We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great access to Mount Cook National Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artemis B & B

Artemis B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twizel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Artemis B & B
Ranked #7 of 7 Twizel B&B and Inns
california
Level Contributor
168 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great access to Mount Cook National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Very comfortable en-suite room (another has private bath). Hosts very helpful, let us use computer to check email. Quiet, in country setting in Twizel. Our room needs a new mattress.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

Our hosts (Bob and Jan) made us felt very welcomed, and helped us with our touring plans. We learnt quite a bit of Twizel and the surrounding areas, just by having a small chat with Bob. For a small town, Twizel had a fair number of quality restaurants, for which our hosts were forthcoming with information, menus and directions. Our room was spacious and we had a good night's rest, but our bathroom (though exclusive to us) was outside of our room, down the short hallway. The house is set amongst a forest of pine trees and exudes a homely feel. There was a small common room with TV and coffee/tea making facilities, which is available for guests to use.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

Artemis B & B is a charming house on the outskirts of Twizel which makes for a great base to explore the surrounding area. Bob and Jan were lovely hosts who really made us feel welcome in their spotless home and gave us good information on where to visit and where to eat in the area. We would happily stay again when we next pass through the area.

Tim and Vicky

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TimBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

We had too many great conversations with Jan & Bob (they've travelled widely around the world). The room is comfortable and the B & B is nice and quiet. Breakfast was great, especially the croissant. Twizel is a great base for exploring Mt Cook.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DarylRaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

We were greated on arrival by the host who was very friendly and helpful.The upstairs of the house is totally for the guests and there is a lounge with refreshments in between the guest rooms. We had the double room with en-suite which was immaculately clean and comfortable. On a clear night there is a fantastic view of the stars. Twizel has a range of restaurants and is ideal for exploring mount cook area.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dasu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whickham Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

This Band B only has 2 rooms which are well furnished and have a pleasant view towards the mountains Bob and Jan are welcoming hosts and with the two double en suite rooms allied to a good breakfast this makes a good base for the region Being about 30 mins from the Mount Cook base and slightly away from the hills the weather is better Bob can arrange helicopter flights and has a good knowledge of the area At 125 NZ dollars this is good value for your money and the place cannot be faulted Restaurants are 5 mins drive away in the town

  • Liked — friendly comfortable base
  • Disliked — quite a distance to restaurants if you want to walk but only 5 mins in car
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WAG1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.0 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
16.7 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heartland Lodge
Heartland Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#2 of 4 in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.6 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 7 in Twizel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemis B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis B & B

Property: Artemis B & B
Address: 33 North West Arch | PO Box 78, Twizel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing