We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mackenzie Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This hotel is fantastic! Exactly what we were looking for! The staff are very friendly and accommodating! Nothing was too much hassle. The assisting manager went out of his way to provide directions and local knowledge on what to see and do! The breakfast was good too!

Definitely will be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicandroons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    105
    107
    40
    20
See reviews for
62
161
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

On the way to wellington from christchurch we went to mount cook and wanted to spend a night enroute. mackenzie country inn at twizel turned out to be a very good choice. the room was large and airy and the property is located just off the highway.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pradeep9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I could imagine that there are great views to be had. The hotel looks lovely from the outside and the rooms are very comfortable. Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel and overlooking the lawn at the back. Had buffet dinner and breakfast at the hotel. But the staff in the dining room struggled to keep up with the demand for food for both breakfast and dinner, and the queue was sometimes quite long. It was not as if the demand was unexpected. Most people were on one of a number of bus tours.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Stayed in early January for one night. Everything was fine until we woke up in the morning to discover blood streaks on the sheets. Closer inspection and searching revealed bed bugs in both queen beds. All four of us in the room were bitten. My wife has come up in around 20 welts where she had been bitten across her back and legs. Have just spent the rest of our holiday trying to decontaminate ourselves and make sure we don't bring them home.

On the positive side, the management dealt with things very well, given the circumstances. We were refunded the charge for the room and given $100 cash to go towards cleaning. A few quotes from the manager: "This is the first problem we've had with bed bugs this season" "we get them from the asian tours that come through" "They are very hard to get rid of, but the chance of them getting into your luggage is very slim". Got the impression that they had a problem in the past but thought they had gotten rid of it. Discussing the bed bugs problem with the manager while he was wearing his "100% Pure New Zealand" t-shirt was a little too much irony for me to bear though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hicli442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Twizel hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roma, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Extremely disappointed with this motel. I'm thankful we only had one night here. We had to request soap, a third towel as we booked a room for three, there was no bath mat, the basin leaked underneath onto the floor and they didn't even supply a biscuit to have with a cuppa or any complimentary toiletries as all our other accommodation providers did, even if they were cheaper. All this for $198.00 NZ. Everywhere else we stayed in the South island we were very happy with, especially in Dunedin where our accommodation was 5 star quality in a unit only built 3 years ago and only costing $2.00 more per night. My husband had to request another kettle as the one supplied seemed to have been boiled dry. The water tasted terrible in our cofee. I hate to be so negative, but compared to all other accommodation booked online, this night was definately dissapointing and a real let down. In future I will always check reviews. Oh!, and I also agree the decor is very tired. With all the dissapointment of the room, there was no way we were game to try the restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deidregillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twizeled, General Manager at Mackenzie Country Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to record your thoughts regarding your stay with us. Firstly my apologies for the incoveniences and disappointment you experienced. I have recently joined the hotel as General Manager and it is through constructive feedback such as yours (and also the positive ones) that I will be setting the path towards the goal making every guests experience a pleasurable one. I do wish your experience had been a pleasant one however you can be assured your feedback will produce a positive outcome for our future guests.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, Berkshire, UK.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

One of the best nights sleep in 3 weeks in New Zealand at the Mackenzie Country Inn. The room was was a bit 70's but don't let that put you off it was comfortable and very clean. The restaurant was offering carvery or a la carte and I went for the steak which was cooked to perfection. Great value and an excellent place to stop if travelling to Mount Cook which we did. Would stay again to do the Helibiking and to have another breakfast in 'Poppies'.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingNewburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We traveled with a group tour that originally promised to book rooms at pepper bluewater hotel for us. However, we were taken to this place instead which really disappointed us. The rooms and bathrooms look very old and not so clean. However, staffs are friendly and food is fine. Let the pictures I took describe themselves.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M5829079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.4 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
17.0 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
2.5 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
313 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie Country Inn

Property: Mackenzie Country Inn
Address: 2 Wairepo Roads | Cnr Ostler & Wairepo Roads, Twizel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzie Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mackenzie Basins best kept secret with stunning mountain views from a relaxed setting. Featuring natural stone, roaring fires and expansive lawns, Mackenzie Country Inn is the ultimate place to chill out after a day experiencing the activities and sights the region has to offer.Private balconies/patios, views to the spectacular mountain surrounds and a bath in all 108 rooms, paradise is found!With its own restaurant, rustic bar with Sky, modern conference/function facilities, internet and laundry Mackenzie Country Inn is the perfect location for your family holiday, ski accommodation, Honeymoon escape, getaway, or wedding.A Qualmark 3.5 star rated hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mackenzie Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Country Hotel Twizel
Country Inn South Island
South Island Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing