. I was very disappointed with our last stay and as the title suggest, this will NOT be our family hotel when we next visit Fiji (for Christmas). Overall, I found the staff rude (particularly the female staff at the reception), the rooms were in very poor condition, particularly on the garden view side - floors were scratched and dirty, the bathrooms were out dated and not clean at all. Food was overpriced and room service was terribly slow. The view was spectacular, but with two young boys, its probably not to safe for an excited 3 and 2 year old. My family did not experience a warm, relaxed atmosphere. I would not recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a garden view room, these are poorly maintained and in old condition. The ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jnr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Jnr J

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we will be using it constructively to improve the quality of the experience for our guests. Please rest assured that we will reviewing the comments especially with regards our older rooms to see where we can further upgrade these, I will also be taking appropriate measures to address the problems you encountered regarding the overcharging and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked in here for a business trip to Suva, and having seen it from the road were happy, but not expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised. The view from our room and the lobby/bar/restaurant were stunning and surprisingly soothing. Staff were quick and courteous, and our check out in the morning was rapid despite 3 people ahead of us. It is some distance from the city but Sala helped us get a taxi which was quite inexpensive and apparently there is also a shuttle?

All in all we loved it. And we were quite blown away by the spacious public spaces and stunning views. Who knew?

Room Tip: Our were ...um Ocean view? anyway stunning, felt like we were hovering over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainlanderfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear mainlanderfolks

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Suva LamI Bay, we truly appreciate your comments regarding the hotel and overall feedback.

It is indeed a wonderful setting and we will ensure that the front office staff especially Sala receive your comments regarding their excellent and friendly service.

We look forward to seeing you back in Lami Bay again soon and trust your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Would recommend this hotel to my worst enemy, the staff couldn't care less about their potential customers and guests; they don't answer mails, they aren't polite, never on time. I can't believe it has the Novotel brand. I am a loyal Accor customer and I have been treated like I was nothing. They REALLY need to train their staff properly or to Terminate them especially ATECA SERU a reservation agent. Couldn't be more rude, ignores the guests ect.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Asive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Asive

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience when dealing with our team here at Novotel Suva Lami Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

The refund has been credited to your account and we apologise for this delay. The delay was unfortunately due to a delay from the bank not processing this refund in a timely enough manner of which we ourselves became frustrated with as it was fairly straight forward process. However where we failed is we did not communicate to this you despite your attempts to contact us.
We will use this situation as a retraining process for all of our front office staff to ensure they understand and see the importance of responding to all guest queries in a timely fashion. We will continue to support all of our staff as we train and develop them to improve their guest relations skill set and we thank you for your comments.
As a loyal Accor member you were afforded the opportunity to receive a refund for your booking despite the booking being made on pre-paid non refundable conditions.

I thank you again for your comments and sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lami
3.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 12 in Suva
440 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 12 in Suva
451 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,969 reviews
22.8 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
611 reviews
55.9 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suva Lami Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suva Lami Bay

Property: Novotel Suva Lami Bay
Address: Queen Road, Lami Bay, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suva Lami Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated overlooking the gorgeous Bay Of Islands, 15 minutes from the vibrant Fijian capital of Suva, Novotel Suva Lami Bay is the ideal destination for business or leisure. Most of the 108 rooms feature balconies with views of the lush tropical garden or picturesque Lami Bay. Fun local activities including diving, snorkeling and sailing are easily arranged by the ATS Tour Desk staff within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Suva Lami Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Suva Lami Bay Hotel Lami
Tradewinds Hotel Suva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing