We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, big size motel type of place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mackenzie Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Beringen, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average, big size motel type of place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Big rooms with all amenities. great balcony and quiet surroundings. Good place to stay, all we needed was there. Dinner was in buffet style but a la carte was also possible. Reception was efficient and straightforward. This was value for money I guess. Good place when passing to the south.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    102
    103
    39
    20
See reviews for
60
158
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rushden
Level Contributor
114 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is a stunning hotel. The rooms are very big with big beds and leather reclining chairs. Rooms at the back have views over the garden. Sliding doors onto balcony could be left open all night. No a/c, only heating. It looks like you are stuck in the middle of nowhere but in fact the village centre is only 15 min stroll away. Follow signs to town centre and you will eventually see off to the left a supermarket. Opposite the supermarket is an EXCELLENT pub/bottle shop/liquor store with cheap 'pub' food. I had chicken tenders & fries for $9NZ but bigger meals are available. Hotel food is excellent too but more expensive. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed here one night when travelling from Christchurch down through to Queenstown. A comfortable bed for a night, in need of a upgrade but considering its a small country town was good enough for what we wanted it for. No aircon and a small electric heater. Would have been good to have a build in aircon/ heater. Would stay here again though!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZL_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

It was great to be welcomed by the Duty Manager, who came on to our tour bus as we arrived at this hotel and again as we left to wish us well. This and the generally helpful attitude of all the staff more than makes up for the rather average standard of the rooms and bathrooms. Our room had a standard double bed and two singles but there are some with two doubles and others with three singles - it seems pot luck but perhaps that was because we were part of a tour group. . . Our room would have benefited from net curtains on the window/garden door as we had to draw the thick curtains for privacy. Guest laundry services were available at a cost of NZ$4 each for washer and dryer but powder was complimentary. The Wifi service was much better than in much of South Island and cost only NZ$5 for 24 hours - a really good deal! On this beautiful summer's day we could see the snow-capped peak of Mt Cook peeping between the poplar trees in the garden - what a bonus!

Room Tip: Worth requesting a room overlooking the large grassy area to avoid facing the car park, where guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uralla, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

This was an overnight stay on our way south and the day was dreadfully hot.There was no aircon in the room and fans were unavailable.Our sleep was terrible and we would not go back.The only good thing we found in Twizel was Poppy's cafe just over the road.Our room was clean and the hotel quite attractive but if we had not pre-booked we would have left!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Raindrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one whilst in transit, the staff were friendly enough but the rooms can only be described as very poor. Both the bedroom the bathroom were very overdue for renovation and were slightly grubby. We didn't venture into the dining room as dinner was a buffet and the thought of fighting it out with coach loads of tourists did not appeal. I would stay again but only if desperate as it was the worst hotel I have stayed in New Zealand.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterRAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Twizel hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed overnight on our trip from Christchurch to Queenstown. Hotel is quite shabby and oldfashioned, but maybe because of that has some kind of strange charm? Room was spacious, bed and shower were ok, so was the breakfast, yet quite expensive.
Because of the location there is lots of big groups staying at the hotel and they can be very noisy. Some of the group were having a party room next to mine, so I couldn`t sleep until 1am. I guess they finally heard me banging my fist against the wall and stopped! The problem is that there is no night shift at the reception, so you can only complain about it afterwards. At least the receptionist was very friendly and sorry about all that.
After all, place was ok, but highly overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammA-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
16.5 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
17.0 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#2 of 4 in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
2.5 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie Country Inn

Property: Mackenzie Country Inn
Address: 2 Wairepo Roads | Cnr Ostler & Wairepo Roads, Twizel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzie Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mackenzie Basins best kept secret with stunning mountain views from a relaxed setting. Featuring natural stone, roaring fires and expansive lawns, Mackenzie Country Inn is the ultimate place to chill out after a day experiencing the activities and sights the region has to offer.Private balconies/patios, views to the spectacular mountain surrounds and a bath in all 108 rooms, paradise is found!With its own restaurant, rustic bar with Sky, modern conference/function facilities, internet and laundry Mackenzie Country Inn is the perfect location for your family holiday, ski accommodation, Honeymoon escape, getaway, or wedding.A Qualmark 3.5 star rated hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mackenzie Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Country Hotel Twizel
Country Inn South Island
South Island Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing