We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure to break up a long journey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mackenzie Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure to break up a long journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Wasn't expecting much given the bargain price and location but I was pleasantly surprised. The place is excellent and provided a much better option for our trip. Value for money excellent with a great breakfast and dinner buffet

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    102
    103
    39
    20
See reviews for
60
158
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

When I booked I wasn't quite sure what it would be like, to our amazement it was everything I had hoped for and more, our room was huge,lovely sunshine coming in the window and nice a snug and warm. Our meal was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful. Just wished we had stayed longer, will certainly be on my return to list. So close to Mount Cook also Lake Tekapo

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel hasn't appeared to have been touched since the 70's, curtains faded, tiny heater in rooms that hardly works, hairdryer broken.
We had our baby with us and the rooms are freezing. $130 a night seems a lot for the above.
Lovely reception and bar staff, good food, large portions. the rooms however are a huge let down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Twizel hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We always choose to stay here because quite honestly you can't get better value. The staff are considerate and helpful. The rooms are spacious and warm with comfortable beds and soft pillows. Hallways are heated which is great as its gets very cold in Twizel. Breakfast is generous and included in the room rate. The lounge bar with the big open fire is a lovely place to relax in the evenings. Mackenzie Country Inn is very central and just opposite is the wonderful Poppy's restaurant which is always worth a visit.

Room Tip: In the winter ask for a room on the sunny side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y-one19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temora, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

After having our travel plans changed unexpectedly due to weather conditions we showed up to the Mackenzie Country Inn to a very friendly welcome by hotel staff. Throughout our stay the hotel staff were great. Our room was perfectly adequate for a short stay, nice and warm for the cold weather and very clean. Lovely bar area with a big wood fire. Buffet dinner and breakfast were both very good with lots of options. One of our travelling party had quite a few food intolerances that were not catered for at a lot of properties however she found plenty to eat at the Mackenzie. Beautiful views of the snow-capped mountains from the breakfast table.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We took a punt following a drive past and and no internet and it turned out very well. The room was clean tidy and quiet. We had a meal in the bar and the quantity and quality was exactly what you would expect in the high country - very good. We took the bed and breakfast package and unlike another reviewer we were advised breakfast finished at 9am so were there in plenty of time for the buffet - some of which had been in the bain-marie a bit too long but overall OK. Yes the rooms may be a bit dated but are very clean, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

What a real shame, we paid for breakfast breakfast finishes at 9am.. we were not told this, when we went for breakfast a sweaty waiter with his mouth full of food said we have always finished breakfast at 9.. attitude was terrible. ( we arrived at 1.30 am so we arrived at 9.25 for breakfast)
Thick black mould on the bathroom roof.. terrible shampoo &soap.
We found a lovely cafe just over the road... fantastic food!!
We have stayed here several times before, I think they must have been having a bad day, changed there soaps and towels
I doubt we will go back again due to this very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
16.5 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
17.0 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#2 of 4 in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
2.5 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie Country Inn

Property: Mackenzie Country Inn
Address: 2 Wairepo Roads | Cnr Ostler & Wairepo Roads, Twizel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzie Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mackenzie Basins best kept secret with stunning mountain views from a relaxed setting. Featuring natural stone, roaring fires and expansive lawns, Mackenzie Country Inn is the ultimate place to chill out after a day experiencing the activities and sights the region has to offer.Private balconies/patios, views to the spectacular mountain surrounds and a bath in all 108 rooms, paradise is found!With its own restaurant, rustic bar with Sky, modern conference/function facilities, internet and laundry Mackenzie Country Inn is the perfect location for your family holiday, ski accommodation, Honeymoon escape, getaway, or wedding.A Qualmark 3.5 star rated hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mackenzie Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Country Hotel Twizel
Country Inn South Island
South Island Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing