We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class welcome to new zealand”
Review of Aoraki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aoraki Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Darwins are indeed excellent hosts and are happy to do whatever they can to ensure you have a good stay in Twizel. My daughter Kate and I felt very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed both the glass of wine and the delicious breakfast in the morning - especially those poached eggs, Ian! Hoping to make it out to stay again and would recommend this lovely Bed and Breakfast for anyone heading towards Mt. Cook and surroundings.

Room Tip: Email Sandy or Ian about your preferences. They are happy to try to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We feel very confident that our breakfast is a great way to start the day and the poached eggs go down a treat with our guests. Look forward to having you stay again? Sandy & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We liked the hosts very much. Breakfast was very well prepared.
The only thing we could remark was the decoration of the room. Very basic and nineties looking. Could be renovated a bit from our perspective.
We appreciated the free internet very much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Your comments are very welcome and your room is in the stages of renovation now during our closed period. Sandy & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Ian & Sandy were great hosts when we visited. They know the area very well and had great insights on which roads to take and what sights cannot be missed. Mt. Cook is a short 45 min drive from the city and is a must-see place to visit. They make an effort to get to know their guests while they host cocktail hour in their magnificent bar & family room and in the mornings during breakfast. They'll go out of their way to make sure your accommodation is worthwhile. I highly recommend staying with these folks if you plan to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_traveler_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Your recommendations are much appreciated. We find that Breakfast is a much friendlier occasion if our guests have all met the previous evening over a glass of wine before going out to dine. Sandy & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

After a tour in the north and on the west coast of the south island we stopped for a night in twizel. Sandy and Ian have been very nice to us despite our late arrival they offer us a glass of wine and we had a little chat. At breakfast we have time to talk more and they encourage us to make a trip by helicoper over the glacier, Ian rung the airport but unfortunately it was too windy and we haven't been able to fly. Anyway we plan to come back to NZ and we certainly stop at Aoraki Lodge !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATHERINE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. We enjoyed your visit too and do understand a late arrival. Our first concern is that there may have been a problem but as soon as you arrived your stay with us began. On this occasion because of the time it started with a glass of wine and a chat instead or tea or coffee and cake! Sorry you did not make the helicopter flight - landing on a glacier is an awesome and lifetime experience. You will have to try again when you come back and stay with us. Sandy and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

In a very quiet peaceful village close to the Mount Cook National Park you Will fins the perfect B&B.
Big rooms, a very pleasant terrace where you Will have tea or breakfast and to taie care Of everything a charming couple, coming from Australia ready to make tour stay as being AT home. If you want to fish, you Will have the best guynto catch an 6 pond trout.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Your comments about your stay with us and about our Lodge are very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you felt as relaxed and comfortable with us as you do in your own home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Due to the Christchurch-Earthquake we had to change our plans and decided to stay in the Aoraki Lodge in Twizel.
What a great decision!!
Our wonderful hosts Sandy and Ian, nice guests to talk to, beautiful nature and luck with the weather made it a wonderful stay!
Nice rooms, an invitation for a pre-dinner drink at night, valuable proposals for day activities and great breakfasts with the hosts and other guests made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfiolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

We are not able to take credit for the perfect weather but do appreciate your kind words about your stay with us. It was fun to share your impromptu fun evening. Regards Sandy and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Sandy & Ian are very friendly and made us feel really at home. Tea & cake on arrival. Glass of wine later. Lovely breakfast. Nice place to stay after visiting Mt Cook

Room Tip: Free Internet available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Thank you for your review. It is good to know that you felt as comfortable in our home as you do in your own. We always enjoy the enthusiastic reactions from our guests when they return from a perfect visit to Mt Cook. It is a very special place. Regards Ian and Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twizel hotels
0.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heartland Lodge
Heartland Lodge
#2 of 6 in Twizel
146 reviews
2.2 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 5 in Twizel
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Lodge

Address: 32 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range: £79 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aoraki Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aoraki Lodge Bed and Breakfast is in the heart of the Twizel township. Just a few minutes stroll to the marketplace - town centre where you can find some outstanding restaurants. Our Lodge is set in a beautiful country style garden and although central, it is quiet and peaceful. Come on in and be a part of our family for a night or two. We are delighted to help you with dinner reservations, activity booking and advice about how you can spend your time in the amazing Mackenzie basin area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing