We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay More Than One Night”
Review of Omahau Downs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omahau Downs
Ranked #3 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stay More Than One Night”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We loved our two day stay. Sean makes a terrific breakfast with scones and muffins while at the same time he supplies a steady stream of interesting information. There are incredible views of Mt. Cook and the open fields from the rear deck. Our room was very comfortable and had farm related décor.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    39
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
126
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Absolutely outstanding accommodation. We stayed here for two nights in mid November, and it was just delightful. The old adage of not judging a book by its cover holds true here. The rooms felt like luxury with excellent bedding, bathroom amenities. Stunning views of the snowcapped peaks of the Mt. Cook range beyond a meadow and pasture. The common lounge is big and comfortable with a nice kitchen. I made use of the on-site washer and dryer.

Sean greeted us each morning for breakfast where we enjoyed cereal and the delicious scones and breads he baked that morning. We would chat and learn about the farm and what to do around Twizel and the Mt. Cook range. Cannot tell you just how cool and nice and easy-going Sean is.

--
About us:
We are an easy-going couple from the US in our late-twenties who have traveled a good many miles through the world, with experience staying in everything from campgrounds to big hostels to small B&Bs to five star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saketbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We decided to stay at Omahau Downs in a king room after spending a day at Mount Cook. It was the best place we stayed while in NZ and we regret only spending one night there. The rooms were well appointed and had an unobstructed view of Mount Cook. We enjoyed sitting on the porch, drinking wine, listening to the cows, and watching the sunset. If we get a chance to return to NZ we will definitely stay here again and for a few more nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the lodge at Omahau Downs during a six week trip to New Zealand. It is a beautiful place to stay for a few days. The location is fantastic on the outskirts of Twizel with fabulous views of Mt Cook. The room we stayed in was impeccably clean and had plenty of space with a lounge and coffee table as well as comfortable bed and ensuite bathroom. There is a shared kitchen with everything you need to self cater. The owners, Shaun and Nicola, were really friendly and helpful with suggestions about where to go walking or running as well as providing us with some instructions left by a previous guest on where to see Black Stilts in the wild. Breakfast is provided in the lodge and we had excellent breakfasts every morning, eating more than we needed because it was delicious.

Room Tip: Room 1 was great as it was on the end of the building and we had a window as well as a door to the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anontraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Shaun told us how he and Nicola used to run a backpacker hostel but have now matured to this. So glad they did.

We stayed two nights. There are three bedrooms in a sort of farm bungalow and they share a common kitchen and eating/sitting area. This was great because you could get your own light meal in the evening which is exactly what we did one evening with another couple who were also staying. You have your own rooms and we had a very decent sized bedroom/lounge, with a sofa and sitting area, and a good sized bathroom with v. good shower. It was all very comfortable. Outside each room is a deck where you can sip wine and watch the setting sun change the colour of Mount Cook. There is a washing machine and dryer for guests to use at no extra cost.

When we were there Shaun cooked breakfasts. They were great - he seems to specialise in savoury scones and breads and there is so much left that he is happy to wrap it for your lunch.

This is a young couple running a sheep farm and having young children to bring up, but they seem to ooze a nice relaxed style and never seemed rushed. They have taken trouble to make their property 'ethnic' and relevant to a sheep farm, but actually immensely practical and pragmatic for their guests. It works.

Omahau Downs is the right side of Twizel for Mount Cook, and it takes about an hour to drive there. And for bird watchers trying to track down the rare Black Stilt - Shaun now has the exact instructions following our visit!

We felt really relaxed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archaeologyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We were not sure what to expect when we arrived at the farm, because the exterior is rustic and low key, but the B&B lodge where we stayed was superb. Our bedroom was spacious and simply furnished in a clean modern style, with interesting touches, and good bed linen, although the en-suite wet room might not be to everyone's liking. (Where does one put the towels?) Sheep grazed up to the window and the uninterupted view towards Mount Cook, was breathtaking. The windows opened onto our own space on the wooden veranda outside - perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine. The lodge has three bedrooms and a guest living room with very good kitchen facilities, and the same view of the mountains. There is also a washing machine for guests to use. After shopping in Twizel, we prepared a light meal for ourselves and joined other guests there for a very relaxing evening. Our hosts, Sean and Nicola were very friendly and welcoming and provided a good breakfast, with homemade savoury scones and banana bread. An lovely place to stay to relax and unwind, or stop off on the way to Mount Cook.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KauphyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This place was certainly the highlight of our NZ trip. Shaun and Nicola are two of the most hard-working and amazing hosts I've ever come across.
The place is easy to locate, being across the main highway and right before main Twizel town. Shaun's got a big and lovely farm whose maintenance is impeccable. The view from the cottage is something to die for - it's just you and miles and miles of open farmland flanked on the far end by the Aoraki Mt Cook Range. If only you could wake up to such lovely views each day of your life!!
The best part was the open air Wood Fire Bath amidst the clearest skies in southern hemisphere, that Shaun graciously arranged for us. The rooms were warm and well-stocked. There is a washing machine and a powerful drier which you can use at will. Breakfast is served in the common kitchen area, where you get to meet and fellow travelers from across the globe. Shaun or Nicola are of course always with you throughout the breakfast sharing their experiences and suggesting interesting things to do.
Twizel in itself is a quaint little town, a short drive away with a population (I am told) of only about a 1000 people. Perfect for people(like us) who want to be away from the hustle-bustle of towns or more popular tourist destinations and spend some quality time.
Thanks a lot Shaun and Nicola for making our stay memorable. We shall be back soon!

Debayan and Nidhi
India

Room Tip: You can take one of their cabins in case you are looking for complete privacy. However the cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebayanBiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.2 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
313 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
22 reviews
24.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omahau Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omahau Downs

Property: Omahau Downs
Address: Twizel SH8, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Omahau Downs 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Omahau Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omahau Downs Twizel
Omahau Downs Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing