We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Omahau Downs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omahau Downs
Ranked #3 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here with two small children in one of the self contained cottage . We were very comfortable and warm enough and had plenty of room.
The little toiletries are such a lovely touch. The facilities in the cottage were perfect, We cooked our dinner and washed some clothes in the evening. There is internet if you need.
The views of mount cook were amazing, we could have sat there for ages just watching the mountain change with the light. The space around for the kids to run/crawl around was fabulous.
The owners and every one we met who worked there were very helpful and chatty. There are farm animals for the kids to watch and help feed and a friendly dog to chat to also.
We only stayed one night but would love to stay longer so hope to get back there. Can not recommend this place highly enough. Don't expect high high class but don't let the cottage fool you, it is luxury and more than comfortable.
You'll get a warm welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan20133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    38
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
125
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

A few minutes fromTwizel, comfortable, shower etc just great, kitchen facilities (share) great, plenty of everything in the kitchen, warm fire if required, TV in each room, 4 rooms, we were in lodge for a wedding, at this venue. Would recommend this place if staying in the area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

stayed there with my wife and baby for 3 nights at a self contained house.
the house is old but well equipped and convenient with much space.
really made you feel you are at real home and not a hotel .
view over mount cook was amazing .
a real country side experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaron1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in February - and could have happily stayed much longer. We rattled around in the older large house as it there was enough room for 6 at least, but it was very comfortable and well equipped. Not ultra modern, but very comfortable beds, good kitchen, laundry room, washing line.... and welcoming hosts. The bedroom had a stunning view of Mount Cook in the distance across open pastures - glowing a brilliant pink at sunset. I had access to free wi-fi, although I had to go out into the garden to get a line-of-sight to the owner's house up the drive. A short way out of Twizel itself, it was very quiet even with the main road close by, and was ideally placed for easy access to Mt Cook National Park about an hour's spectacular drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkelQueens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in the original farm house on Omahau Downs. Despite the fact that the house itself is very old (unlike some of the other houses you can choose), there has been so much care put into decorating the interior and keeping it warm and cosy that it really is a very comfortable place to stay. The farm house is a little big for just two people -would have been better if we had been travelling with a group, but that just means we will have to come back. The owner was very helpful, providing fishing tips and keeping us well stocked with firewood. Going to need to do something about the bunny ears on the TV though..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We loved our two day stay. Sean makes a terrific breakfast with scones and muffins while at the same time he supplies a steady stream of interesting information. There are incredible views of Mt. Cook and the open fields from the rear deck. Our room was very comfortable and had farm related décor.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Absolutely outstanding accommodation. We stayed here for two nights in mid November, and it was just delightful. The old adage of not judging a book by its cover holds true here. The rooms felt like luxury with excellent bedding, bathroom amenities. Stunning views of the snowcapped peaks of the Mt. Cook range beyond a meadow and pasture. The common lounge is big and comfortable with a nice kitchen. I made use of the on-site washer and dryer.

Sean greeted us each morning for breakfast where we enjoyed cereal and the delicious scones and breads he baked that morning. We would chat and learn about the farm and what to do around Twizel and the Mt. Cook range. Cannot tell you just how cool and nice and easy-going Sean is.

--
About us:
We are an easy-going couple from the US in our late-twenties who have traveled a good many miles through the world, with experience staying in everything from campgrounds to big hostels to small B&Bs to five star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saketbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.2 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
2.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
5.5 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omahau Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omahau Downs

Property: Omahau Downs
Address: Twizel SH8 , New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Omahau Downs 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Omahau Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omahau Downs Twizel
Omahau Downs Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing