We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LARGE AND COMFORTABLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mackenzie Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
222 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“LARGE AND COMFORTABLE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

Outside the cities, New Zealand is not a country of large hotels. So it is a surprise to find a big hotel in the tiny town of Twizel in the middle of beautiful nowhere. It's a classic 1970s international hotel - long, two-storey blocks stretching out from either side of a central building. All rooms have balconies or patios, though these are small. But the rooms have huge sliding windows which make the large softly-furnished bedrooms very light and airy. Ask for a room at the back overlooking the garden rather than one at the front with the view of the car park (though there is no traffic noise). Public areas, including bar and lounge and restaurant are large and open-plan with huge windows. Breakfast is a standard buffet, but we had great service from the friendly and humorous waitress. Instead of dinner in the hotel (they were offering only a limited menu) we had three dinners across the road at the excellent Poppie's Restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    102
    103
    39
    20
See reviews for
60
158
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

For those travelling through the country, this is an excellent place to break your journey. Extremely quiet and our room was spacious, clean with facilities you would expect from a motel. The Inn probably regards itself as a hotel with a restaurant and bar which were good without being exceptional. Staff were friendly, particularly in restaurant and bar.
Twizel appeared quite boring but the Inn is well located for Mount Cook and cross country stopovers.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Where was Tripadvisor when we needed you? We changed our route and booked this via the I-Site in Kaikoura along with it's sister hotel, The Godley, in Takepo. We only had the brochure to go on but we were promised that it was very nice. It probably was in 1970. The complex is quite big The rooms are large but oh so tired. The armchairs were threadbare and disintegrating in places. The radio looked as if it had been made out of an orange box and spare parts from Radio Shack except Radio Shack stuff normally works. The TV wasn't much better. For some strange reason the ceilings were made from gold flecked Artex. Tasteful! We had problems locking the sliding door to our balcony and when it finally did lock, it wouldn't come undone. The view was basically of grass, so no major reason to sit on the balcony. The hotel is located a reasonable stroll from town. It's an unreasonable stroll on the way back in the pouring rain. That was the only fun bit. The reception staff were OK without showing too much enthusiasm. We didn't try the restaurant at all so we can't comment. The motel is functional but so drab I thought of trying the backpackers hostel opposite next time. This motel is living on borrowed time.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamPayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Twizel hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

after reading reviews here we had doubts if we should take this motel.
we did, and it was fine, it was just for one night on the way to mount cook.
if you know twizel history you know its a town built in the 70s and so is the Motel,
and they did no changed a thing since then!!

everything is working but very old , and the smell in the rooms is of mold.

if you just need one night stay it is good, but dont expect much as it is very old.
(but highly maintained)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsraeliKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

We stayed here in Nov 2009 as part of a tour group. We didn't have high hopes for the place as we'd understood it to be a motel-like establishment. We it is more of a motel than a hotel, and the decor is hilariously 1970s. But the rooms were huge, the bathroom clean (if very dated) and the views were nice. The room was mostly very tidy (a bit of dust in the wardrobe and a spiderweb in one corner, otherways very clean). The beds were comfortable, and there was a fairly new flat screed TV in the room. And for us a very nice surprise, after a week of abysmally bad and expensive internet connections in much more expensive hotels, was a good wireless internet connection at a reasonable cost. We were able to update our travel blog and see the news back home.

Overall, the whole hotel is a time warp back to the 1970s, but the reception service was good, there are several guest laundries and the hotel is right next to the main road towards Queenstown.

We ate both dinner and breakfast at the Country Inn (part of our tour cost). The Dinner was mostly OK but a bit boring: good starters and salads, average carvery-type of hot buffet and industrial-looking desserts (think fluorescent yellow lemon tart). The food was mostly good, but again the food too was a bit old-fashioned. The breakfast was OK, i.e. a hot buffet, ceral and other normal hotel breakfast stuff. The staff was a bit too efficient and took some our plates and cutlery away when we were getting something from the buffet.

I wouldn't go there for a holiday, but for a one-night stopover it was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Well, we had a view of Mount Cook from our window, the room itself was huge, and the staff on reception and the bar were very helpful.
But the bathroom looked dirty, with patched lino and filthy grout around the bath. There were old grains of rice on the chair in the dining room.
The buffet dinner at $36 was poor value - more expensive than elsewhere and very ordinary, with less choice and no cheese. The manager refused to give us a group discount on the buffet. We didn't need to eat there. Twizel, though tiny, has several restaurants and cafes which are open seven days a week.
And that's not even mentioning the time warp decor, furnishings and fittings. A museum, not a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

It's the WORST MOTEL we've ever stayed in. The room was totally RUN DOWN and the front desk service was extremely UNFRIENDLY!!! when we checked in we felt that we were NOT WELCOME into the Motel. Very Dissapointed!!

  • Liked — Nothing!!
  • Disliked — Everything!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sccs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
16.5 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
17.0 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
2.5 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie Country Inn

Property: Mackenzie Country Inn
Address: 2 Wairepo Roads | Cnr Ostler & Wairepo Roads, Twizel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzie Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mackenzie Basins best kept secret with stunning mountain views from a relaxed setting. Featuring natural stone, roaring fires and expansive lawns, Mackenzie Country Inn is the ultimate place to chill out after a day experiencing the activities and sights the region has to offer.Private balconies/patios, views to the spectacular mountain surrounds and a bath in all 108 rooms, paradise is found!With its own restaurant, rustic bar with Sky, modern conference/function facilities, internet and laundry Mackenzie Country Inn is the perfect location for your family holiday, ski accommodation, Honeymoon escape, getaway, or wedding.A Qualmark 3.5 star rated hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mackenzie Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Country Hotel Twizel
Country Inn South Island
South Island Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing