We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's getting tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Traveled mid October, 2013. Been there fourteen times since the mid 1980's. Found the place very tired this time. Matresses on outdoor lounges around pool and beach in really poor condition. A couple of restaurants out of action which limited choice of evening dining.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,405 - 2,411 of 3,732 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Shangri-La is the most expensive resort we have been to in Fiji. We are living in Suva and try and visit a variety of the resorts around the country.

The Shangri-La is overpriced and very much rule bound. If you are happy to pay too much for everything, and be told you cannot do a lot of things if there is an expensive resort offering (like taking the kids fishing), it will happen.

I was embarrassed to have taken friends to the resort and will not visit again.

The snorkelling was OK from the front beach. Good by Fiji standards but go to Malaysia or SE Asia if you want good value. Forget Fiji. The prices are all aimed at emptying wallets as fast as possible not making a good adventure for the family.

Expect to pay $500-$600 FJD for the basic room and buffet. If you want to do a fishing or diving trip, try going to anywhere local.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Fiji is very expensive the Shangri-La is no exception. The rooms are average nothing special for the price you are paying, in Aus we would get a hell of a lot more for $AU350 a night. Privacy signs mean nothing eg: don't go on an early morning fishing trip and think you'll have an uninterrupted catch up sleep, House servicing is the priority however the cleanliness is questionable. The food (especially vegetables) at resort is very similar no real variety. Don't think getting a Debit or prepaid cash card to pay for things will get you out of paying 3% credit charges as they don't accept them.
We didn't want to buy anything as we didn't feel it was going to benefit the Fijian.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel is looking a little tired and could certainly do with a soft upgrade but you quickly forget about that when you soak up the views and experience the wonderful hospitality.
There are some lovely restaurants, offering excellent dining options. The prices are high but no more than any other hotel in Fiji.
Snorkeling straight off the beach can't be beaten. Lots of lovely swimming pools. You quickly wish you never had to leave.
N:B: If TVand technology are your thing than this hotel is NOT for you. The old Box style TV's have poor picture quality and there is no wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

This resort is gorgeous and very well-run. The grounds and rooms are well-maintained, clean and pretty. Although we experienced friendly staff while at a smaller hotel in Nadi, staff are professional and courteous.
It is a family resort that seems to be targeted towards Aussies and Kiwis, and one of my only complaints is that the food in the buffet restaurant is very international. There weren't many traditional dishes which is a shame, but I imagine the resort is trying to avoid "culture shock" for the kiddies and their parents. While in the resort we could have been anywhere in the world, as it was very generic - but I suppose that's what you get when you stay in a big resort! All in all it was a lovely stay and my 4 year old enjoyed every moment of it.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Ash2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The wife and I just finished a stay at the old Fijian Hotel. It's been close on 4 decades since I've been there.... But once you get past the tiredness of some and only some of the buildings, the place just wins you over!

The setting is unsurpassed. The staff are brilliant and so friendly. Food and beverage is great and at what you would pay at any other resort. The rooms are comfy and clean.

We had a ball doing nothing! We said best break ever... AND we meant it! We both shed a tear after we packed and left our room! We are already planning our next holiday and it will be here!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mandmsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great resort for young families - kids club is great for the young children (mine 4 & 6), great pools and buffet wasn't too bad for the kids & adults. Staff are fabulous. Very enjoyable stay - 8 nights in November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Roundsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,788 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,379 reviews
18.2 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
25.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,263 reviews
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range: £144 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing