We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed thoughts - Good if rated 3.5 star, but it's not!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts - Good if rated 3.5 star, but it's not!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Even after we booked, I continued researching the hotel, so I did have a reasonable idea of what to expect.  The hotel (I think the first resort known as The Fijian) is large - for my liking, tooo large.  If it were only up to me, I would have chosen the Outrigger, but it only had snorkelling available whereas Shangri-la had many water sports which my kids wanted to do and enjoyed.  I'm pretty sure the Outrigger would have been a smarter hotel (and it's smaller).
Generally, the hotel is well maintained on a daily basis and clean.  No rubbish around the place, paths are clear, gardens and lawns look more than presentable. Beach is as I expected. If you've been out to the outer islands of Fiji, don't expect the same gorgeous beaches, but it's still ok. I also like the traditional look of the hotel (albeit not built yesterday, but prefer this to up to date characterless resorts).
Pool table in the Marlin Bar brings everything down a notch with music unbearably loud. I mean you couldn't order drinks and had to point to the menu with over 40s doing the "nut bush city limits" - yep - you got the picture. Clientele was a mixed bag.
Slowly, parts of the hotel are being renovated with section 34a of the Ocean Wing under renovation as is the Takali restaurant & bar.  Obviously this is right at the Takali pool (adults only)  but there was no disruption to patrons (or at least during our stay) re: noise etc.  You can see that the hotel needs renovating - eg Beach Bar & Grill roofing is shabby and the restaurant could do with a face lift as do other areas of the resort, however, as youre walking along corridors etc, you can see wings of the hotel that have not been renovated by their front door colour - (new ones are a timber colour, old ones have white doors),  and given current works happening, they'll get round to it section by section.  We were fortunate to have renovated rooms (Reef wing) which were very pleasant - no "wow" factor, but very nice, roomy, lovely view and comfortable bedding. Yes, if I want to be picky, there was a little mould round around shower are? But generally no complaints.
Food - their best food could only be described as ordinary, not up to scratch and accordingly very very overpriced.  Drinks too overpriced.  Probably everything that one needed for breakfast was there, but by hotel standards, it was very very average.  During our stay, between 4 people, there were approx. 8 soft boiled eggs ordered, only 1 of which was soft.  My omelette was dry and rubbery.  Food all over the resort needs HUGE wake up call, both in standard and pricing.
Service - of course Fijian hospitality is warm, welcoming and they are happy to assist in any way. Having travelled to Fiji many times I am used to "Fijian time".  However, there is a limit.  Eg.  room service of a club sandwich and wedges took an hour.  We were by then already "over it".  This was not ordered during dinner time but late in the evening on our first night of arrival.  Drinks/cocktails took forever to arrive - like 30 min plus.  I mean how could they possibly take so long?  The waiter (around the pool) went up to one couple/group at a time - took their order - went back to bar - ages later comes out with their drinks - then proceeds to the next.  You'd think he'd take several orders at once!  Likewise with food which took even longer no matter which restaurant you ate at.  Reasonable guests are quite happy to wait extra than usual waiting time - and even longer - but this was ridiculous.  
Inconsistency of service - one day there was a waiter by the pool, next day nobody.  On the day he is there, he disappears after a while not to be seen again.  One day I have face towel, next day no face towels replaced until I asked for them days later.  I realise these are rather trivial details to many and I certainly wouldnt mind IF the hotel was rated 3-3.5 BUT it's not.
The above are criticisms, as we did have a lovely time and there are aspects of the resort which make it a great experience. Grounds/views are really lovely. Simply, because of these flaws, it is not a 4.5 star hotel.
Long story cut short.  I got sick (very sick) on night 2.  Doctor would not let me leave clinic with such low blood pressure and gave me intravenous to rehydrate.  Night 4 my husband got sick.  Night 6 (last night and due to leave hotel at 5am) daughter sick at 1am.
Despite the day and night of sickness, as mentioned we had a lovely time overall, but there was clearly "something" was going around the resort and, as the patient after my husband went in to see the doctor, she also had the same bug. Talking to others, this became quite evident.
As we could not move a sick, vomiting, feverish etc person, one of us had to stay with our daughter and 2 left as planned.  We naturally asked for the best rate for the extra night (after thus far being out of pocket $1200 AUD for the repurchase of one way flights).  Shangri-la wanted to charge us $470 plus taxes, totalling around $550 for 1 night.  Outrageous, so after negotiations they finally came down to $375 plus taxes totalling $441.   Big deal! They had a gun to our heads as we clearly had zero choice.  This obviously reflects very poorly on the Shangri-la chain.  Given that we were 3 out of 4 people who got sick at their resort (along with others) you would think they would have automatically given a 50% discount and if not for good will and PR purposes perhaps even a FOC night.   Shangri-la management suggested we could have brought this bug with us from Sydney - yes, I suppose we have if it weren't for the fact that others were not from Sydne and one woman was from Russia.
Overall and being objective - the hotel was quite nice (if rated properly) BUT sloppy in many ares if it stands to boast a 4.5 rating.

Room Tip: If you're adults only (over 16), the Reef Wing is conveniently located near b/fast and the adult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steins002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    1,150
    556
    255
    194
See reviews for
1,882
846
36
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The resort is in a beautiful location and the staff are very friendly. Food and drinks are very overpriced and the food was average but the breakfast was very nice. Even though we did enjoy our stay as it was our nephews wedding we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Personally we thought the food was amazing. Great variety, albeit a little expensive. Be frugal and choose half board meal plan maybe?? Lots of food to choose from at lagoon tce. People more than welcoming, lots for kids to do for the whole day, cheap babysitting, snorkeling ok...depending on where you've snorkelled before. We felt rooms looked tired. Would definitely go back!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suburbanfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

It's a great place to go if you are looking for something for the family. We went with our children and grandchildren. The resort and staff were terrific. Our rooms were great and beautiful views from our balcony. There is everything for kids there. The beaches just beautiful and the pool areas are also great. There is also an adults only pool area if you want to relax in a quiet peaceful place with stunning views. Staff were very friendly, carefree and happy but you need to understand and accept that everything there is on Fiji time. Nobody rushes and it didn't bother us at all. The food was pretty average and a bit pricy, as were the drinks. We caught a taxi into the village and bought some water, other drinks and kept them in our room. There are ice machines everywhere and ice buckets in your room. We had a great time and the staff around the pool who are called "The Ambassadors of Fun" we're just wonderful with the kids. Thank you to Ace, Marley and Napp.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon view or ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizTol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Whilst the hotel is 50 minutes from Nadi Airport, it gave us a chance to see the local culture on the drive. Water activities were good, Chi Spa was awesome, rooms were dated and food was disappointing.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of kids playing in the pool, get a lagoon pool room. If you are a couple and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We've recently stayed at the resort for 6 days ( my husband and our 16 year old son).
Beach is excellent.
Water sports excellent..para sailing, snorkelling, kayak, fishing, swimming..only thing missing was jet skiing.
Resort staff from reception to house keeper to coconut tree climber to pool cleaner were all very friendly with a warm smile and ready for a friendly chat.
Food in most of the restaurants were disappointing with taste and selection..management needs to seriously consider a revamp of the menus or change the chef especially in the lagoon terrace..more variety, change the menu at least every 2 days.Kalevu dinner was the best we've had.The grilled Tiger Prawns, Banana Fritters and Creme Brulee were very good.
Prices of food must be commensurate with taste and freshness.
Breakfast menu was the same for lagoon terrace and kalevu restaurant for the 7 days we have stayed!!! we could hardly eat by the 5th day :(..food did not taste fresh , aside from the omelettes, of course.
The resort needs a good barista please....we've hopped into every restaurant just to taste their coffee..there was no decent coffee at all... milk tasted awful..

Room Tip: rooms at the ground floor for easy access to the pool and beach....
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank ImeldaRoberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My family and I have just returned from a 10 night stay and while it was a beautiful place and my grandsons loved it the management there need a serious wake up call. I booked this holiday in July and wanted an interconnecting room and the other room next door, well that didn't happen only have a really complained loudly this I get this the next night. If I had booked a couple of weeks prior I could understand it but 4 months in advance what a joke. The pool is badly in need of repair there were nappies lying out in the lagoon, the plumbing is is a bad state you would get woken up in the middle of the night with a loud gurgling in the pipes coming from the bathroom and always a slight snell if sewer in the bathroom toilet. The duty manager's were rude I had dealings with two of them over separate issues. The food is awful breakfast is a disaster they do not refill the buffet to keep up with the demand, the diced fruits look like they are all half rotten and the flies are everywhere . The restaurants for dinner and the drinks are very expensive. Do what we did go to Geckos across the road or Tomlu in the village food is good and a lot cheaper. Ask geckos and Tomlu to organise a taxi for you much cheaper. Also do we did and catch a taxi into Sigatoka and stock up on beer soft drinks chips etc at the supermarkets or Tapoo . Again organise your own taxi the railway place out the front of the resort has a taxi so use him much cheaper.the Fijian people are wonderful our boys babysitter Miriam was absolutely fantastic ask for her if you decide to stay there . The management at this place could not organise their way out of a paper bag

Room Tip: If you must go here then the lagoon view rooms are better if you have children and the ocean view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
25.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
18.4 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, HRS and Destinology so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing