We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Expensive holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Lake Haven, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Was great however cost of food and drinks was over the top. Buy before you get to the resort to keep cost down. Had a wonderful room attendant called Asenaca. She went beyond her duties and mad our honeymoon unforgettable. We found most of the staff in restaurants and bars very happy. A tip is don't go on the south sea island trip unless you are doing all islands. We got stuck on the first island for 8 hours with no way getting off. It was so wrong thanks to our travel agent for not telling us that one.
Over all would I go back NO way too expensive.

Room Tip: We stayed on the south side it wasn't as busy with children so a little quitter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    1,126
    542
    245
    186
See reviews for
1,824
817
35
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We (family of four, 6 and 2 year old) just returned from 9 days at the Fijian. We had a fantastic time at the resort! After travelling overnight we were greeted warmly by staff, escorted to breakfast and offered use of a beach bure until our Lagoon room was ready at 1pm.
The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets at the Lagoon Terrace were great! The food is very fresh with lots of choice and service v friendly. We were always seated quickly with no queues. The staff loved chatting and playing with our two little girls, they loved all the attention! Also it had lovely live music at most meals.
We also dined at the Beach Bar and Grill and Kalevu which were both lovely!
Our room on the 1st floor of the Lagoon Wing was very nice, v clean with a lovely view of the garden and lagoon. It is very close to the main pool, shops and restaurants but still v quiet and private.
The staff at the resort were all so friendly and helpful and really made our holiday. There are lots of organised activities around the Lagoon area and my girls both loved the kids club!
The beach is lovely and clean and very peaceful. The main pool is also great, both my girls had a ball!
There is a small shopping area with a Prouds and Jacks stores, a few small shops for food and beachwear and a lovely craft market which was reasonable compared to other markets.
We enjoyed the Fire Dancing dinner at the resort and the tour to a local primary school and village.
We would definitely return again for our next family holiday and would recommend the resort to both families and couples.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just flew in yesterday from a 7 night package at the Shangri la Fijian...and loved it. Had booked through a travel agent due to a good family special and then read with horror some of the bad reviews on TripAdvisor. We were really nervous as to what would await us...but honestly, we could find no fault. Our room (ocean view) was beautiful, modern and clean. The bed was luxurious and loved having the use of the robes. It was a bit of a walk to the kids pool (travelling with a 3yr old) but we got used to this and actually relished having a quiet space for evening drinks on our patio. There were still kids in this area but just not as many. Loved the coral pool, very kid friendly and less frequented than the lagoon area. Great free wifi here too.
The buffet breakfast was included in our package and was divine...something for everyone. My daughter would pick up a doughnut or muffin and take away to have for morning tea :-)
The buffets were a bit pricey for a family on a budget (about $70 per person) but the kalevu restaurant had lots of cheaper options and in room dining was also a great alternative. We did the seafood market at the beach bar and grill one night and it only cost $60 all up...that was for freash wahoo for 3 people, chips and rice...fizzy drink and ice cream. The grab and go menu at the lagoon restaurant went from 12 to 4pm and offered amazing ciabatta rolls of a decent size for $14. I had the lemon grilled chicken and it was lovely and with so much chicken in it, very filling. I guess the big thing to remember is the currency exchange as well. $14 would be about $9 NZ dollars and most cafes would charge this price for gourmet panninis or rolls. The resort was big enough that it didn't feel crowded and there was always something to do. We've stayed at Sotifel in Denerau and thought while this resort was not as many stars or as modern it actually offered just as much...more if you think about the lagoon and ocean beach and the kids playground. In summary, loved our stay and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have lovely aspect and privacy. Ground floor was great for accessibility. Close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tegsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had a fantastic week at the Shangri La. Staff were awesome, grounds are beautiful. Kids had a great time with all of the daily activities which made our stay relaxing. Some Rooms are currently being renovated, but that didn't effect our stay. Met some lovely friends that we shared some great meals with. Fresh fish caught on fishing trip cooked same day by chef at the beach bar and grill was beautiful. Dinner at Geckos resort across the road is great value and drinks half the price of shangri la. kids meals were approx $10fjd instead of $20 at the shangri la. Morning trip to Sigatoka for supplies of beer, water and soft drinks and kids souvenirs(place across from Jacks and next to hair braiding salon) great value for kids jewellery from the local Fijians. Also good price for hair braiding there as the salon was $40 full head whereas resort was $65 half head.

Room Tip: We stayed in the coral wing which was beautiful and quiet, lovely pool and lots of space for the kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank ClanA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Having traveled the world over I am so dissapointed to have stayed in this hotel. It is extortionate with the prices, the rooms are very average with crt tv's. There appears to be just a focus on greed with this hotel to get as much money out of you as they can. On check in they want to authorise your card with a huge amount as they assume that is what you are going to spend with them. I seriously would not recommend this hotel to anybody at all it is a rip off and you sort of feel like you have to spend money with them. Just to add insult to the already awful trip my watch was stolen from the room. Please do not stay here unless you want to get your credit card hammered this is a tourist trap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jules1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Traveled mid October, 2013. Been there fourteen times since the mid 1980's. Found the place very tired this time. Matresses on outdoor lounges around pool and beach in really poor condition. A couple of restaurants out of action which limited choice of evening dining.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Shangri-La is the most expensive resort we have been to in Fiji. We are living in Suva and try and visit a variety of the resorts around the country.

The Shangri-La is overpriced and very much rule bound. If you are happy to pay too much for everything, and be told you cannot do a lot of things if there is an expensive resort offering (like taking the kids fishing), it will happen.

I was embarrassed to have taken friends to the resort and will not visit again.

The snorkelling was OK from the front beach. Good by Fiji standards but go to Malaysia or SE Asia if you want good value. Forget Fiji. The prices are all aimed at emptying wallets as fast as possible not making a good adventure for the family.

Expect to pay $500-$600 FJD for the basic room and buffet. If you want to do a fishing or diving trip, try going to anywhere local.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
25.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
18.4 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Destinology and Odigeo so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing