We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic lunch”

High Country Salmon
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Twizel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Well, its not a lunch place - you can pick up some fresh salmon/ sushi/ fillets for your journey.
We stopped here for lunch on our way south from Mt Cook.
Make sure this is a pitstop - such brilliant fish have never I had!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tirath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    59
    27
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Fresh Salmon”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Conveniently just on the highway before Twizel, a working salmon farm that lets you stop, feed the fish and buy some delicious fresh salmon. Lots to choose to buy, from whole salmon to sushi mi. Bargain prices and super yummy. Will definitely stop again when we are back in S.Island.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Moist Juicy Salmon”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This Salmon Farm actually allows you to go into the farm to have a look at the salmon in the water. The water is quite reflective so it’s hard to spot the salmon in the water. However, feeding the fish will encourage them out to the surface to nibble at the food and we could see the fish at the surface. Sometimes if there are bunch of them, they will fight for the food resulting in lots of splashing about and causing us to be wet from the food fight. The food comes in small containers placed at the entrance of the farm and is free but a donation box is there for you to contribute to the food cost.

Fresh sashimi is also available for purchase at the front counter. Ever so often, staff will come out from the preparation room with boxes of sashimi and placed in a large container fridge. Fresh salmon fillets are also available for purchase in a separate container fridge. I couldn’t resist both and bought both the sashimi for immediate consumption and the salmon fillets back to the apartment to cook for dinner. I would personally have preferred to witness the fish being taken out of the water and prepared in front of me so that we know it’s fresh but they don’t do it here.

This place was slightly more pricey than the other shop we went before this but I didn’t mind paying for fresh quality sashimi. I would rather not risk a stomach upset in the middle of my holiday than to pay cheap and suffer the consequences.

The only downside for me is that there are no beverages being sold. A cup of warm green tea would go down very well with the sashimi. Overall 4 stars for this visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sashimi was as fresh as you can get”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Small stop over where you can feed the salmons for free and buy fresh or smoked salmon. We got the salmon fillet which cost about $30 for one half and the sashimi which was another $20. We are not big eaters and that filled 4 of us nicely with some green that we bought in Twizel.
Big downside is that there are no washrooms available here. As we started our journey from Arrowtown without a bathroom stop, that was difficult for the older folks and kids. Another consideration for improvement is also selling simple marinades to go with the salmon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_Yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Salmon Sashimi I ever had”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I was here 6 years ago and decided to come back because of the fantastic salmon sashimi...

u can feed the salmon for free and there is free wifi... its just on the way from lake tekapo to queenstown

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Esjay_Brunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Country Salmon also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Mackenzie District, Canterbury Region
 

Been to High Country Salmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing