We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location with amazing views!”
Review of Omahau Downs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omahau Downs
Ranked #3 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at Omahau Downs for two nights. We had one of the King rooms. The room is spacious with a small ensuite. They offer additionally a
common living room with a fully equipped kitchen and laundry.
From our porch we had amazing views of the mountains, especially of Mount Cook. Omahau Downs is a very good location to drive to Aoraki Moint Cook Village and explore that area.
We enjoyed our stay at Omahau Downs very much and will definitely return for our next stay in Twizel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ebab2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Omahau Downs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Omahau Downs is a lovely place. We stayed two nights in the lodge, self catering both days, in the communal kitchen/dining area. Breakfast is no longer included it is self catering only. There are four good sized rooms in the lodge all with glass doors leading out onto the deck (a nice place to sit, weather permitting) and with spectacular views to the mountains,. The accommodation is nicely furnished, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well equipped and there are small fridges in the bedrooms with a larger fridge available in the kitchen. The owners are very welcoming with lots of advice about the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed in the self contained house during a recent visit to the area. The booking was made through the Omahau Downs website. Although I arrived around 9PM, the owner was waiting for me at the house when I arrived. After showing me the layout and got me settled, she went out to find newspaper and pinecones so that I could start a fire in the fireplace if I wanted one.

The house has several bedrooms with sweeping views across fields towards the mountains. The lounge shares these views. The kitchen is a good size and is equipped with pots and pans as well as dishes, glasses and any utensils I needed. The dining area has a large table for sitting. Everything was clean and comfortable.

I really enjoyed my stay and I will certainly be back the next time that I am spending the night in Twizel. Friendly hosts, comfortable accommodations and great views. Perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
1  Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in the lodge. The room has floor to ceiling windows with a view of Mt Cook - what a view to wake up to. There is an ensuite shower room which is compact but modern and clean. The guest lounge and kitchen is of a high standard and well equipped. Despite being surrounded by mountains the wifi connection was very good. The nearby town of Twizel is small but has some good eateries. The hosts are very helpful and it's amazing what they pack into their day, running a farm, guest accommodation, young children and Shaun is a voluntary fire man. However, they always have plenty of time for their guests, unless the siren goes off and Shaun has to make a dash. I could have sat on the veranda for several days/weeks/months, unfortunately only had time for one night - great shame. This place is amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stayathomeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

this accommodation is offered on a working sheep and cattle farm, just about a kilometer north of Twizel on SH8. The husband and wife team are vey helpful and gracious, and are a fun source of information about the area, and farming also, if you are curious. The accommodations are varied: There is a "lodge", which is a building containing four separate bedroom/sitting rooms, situated around a fairly large living room/full kitchen area which is common to all these units. There is also a cabin, an old farmhouse with several bedrooms that has a fireplace, and another slightly smaller house with 3 bedrooms (the "sheep shearers cottage"). We stayed in this cottage, which was fully kitchen equipped, and which has a wood heat stove.

All of these have great views over the farm to the mountains and Mount Cook. One difference between the "lodge" and the other accommodations is that the lodge is quite modern (seemingly purpose built to rent), while the others are vintage original farm buildings. The original buildings are like going to visit Grandma on the farm, updated only by flat screen tv's and comfortable beds! we found our stay there to be very romantic and unique,.... and the stars are amazing at night! Yes, free wifi.

Room Tip: The new "lodge room" are probably easier to heat in the cold months. Don't believe the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

If your'e looking for a posh up market hotel forget it. This is a lovely comfortable B and B on a working farm. Our lodge room (one of four) was spacious, clean and had a great view across the fields to the mountains beyond. There was a shared lounge and full kitchen. Only 2 miles from Twizel. Owners were really friendly and the home baked and cooked breakfast was lovely. Could have stayed longer. Great as a base for visiting Mt Cook.

Room Tip: All lodge rooms have a view towards Mt Cook but No 4 has a window on the side as well.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you fancy stopping overnight on a drive from Christchurch to Queenstown then try this relaxing accommodation on a working farm. An unusual set up with a number of rooms centred on a shared kitchen and sitting area, but it works well enough. The owner was very friendly and helpful and the room spacious the bathroom clean and the bed comfortable. But the highlight was looking out from our deck across the sheep paddock to Mt Cook. We've never seen it so clearly; definitely awe-inspiring. A small warning though: Omahau Downs is no longer a B&B so don't expect breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.2 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
322 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
24 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omahau Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omahau Downs

Address: Twizel SH8, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range: £71 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Omahau Downs 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omahau Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omahau Downs Twizel
Omahau Downs Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing