We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the value for $90 per night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
High Country Holiday Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not worth the value for $90 per night”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My wife and I went to stay after the 22nd earthquake in Christchurch, this was the only accommdation we could choose as others were all fully booked in town, so were lots of other towns on the way due to this event.
We stayed there in an ensuite double unit for 2 nights, the room's furnitures were really outdated, bad odour in room and on linen, uncomfortable beds, shower was very small, when I was having shower, the dirty shower curtain sucked on me.
The next day, we tried to make some lunch at the shared kitchen, however we were told that the dinning room was closed for meeting, and we couldn't use kitchen, which should be open for guests to use, so we had to eat out.
We had no choice, otherwise we would've stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    29
    33
    18
    23
See reviews for
14
48
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We rented a double room with ensuite unit for two nights. The room is enough for 3 persons, and the bathroom is small and simple. Cleanliness is not satisfactory though. For example, the comforter and blanket on the bed were dirty with stains and hairs all over it. Also, the room or its bathroom doesn't have any heater. So if you're visiting New Zealand during winter and stay in this room, you'll be frozen probably.

To be fair, we didn't ask to change to another room. If we did, probably the manager would be able to help us with such request. Question is, do they have another vacant room which is cleaner?

Sleep quality is not so good either. The rooms are sharing one corridor, the wall and door of the room are thin. So when other tenants are walking on the corridor or slam their doors, we can hear them very clearly. That affected our sleeps actually, especially in early morning.

On positive side, the staffs were quite flexible and helped us with some questions during check-in.

NZD90/night... i guess what you pay is what you get.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spsampah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Twizel hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I’d try to find another place to stay before I stayed here – or better yet stay down the road a bit in Lake Tekapo which has a lot more to offer (including a great café at the top of the mountain with the observatory). We called this spot from 10 minutes down the road & there was room (when we arrived it looked like there was a lot of rooms available). When we showed up the person behind the desk wanted payment in full at check in & did not want us to look at the room first. We insisted on seeing the room & if it had been earlier in the evening we would have kept looking for another place. This was the only place in NZ we stayed that gave us a hard time about wanting to look at the room first – and once we saw the room we could understand why they want you to pay before seeing it. It could have been cleaner & brighter. The room was small. It looked tired and so did the sheets, blanket, bathroom & towels. We couldn’t wait to leave in the morning. The shower curtain was to short so (did not come anywhere need the floor) water leaks out beneath it onto the floor. The restaurant was not open - we were told it only opens sometimes for bus tours. All in all a bad experience

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caanaadaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Yes back in time are the rooms - really basic - but very clean. No privacy - but we were there with a fairly large sporting group for 3 nights. The first night we got NO sleep. The local pub is a stone throw away and they are open till 3am and man it was all go until then and more! My hubby was competing in racing so we had to move after the first night to get some sleep for him. They were fairly accomodating and gave us one of the two nights money back that we were not using. The place was full and they showed us a couple of rooms that we could move to but no far enough away to make a difference with the noise we thought. Would never go back - large group or not! Next place we moved to was bliss in Twizel!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I stayed 1 night at the High Country Lodge which is well located but very expensive for what you get. My twin room was very basic - i felt like i was back in the 50s with all the veneer and tin sink but it was very clean. A major drawback was the school camp - girls running everywhere and with a megaphone yet they were not stopped by teachers or the staff at the lodge. We planned to cook in the kitchen but couldnt get access to any of the stoves, largely due to the catering done to cope with the camp. Fish and chips from down the street were very nice. One night was enough. Twizel is very pretty and I was told that the local food is very good but nearly everything except the fish and chip shop was closed on a Friday night at 6pm. Our basic room was $90 and no breakfast was offered.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leasm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Rooms were adequate but there is no information 'offered' without your having to ask 20 questions. The 'continental breakfast' promoted online is not offered or organised unless you beg and ask 20 questions. No information about internet or the grounds were offered or posted. Washing machines are still humming at midnight, drinking still going till 3 am. Overall disappointing as, budget or not, service should be offered freely without prompting, so too information. Curfews need to be imposed. Take earplugs and take your own breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendynthebeanstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2006

This is a large motel complex, with various categories of rooms. I chose a middle priced-room which was small but adequate, with private bathroom, and fridge and coffee. Plenty of parking outside room. Very pleasant receptionists. 5 mins walk to small shopping centre which has about 4 restaurants. Info centre and garage close by. Ideal place to explore Mount Cook (about 60km) and not pay expensive prices for places closer to the mount. Good budget accommodation.

Helpful?
3 Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.4 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
16.8 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Twizel Holiday Park
Twizel Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in Twizel
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
22 reviews
24.0 mi away
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centr...
#2 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Holiday Lodge

Property: High Country Holiday Lodge
Address: 23 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — High Country Holiday Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Country Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing