We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday spot!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for a few nights last week to attend a friends wedding.
We stayed on the lagoon side of the Island, which seemed to be more family orientated. The rooms were comfortable - however, the minibar is empty, we had to request towels a few times until they arrived on day 2 and there is no wifi in the rooms. We understood from speaking to some of our friends on the island that they too struggled with obtaining bath/shower towels and there is no wifi in any rooms on any side of the island.
That aside, the staff were fabulous and attentive and we could not fault the service. There are numerous and varied food / drink choices and enough pools and ocean areas to keep you and yours occupied for days. It is a bit of a drive from Nadi airport (approx 45 minutes), but well worth it. We had a fabulous time and would definitely return! Bula!!

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are on the 'busier' side of the island, close to the swimmable side of the cora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    1,193
    573
    260
    202
See reviews for
1,960
876
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff were very friendly. The towels were a major issue. Our friends and I had to ask most days out of a 8 night stay for fresh towels. They would take the dirty ones and not replace them. Overall value for money is just not there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room #618 and cannot fault it. This wing is nice and quiet, no pool or children noise!
Full credit needs to go to the lovely ladies who cleaned our room morning & night, they really did an amazing job, even more so in the couple of nights I had a nasty case of 'Fiji Belly' *blush* they really make the entire stay wonderful.
The adults only breakfast is a step above everywhere else. We only discovered this for the final 3 days & loved the way we felt so special, with a flower for me & table service for our eggs. The ladies here too make this resort feel like a 'couples retreat' without it actually being one.
All the facilities were clean and well kept, happy hour kept us happy, and the Fijian people really make this resort simply beautiful.
Make time to catch up with the 'kava time' guy by the shops, he's great fun & helped pop my kava cherry ;)
We would definitely come back to the ShangriLa either alone or with our children.
The only question is, do the staff get to keep the leftover duty free in the rooms & any gifts people leave for them? I hope so as these people (often invisible as they work tirelessly inside while we relax outside) really deserve any treats or tips left behind. :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank megsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Shangi-La for a friend's wedding. We had read most reviews and were a little cautious but as soon as we arrived at the airport with our driver to greet us everything was just wonderful. Our driver talked the whole way to the resort and gave us lots of tips and information he even let us stop at the local supermarket to get some supplies. There were lots of reviews about the age of the resort - yes it is a little old looking with and upgrade to the bathrooms and televisions needed. But it really is the staff and atmosphere of the whole place that makes it so wonderful. Breakfast with spectacular views each morning, Bula greetings from everyone all day long, and Kava time and cocktails just to top it off. I would recommend anyone any age to go to the Shangri-La, it really is just a wonderful place to have a holiday and relaxing break from reality.

Room Tip: If you have kids I would book close to the Lagoon and pool for kids - so Lagoon rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just got back from spending 12 days here and absolutely loved it. The service was excellent the people were lovely and the resort was amazing with plenty to do. We stayed in a lagoon family room (122) and it was a great size for two adults and two children, it was centrally located close to the pool and restaurants. I highly recommend if you have children that you stay in the lagoon rooms because of the location as it's a huge resort. Your best to go to Sigatoka and buy any alcohol from there, Fiji gold is $55 FJD a case, we made the mistake of buying it from the convenience store in the village next to Tom Lu's and they charges us $72 fjd a case so I don't recommend them. I do recommend Tom Lu's restaurant we went there twice during our stay. Ask the information centre in the resort and they will book for you. The kids eat free is limited to the Buffett with paying adults so for two kids to eat free two adults had to eat the Buffett aswell at $75 fjd per person. The Tekali restaurant had a lovely pan Asian Buffett for $120 fjd for two adults and 2 children. My husband and I ate at the Golden Cowie once, it was lovely and I recommend you try it. It's expensive but worth it. We ended up spending double our original budget (ouch) so next time we will get the food package. We generally had a large breakfast and sometimes no lunch, we took some muffins from breakfast back to the room for afternoon tea. We used room service for dinner a fair bit and it was reasonable and handy. The activities at the resort are great and Marly at the pool is hilarious. I had a massage at the beach Bure for $160 FJD for 90 mins. It was lovely. My husband and sone went parasailing and loved it. Ace is always at breakfast and he is a great source of information. Get to breakfast before 8:30 and you won't have to line up. You can also order takeaway pizza and eat it at your room or by the pool. The ladies who cleaned our room and did the turn down at night were amazing and lovely, you never know when they will come to clean though, sometimes in the morning sometimes late in the afternoon. They left us lovely notes at the end of our stay. The lagoon pool is great but get a sun bed early and towels as they do run out. We got towels in the morning and kept them for the day. We took pot luck with the sun beds, it seems that people were putting towels on them and then never using them. In general the resort is lovely and fantastic for families, we had no issues and our whole stay ran smoothly. The kids loved it and so did our in laws, we are already talking about when we can go back. If you are a relaxed easy going person you will love this resort.

Room Tip: If you have kids stay in the lagoon rooms they are central to everything. The lagoon family room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We recently completed a stay at the Fijian with a family of four - two adults and two kids. We had an ocean view room in the Ocean wing.
Overall we quite enjoyed the hotel, although I would say that I think this resort is starting to show it's age a little and is pretty busy. It is full of large Australian family groups travelling together, and is also popular for weddings.
The location is very nice, on an island connected to the mainland via a causeway. This means it has the area all to itself, but comes at a bit of a trade-off around proximity to things outside of the resort. There are some alternative places to eat a short cab ride from the hotel, and Sigatoka town is about 10mins by cab.
There are plenty of places to swim, although we found the lagoon pool area pretty crowded and busy, and preferred the coral pool that was located at the other end of the resort. Towels also seemed to be a little bit of an issue if you did not get to the lagoon pool early enough. The resort was busy, so it seemed they were not keeping up with the demand at the time and there was a fairly substantial wait.
No complaint about the rooms. Even though we were on the bottom floor the view from our room was very nice, and the rooms themselves were clean and comfortable.
The staff were very good, and again no real complaints.
The food was probably the largest disappointment. Breakfast was OK, but found the lunch and dinner options to be a little lacking. The biggest disappointment was the Asian restaurant (Takali), which we felt lacked a lot of flavour/taste and was a bit uninspiring.
Also did not appreciate having to pay for a snorkel. Fins and goggles are free for the first hour, but you have to purchase your own snorkel. I can understand why in a resort of this size they may have elected to do this (for hygiene) and to keep the equipment coming back generally, but we just came from Castaway Island where it was free to snorkel for as long as you like albeit less guests to deal with.
Also having to pay for bike hire was not ideal.
Overall it was a nice enough stay, although in hindsight we should have probably picked a smaller resort with less people. I do feel that this hotel is not quite the standard of Shangri-La's other hotels in Asia (which are excellent). I didn't feel that it deserved an overall 3 (average), but was a close run thing for me to give it a 4.

Room Tip: For families with young kids the lagoon rooms are pretty close to everything you will probably want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnybrook23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed at the Shangri-la in June for a wedding within the resort. the resort is located about an hours drive from Nadi as such has variable weather compared to northern aspects of the island.

My experience was mixed, Its important to keep in mind the resort was originally built in the 1960's, as such many modern conveniences have been retrofitted or are slower then usual. Internet is via Ethernet in the rooms and is fairly reliable, the resort wifi we found slow or non-existent.

Housekeeping was variable, quite often they forgot to leave towels after collecting the used ones, but the rooms were always clean & tidy.

The food was average, i didn't have a bad meal but also didn't experience anything spectacular. however service was terrible with 20 minutes waits for service fairly common

The friendliness of the staff is the resorts biggest asset with everyone i met going out of the way to say hi. As usual all the fijian staff interacted with amazingly with children and kept them well entertained.

The cost of meals, drinks and some entertainment was not to bad for 6 days ($1400 FJD)

I'd prefer to stay at a resort on denarau island, however at 1/2 the price the shangri-la is a ok alternative.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwilogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,064 reviews
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
18.6 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing