We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing & very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“relaxing & very friendly”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here its a resort perfect for either families or couples as there are parts for both. The adults only part is stunning its just beautiful and the people are so friendly as all Fijians are. The rooms are nice and clean and the beds were so comfortable I wanted to take it with me. Only one negative comment is some days when busy you are waiting around in the foyer for a long time for service. Definately recommend this resort to people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kyles4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    1,235
    582
    266
    204
See reviews for
2,021
898
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Had a week here in November 2012, very relaxing. The place is a bit old but very well maintained and extremely clean. No cash changes hand and all put on account, i was a bit anxious about this but all worked out. Just leave yourself time when checking out, to go over your bill thoroughly. Would definately return, prices are cheaper than australia for food and drink. Staff very friendly, polite and eager to please. Lots of kids, thank god there were adult only areas. Location is pretty amazing, the lagoon is lovely to swim in. Heaps of water sports probably not good for young ones as the nightlife is pretty quiet which suited us.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sherryhumphreys2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent five dys at Shangri la, and was a wonderful experience!!!! Inspite of not being the more luxurious hotel its really good, comfortable, and with a lot of things to do!!!! The ONLY con was the mud and the toilets specially in the shower area needs more attention... Apart from that, the food is really good especially at the restaurant close to the main pool and beach, the kids club really good the people are really friendly, always smiling and always offering help. There is a few but good shops inside the hotel. The price for everything is not bad. We stayed for five days (2 adults plus one kid) we ate a lot, we attend to a special dinner with a show, our son did activities at the kids club, we had cocktails every day, I shop souvenirs and some cloths and some jewerly from the locals and we spent about fiji $ 700 including the room with breakfast. We will come back without hesitation!!!! Bula!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room, the hotel is big but there is always something close to you!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Where to begin??? Our friends and my partner and I booked Fiji in June and were due to stay at Castaway Island. Due to the cyclone which is outside of anyones control, we ended up at Shangri-la... Not only was this supposed to be an amazing holiday, it was going to be our low key intimate wedding on a beautiful island. I had arranged a Reverand, organised his transport, paid for and organised the licence required to marry, our friend is a photographer, so all we needed was the location. Castaway had agreed to let us do this on the island without their help as long as I had arranged everything. As there was just us 2 and our 2 friends, we were not seeking a large over priced wedding. I contacted Shangrila a few days before we left as there wasnt much time to rearrange everything, it was quite stressful. At first I was told it would cost me $4,000. I told them that I dont need anything, just the beach, which is what we were staying on an island!! I was then told it would cost $250 for 'clean up' and putting out red carpet and a plant or something. I just agreed to this, even though I didnt want red carpet etc, but $250 was a lot better than $4000. A few days later, I get another email saying there had been a mistake and I would have to pay $4000. I disputed this to no avail, so left it thinking we would discuss this with management when we arrived. This was also pointless and management couldn't/wouldn't help either. We couldnt just go behind their back and do it either, as there is security leading into the premises and they wouldnt have let the reverend onto the island and I didnt want to put him in an awkward position. We ended up speaking to the reverend who suggested we meet him in Nadi and he will find a location. We had to then book a taxi at the resort and pay $250AUD to get to Nadi and back for the 4 of us. So, we were staying in Fiji, on an island, and had to travel an hour each way in good clothing in the heat in a taxi, to stand on another beach and get married??? What a joke! Enough on that! The resort itself is tired and in desperate need of renovation and maintenance. All of the food was generally overcooked and dry and the lack of variety given so many 'restaurants' is a joke. The rooms were tired although acceptable apart from the stale musty smell. I got quite sick (I believe due to the airconditioning) on the 3rd day and so did my partner. The adult pool is like a morgue/library. I understand people like to read or just relax without children, but we thought it would have been much nicer to at least have some Fijian music quietly playing in the background. Food was not allowed to be eaten poolside like most other island resorts allow. We honestly felt like we were in a prison camp with lights out at 9pm. There wasnt a lot going on around the resort and given this was a private island it became quite annoying. The pools close at 6pm??? Seriously, who wouldnt love a swim at 7pm or 8pm on a hot night?? I must say the people were generally helpful and friendly. Would I ever return to Fiji YES, would I ever stay at Shangri-La NEVER.

Room Tip: If you still decide to stay here, an ocean view room or a floor level ocean room to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank weeza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The name of Shangri-La requires much higher standard than offered presently in this hotel. We spent three nights in Shangri-La. The hotel is old and needs urgent renovation. Details (continuous maintenance!) are very important in a first class hotel. The staff is friendly. At times even too much staff, but not focusing enough on the guests. It seems the management is not fully in control.The focus and orientation is missing. The service around the pools and on the is poor.The food is ok but not special.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorzow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have stayed in Fijian Shangri-La for a week in Feb 2013 and our stay was just fabulous!!!! Our room was perfect, facing a green lawn and sea - what made us feel absolutely relaxed. Food was perfect and we especially liked the restaurant serving only for adults, with servants (till now we recall bright smile of Mila saying "Bula!" ) whispering to us during serving foods and allowing us to enjoy tranquility of the sea landscape over the restaurant balcony. All resort facilities (great choice of sport activities) were in good conditions, diving tours booked easily and perfect. Front Desk Manager - Alice, helped us solve any additional requests. In swimming pool we loved to play afternoon volleyball under direction of Marley, whose extraordinary sense of humor ("Fijian rules, Fijian time") made everbody enjoying just the game! After many years of travelling in South East Asia (and also visiting Shangri-La in Yunnan, China) we finally found the real spirit of Shangri-La - hear on Fiji!!!! It was a trip for our 30-aniversary of wedding and it was a perfect choice!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyChris008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our family of four (myself and husband, and two sons aged 18 and 16) had a truly fabulous 8-day holiday in fiji staying at the Shangi-La from 14 to 22 January. I, too, had read the many reviews on TripAdvisor, both good and bad, but we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Shangri-La.

We booked our holiday through MyFiji.com.au. Our package included, transfers, $1000 Fijian food and beverage credit at the resort, a beachside massage, spa treatment, bike hire, day cruise to an outer island, and two motorised watersports each. It was great value as we did not need to spend much more during our stay.

We arrrived at the resort at around 7pm as our flight was late and were greeted with loud 'Bula' from Bue, the porter. He took our bags and served us a cool drink while we checked in. Check-in was very smooth. Bue showed us to our interconnecting rooms on the top floor of the coral wing, near the infinity edge pool. The rooms were large, comfortable, well-appointed and quiet. The view from the balcony was gorgeous -- palm trees, blue ocean, and waves breaking against the coral reef.

We were able to eat in the adults only breakfast restaurant (Takali). Buffet breakfast is included in the package. Sitting on the deck of the Takali overlooking the water each morning was a highlight of our stay. As we had food credit we did not need to worry about the cost of the food generally. We ate at the resort until the food credit was used up and then went to Tom Lu's one night and Gecko's resort another (both great). Unfotunately, one of the resort restaurants was not open due to 'technical difficulties' so we didn't have a lot of variety in the meals we ate in the resort.

There is so much to do at the resort. You can spend so much time just snorkelling in the lagoon. It's probably a good idea to bring your googles, snorkel and flippers if possible as you can only use the resort's gear for an hour at a time for free. With the inclusions in our package we were also able to go on the big banana and try wakeboarding. My husband and boys went fishing early one morning, and the boys also went paragliding.There was plenty to do, and plenty of sun lounges to lie on when you didn't want to do anything.

The grounds are well maintained and the staff are very friendly. As other reviewers have said, the beds are so comfortable. The holiday was perfect and I can't imagine anyone not having a great time at the Shangri-La.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are further away from the lagoon but have great views and are quieter. Perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,620 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,167 reviews
18.2 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing